Spain now Ja's # 1 investor,over a Billion euro

• Spain now Ja's # 1 investor,over a Billion euro

amazing,thought it would come from France,but instead Spain!.Since this article have been published they are now in Natural Gas discovery as well.
    Spain now Jamaica's top investor, says Silva

By Basil Walters
    Sunday, June 10, 2007

Spanish Ambassador to Jamaica, Jesus Silva, has said that his country surpassed the United States as the island's premier investor in 2006, and noted that the US$1.5 billion in projects currently being undertaken by the Spanish investors has paved the way for the implementation of Spanish/Jamaican heritage sites.

At a Rotary Club of Spanish Town meeting last week, Silva, noting that there are currently six Spanish hotel groups investing in different stages in Jamaica, emphasised that this will add about 10,000 hotel rooms to the island's room count as well as create some 40,000 jobs.

"And you certainly have heard a lot about what this implies," explained Silva. "Let me explain some figures although you might have heard them already.

"2006 has been a year Spanish investment surpassed the United States as (the number one) investor in the country, which is quite considerable. Specifically taking into account that the US is only one and a half hours by plane from Jamaica, and Spain is something like nine or ten hours... and also considering the size of the US economy is not comparable to the Spanish," Silva said.

The ambassador said he is surprised at the low level of "Spanish presence" in Jamaica, a former colony of Spain. Jamaica's first European visitor was from Spain, in the form of Italian-born explorer Christopher Columbus who landed in the island in 1494 and colonised the island for the Spanish. Jamaica remained a colony of Spain until 1655 when it was annexed by the English.
    "As you know, we certainly have a common history," he told the Rotarians. Silva said he was surprised at the limited knowledge here of the history of Spain's involvement in Jamaica, which spanned almost 200 years.

"In Jamaica the Spanish period is not very well known, normally sometimes too much simplified and sometimes there is a very negative attitude," added Silva. "I think that apart from the fact that history is history and there are some things that you can't change, in many cases we should get to know it better."

However, the Ambassador said that generally the investment, which he jokingly called the "second Spanish invasion", have been going well, and that from both sides, the locals and the Spanish, there have been an ongoing acculturation period that has thus far been successful.

"I must say in general terms the process is going well. And the investors are feeling better and better in the country," noted Silva. "They are starting to understand and feel a part of the community as much as possible."
    Silva added that an important step was taken last year, with the implementation of the Spanish-Jamaican Foundation, to deepen the relationship between both countries.

The Spanish-Jamaican Foundation is a non-profit organisation headed by Silva. Its aim is to help in cultural tourism, the highlight of which will be the route of the Spaniards in Jamaica, which should become a major attraction for European tourists. Other projects could include agriculture, craft-making and restoration of historical sites.

"The future prosperity of Jamaica is in their own prosperity... in this way the companies will invest their efforts and money to help in Jamaica's development to become a regional superpower in tourism," said Silva. "We are trying to set up the first signs for this year in places like Sevile and maybe also in Spanish Town.We hope that other companies and other individuals will follow the same path and will also contribute by putting up signs all over the country so that there is a possibility of getting to know the country better - even for the Jamaicans themselves," the ambassador concluded.

It's very interesting that the Jam.. Labor,party take notes.Since 1980's the world has change.The collapse of the soviet union,China emerge,a united europe;Bruce Golding will have to adapt to changes and be innovative with there foreign policies,to barrow from the IMF can lead to unfavorable structural adjustment policies we have seen in the eighties,the USA have two of the best financial institutions in the,they are World Bank & CitiBank,BNS has the potential of been a lender also.Jamaica today needs a leader who can be flexible in a changing world.Yes,we need the petroCaribe,we need China,we need the WorldBank and we need european investments.Today Spain invest in the tourism sector,the current US economy an its currency is not valued as europe,so the tactical marketing area in the hospitality/tourism sector must be europe,notable Ireland,nordic countries,Spain,France,Italy and Germany.

Pepsi, wha happen to the oil exploration program, it buss?
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran