I find it extremely offensive

• I find it extremely offensive

that at least one political party has continued their election ad campaign even in this time when people's very liveas are at risk.

The least they could do was to back off and put resources where it can best impact lives.

Cho man do better than dat unnu caa suh hungry...

What was the campaigning????

Actually, the JLP leader has been very encouraging to the Jamaican people as has the Prime Minister. The ads were arranged a long time ago. Respectfully Sicko, I heard ads, from both sides, throughout the night. Maybe I will give you the benefit of the doubt that you did not hear both sides ads. There is also some chicanery here. Sometimes one side will make accusations of something the other is doing. What the accusers wont say is that they are doing the same thing, maybe in a slightly different way. Danville Walker warned us of this just a few days ago. I hope your bias is not blinding you any worse than what we have shown here in the last month. I think, as a reporter, you have given lots of reason to be concerned about your objectivity.
      Last edited by Westman; August 19, 2007, 02:48 PM.

No sir....no sir...the ads i am talking about and which I saw today on the TV is saying put you x wherever and vote for us, not the one with the JLP leader talking about what to expect and what to do, personally I have no problem with those.

I have been watching the TV all day and I can only tell you what I saw, as for my objectivity that is neither here nor there I dont report to you or to anyone here and I have told you all that when i post here it is not as a reporter but as a individual with a computer.

I am not sure where you are but I am in Montego bay watching the local TV

The same ads we have seen over the course of the campaign about where to put your x and who to vote for, I dont know where Westman get voff talking about my objectivity as I never called any name of any party I could be talking about both parties.

Sicko, regardless of what you say, you are a reporter by trade. Your objectivity or lack of objectivity elsewhere surely will color how some people view your reporting. It may be extrapolation, but it is reality, i.e, a fact. I have biases, but I am willing to admit them. I have seen some obvious biases by you here in the last month. In clear cases where my side has erred, I have admitted it. Most ofetn though, you seem to be the ultimate apologist. I hope you dont get to the point of Buchanan or Fitz Jackson. Respek same way.

And your biases is of absolutely no concern of mine...talk about your side I heard Desmond McKenzie tell people in hanover that DK Duncan is an evil man and hey should reject him becuase of the atrocities he wreaked on the country in thee 1980s, He did not tell the people that Bruce Golding had hired the same evil DK Duncan as his personal advisor in the 1997 elections..maybe McKenzie has memory lapses.

The problem with your type is that you are more biassed that you even realise.

My type is biased and I admit it. Respectfully, Sicko, your topic about foreign based Jamaicans and whether they should have the right to vote is but one of many indications of a strong bias and poor reasoning. It is classified in the realm of faulty logic. It is just one example of many this month.

I believe both parties have done some pretty distasteful things on the campaign during this election. As to DK, Bruce may have used him, but does that mean that DK does not have bad history. It may mean that Bruce showed bad judgement in the past. And for that matter, hasnt Portia as well? Has she given an interview on Trafigura yet?

That Yallahs fording is a travesty. But I have not seen you even once talk about how much of a travesty it is. On this website, over 5 years ago, that was addressed by me and others here, friends from both sides of the fence. We discussed that the Bailey bridge would not last. We discussed a comprehensive solution which would have cost less than all the money the govt was throwing at the problem. It included a series of small dams upstream and then a proper bridge. We approached the govt. No response. Two years later, someone posted a newspaper story here in which a high school student in Ja wrote a letter to a newspaper editor. The letter was eerily similar, point by point, to what was here. The govt still has done nothing. Yallahs will flood again and whatever bridge is put there will be at risk unless it is overdesigned to make up for the lack of watershed management upstream.

That is an example of the reason for my bias and the reason for many from both sides being cynical about this govt. Living abroad, I only have allegience to any govt that does the right thing. I see the present one as being off course. If the others get in, I hope they too get our message, Otherwise, I will want them out also.

Nonsense! You can't hold the man to task to post freely as an individual just like the rest of us. Sm of us here hold positions which may not necessarily hold well with our profession or if we had to make or take an official position.
                  His and say Lazie both add colour (no pun) to the forum by their divergent views. Isn't what freedom of the press is about. Isn't that why we have forum names? Both Buchanan and Jackson have their jobs to do and they have to spin for their respective parties...you don't think the Whitehouse does the same?

Exactly my point, Exile. I am simply stating that Sicko, like those folks, is spinning so hard, even in the face of his folks doing dastardly things. I know Sicko from school days. I am simply saying to him that he can spin, but when he spins so far off base and gets to the point where he only harps on the really eggregious offenses of one side and does not comment on the eggregious offenses of his side, he loses credibility. This not an ad hominim attack. This is about his ideas as put to paper.
                    Respek.

Jackson is he PNP guy who said that they should have kept the Trafigura money!

Danny Buck is the info man for the PNP.

Like Berres Hammond tell me, there is two different persons. Berres Hammond the stage performer and Cudjoe the bwoy from Annotto Bay. He said he couldn't live the Berres Hammond personality off stage. I look on Paul A. Reid as a good journalist who writes some good articles but I see Sickko as a man who just release sometimes here, much like most of us the only difference he is in public eye. Based on his view though I wonder how he manage to be objective as, as Westman say he has some deep bias.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                          Actually, the JLP leader has been very encouraging to the Jamaican people as has the Prime Minister. The ads were arranged a long time ago. Respectfully Sicko, I heard ads, from both sides, throughout the night. Maybe I will give you the benefit of the doubt that you did not hear both sides ads. There is also some chicanery here. Sometimes one side will make accusations of something the other is doing. What the accusers wont say is that they are doing the same thing, maybe in a slightly different way. Danville Walker warned us of this just a few days ago. I hope your bias is not blinding you any worse than what we have shown here in the last month. I think, as a reporter, you have given lots of reason to be concerned about your objectivity.
                          Yes, I read on other sites that the PNP was also running political adverts over the last weekend just like the JLP.

As the JLP is outspending them, I guess one is more likely to see the JLP ads.

The funny thing is that shortly after, as I was listening to Power 106 continuously, I heard PNP ads also. Many people told me both parties were running ads. So Sicko jumped the gun in making the accusation. Just like the Elections chief said last week, some people are making accusations about the other side while their side is doing the same thing. If we dont know the facts we will believe the accusers side is unblemished.

I keep telling Sickko that he is nit-picking, when clearly the party in power has more to criticize. What U expect after 18 years?
                              Last edited by Willi; August 20, 2007, 05:59 PM.