Question about State of Emergency.

• Question about State of Emergency.

Why was one called for this averted hurricane. We did still have some significant damage, but this pales in comparison to Gilbert and may be just a bit more than Ivan.

I dont recall a SoE for those disasters, so why one now....so close to elections? Couldn't extended curfews do the job adequately?

Given our history with SoEs in the past (recall 1976), doesn't it seem like a rash move that can put the Opposition on alert and cause their deep suspicions to arise?

While I dont expect Portia to be as cynical as the PNP was in 1976, it still strikes me as an unnecessarily drastic move that can be mistaken for provocation.

What say ye all?

she needs the time...it is not as cynical as '76, i agree. but more of a reprieve 30 more days in government to gain political capital..this is risky though as it could send her credibility into a freefall!

SoE gives the Govt vast and sweeping powers and temptation is a hell of a thing.

she needs the time...it is not as cynical as '76, i agree. but more of a reprieve 30 more days in government to gain political capital..this is risky though as it could send her credibility into a freefall!
        30 days?
        ...but, what if tonight or tomorrow she lifts it and elections are still on the previously designated day?

...unnuh luv jump di gun eeeh?

She has the option to call it off anytime.
          If everything in fine then all she has to do is to call it off immediatly and claim that it prevented the problem.

If all hell break loose the all she has to do it to say, I foresaw the problem.

Actually, SHE is jumping he gun.

I already showed precedence that a SoE was not called for more serious situations.

If it is lifted and elections are on schedule, it would be further proof that it was a premature decision.

Sooooo, tell me why was it called again?

St Thomas is still cut off and most of nthe eastern parts of the country, please big man stop putting political means to every frigging thing..it is a bit distasteful trust me...I have a co-worker who is going nuts as he cant hear from his children in St thomas and there are reports of deaths over there.

The north was spared but we still dont know what is going on, I am waiting for a Miami herald hired helicopter so i can go over there myself...

Get the full info first bag man ..this is biger than politics....much bigger

A state of emergency was called during/after Ivan as well. Nothing novel here.

Actually, SHE is jumping he gun.

I already showed precedence that a SoE was not called for more serious situations.

If it is lifted and elections are on schedule, it would be further proof that it was a premature decision.
                      Ofcourse not! It would be proof that it worked very well! ...lowered or prevented looting and loss of property and life.

Frankly the State of Public Emergency should have been called and implemented just before the hurricane hit land. The managing of resources 'staged' - i.e. police held in 'jump off areas' to be rapidly deployed to any area of the island necessary. ...medical teams in like manner...warehouses with food, water, etc. at strategic points/'jump off areas' across the island to make for likewise 'rapid response', etc., etc. roads and by-ways free from persons moving around causally - so the rrapid response teams could speed along to protect and save live and property...etc., etc.

Workers to bring back online communication sites and centers, water and sewage systems, open blocked/closed roads...etc., etc.

In other words the after hurricane disruption should be kept to a minimum and all possible aid given to bring the country on as to as far as possible people's lives not missing a beat!

The State of Public Emergency was necessary...Yup! ...based on what i have heard so far, we have come a long way with 'being ready' and 'with speed of response' to those in distress...but, the co-ordination of all the 'various parts' to take full advantage of that declaration of a State of Public Emergency...do not appear to 'right on'.

Damn...Public Works, Local Government workers, the Engineer Corp of the JDF, Water Authorities workers, Cops - traffic to ensure free and swift flow of people, supplies and equaipment to say St. Thomas...would have had a veritable army of workers and St. Thomas would now be as if there was no hurricane.

It would be like...On your marks - Hurricane is coming! Set - hurricane is on us! Go - Hurricane winds are dying down - and the army of co-ordinated workers flying in and solving all hurricane related problems with no unnecessary distractions by -looters, wasteful casual onlookers...or motor vehicles not needed on the streets, etc., etc.

Gilbert was far worse than this and was dealt with via curfews.

That is all I am saying.

Siccko,
                          you a follow up every foolishness on the campaign trail and now come tell me about imputing politics in everything? Disingenous.

I have nothing personal to gain from any of this...mereley making obsevationsbased on precedence and my limited knowledge.

OK,

Tell me again why we need suppression of rights to deal with a natural disaster affecting half the island? Couldn's localized measures like curfews, etc deal with the matter? Emergency powers are vast, broad and extraordinary.

I am asking genereal questions that will help to set out in my mind how these things should be handled going forward.

What if the Govt proposs to carry out elections while under a SoE, would you have a problem with that?

What I've realized is that too much of you people suffer from hegemony. Karl and Jawge we expect that from, but Sickko?

Dissent is the highest form of patriotism ... not hegemony that some of you suffer from.

Some of unuh only have balls fi question the opposition, AS IF THEY HAVE ANY POWER. But unuh gladly sit back and mek gov't have dem way with unuh. Talk bout battered wife syndrome.

Well, since me always turn everything political ... attack me. I fully agree with Willi and whoever else question the need for this state of emergency. Whats the purpose of it? Just because some communities are cut off ... a SoE gonna resolve it? Isn' there a curfew already?

Mosiah ... fi a man that point out the many human rights violations taking place, I'm surprised you come here with pom poms supporting this.