Nationwide claiming decision on the elections would

Originally posted by Exile View Post
    Tell mi how come President Bush call a State of Emergency in the State of Texas BEFORE Dean even hit Jamaica and not a peep from anybody?
    You still listening to Lawyers? They could spin anything any which way..maybe that's why our politics in the state it is in...too many lawyers...anyhow, what was his spin?
    General! The Texans have kicked in their emergency operations .. issuing sand bags, opening shelters etc.

In Jamaica, this State of Emergency gives the state the authority to deny you of your rights. Di storm nuh gone already? If they want to control looting etc .... why not use a curfew? You accusing the lawyer of spinning when you basically doing the same thing.

How long was Pernel Charles imprisoned ... no detained for in the 1976 State of Emergency? Time people start thinking.

Was talking about Lawyers in general...don't know what this Lawyer said as you never gave the views. So far, has the State of Emergency been abused? Is there cause for concern? You are talking about 1976? Thirty-one years ago? No need to start digging back that far.

Antsy? A state of emergency was used in 1976 for a certain purpose. Maybe someone should have gotten antsy. Why is there a state of emergency for a MONTH?
        Why a month?

A month I think it is the time-frame mandated by the constitution. It could not be for a day or for 2 months....or, a month and a day for that matter. At least that is my understanding. However, the constitution put in the 'the out' that it can be lifted at any moment.

1976 and 2007?

I think there is a difference - 1976 it was supposed to...we were told...prevent anarchy. I think it was named a simple dreadful sounding "State of Emergency".

This has the 'nice sounding name' of "A State of Public Emergency". This one is not simply to restore and keep the peace as was the purpose of the 1976 version. This one is to "keep the peace" and make it easier to protect life and property and easier than it normally would to PROVIDE RELIEF FROM DISTRESS caused by a natural disaster.

Attorney gamma? Help? if I am wrong correct me
        ...if I am right clap mi?
        Last edited by Karl; August 21, 2007, 12:32 AM.

She called a 1 month state of public emergency?!?!

Who owns NationWide???....A one time Comrade who was sent to school by the PNP but could nto wait his turn so he got upset and now is trying his very best to undermine the very hands that gave him all he had...tsk tsk tsk