persons and parties???!!!....the PIP has a decided advantage in such a scenario.
My take on the issue is - Bruce came out and made his PMlike pre-storm message to the people. Talk and no substance!
Mama came out and sent her emissary to read her statement on substantive action. It was clear! it was precise! It was sensible! in other words it had substance!
The petulant persons are peeved! Suck it up and grow up! Currently there is only one PM and she has along with the Jamaican people getting everything back on tract.
Bruce needs someone to hold his hand as he sits crying ion a corner!
KGN got hit. Its Mobay and Ochi that got off light.
Still, based on how the thing bared down on us and in relation to Gilbert, we WERE spared.
Of course, some individuals did get hit hard with property damage and like Lovindeer said, we would like to express sympathy with all those affected by hurricane Dean.
The perverse thing is that Jamaica averages 3 murders a day and over the last 4 days we MAY have had less than 12 storm deaths and murders combined. That is a sobering thought!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Since the elections campaigning has started in earnest - it appears to me the murders have gone down.
Our SoE is more equiv. to the War Powers act. Draconian powers are assumed for the duration. It is more equivalent to the new powers that the various flavours of the Patriot Acts in the US.
As Exile suggested, we need a SoE light, just for disasters...when we seldomly need something more than curfews.
Curfews are NOT trivial things.
I recall tiefing out to go watch the 1988 Oly 100m finals at a Firends house who had both Satellite and generator just after Gilbert.
My Dad was livid with me, as he reminded me that if we were caught in the curfew, any number could play. The best that would happen to us that we get sent to the remand centre for defying the curfew and face detention in arduous circumstances until things cooled down. Court byusiness and fines were also in order.
The worst outcome, a jumpy security officer could open fire and would likely face no sanctions!!!
True... it's just that the timing is bad. I suspect if there were no elections imminent that the SoE would be more easily accepted. The faster Sista P moves to implementing curfews or other measures and lifting the SoE the better; don't give the opposition more to criticise than necesary.
pr
What exactly are the powers conferred on the PM...and the security forces for that matter, when curfews are in place?
...and, why would any person, knowing our history of bawling out and going on bad when there is any hint...intended or no...of 'singling out' areas...in a time of national distress, wish to put selected sections under curfew rather than the entire island, which not even the most rabid political animal could claim 'dem pcik pan wi'?
I just do not understand...???
btw - an astute politician could make a convincing case that the opposition bawling points to their not being prepared to lead. That would be making the issue as political as Bruce and his merry men wish with their being put in a position i.e. to defend their stance...that they do not wish to be in, particularly at this time.
In fact, mek mi mek a call!