• Those who dont live here or pay taxes here

should not vote here.

Old topic but given the impending elections, still valid.

I know Jamaicans who live in the US for years and decades who have no intentions of ever moving back here but because they send remittance think they have the right to decide who should preside over those of us who either decide to live here or have no other choice.

Many of those cant even vote in the US cause they either only have Green Card or dont have no legal status.

If you want to vote here, move here and pay taxes like all of us.

they don't pay taxes but they send remittance...isn't remittance and INTEGRAL part of the jamaican economy? so much so that the current government looking for ways to tax it? which amont to a double taxation because when the money spend GCT get's its share.

not a fair statement at all.

they don't pay taxes but they send remittance...isn't remittance and INTEGRAL part of the jamaican economy? so much so that the current government looking for ways to tax it? which amont to a double taxation because when the money spend GCT get's its share.

not a fair statement at all.
      Sickko being a typical comrade .... an UNTHINKING Person. What about those that live overseas that own property in Jamaica? Paying property tax, paying GCT for building supplies as they build their homes they intend to return to?

I've always wondered why this is called the silly season, but since the election date was announced Sickko has proven why it is the silly season.

What about those who dont need to send remittance as their people are well off, or those who have no desire to come back here, or those who cant come back here, how do you make that distinction as to who have the right to vote.

Additionally those who have dual citizenship they can vote in the elections in TWO separate countries???

As for Lazie I will ignore him cause him nuh realise he is the biggest zealot here on the board, same thing he likes to point fingers at people about.

should not vote here.

I know Jamaicans who live in the US for years and decades who have no intentions of ever moving back here but because they send remittance think they have the right to decide who should preside over those of us who either decide to live here or have no other choice.

Many of those cant even vote in the US cause they either only have Green Card or dont have no legal status.

an it's to my imagination that taking into account all those people who live abroad should claim to vote on a absentee ballot ,because when one open an account in jamiaca,and especially for those folks who have children someway some how you pay taxes.GCT deh pon everything,what they should do is find a formula base on a point system i.e to show how much interest one has in jamdown and if you make the required amount you vote . strongly disagree,one caribbean country tried it another way and it was disasterous but the american absentee ballot should look into.you out di country an hav merican book you still can vote.

What about those who dont need to send remittance as their people are well off, or those who have no desire to come back here, or those who cant come back here, how do you make that distinction as to who have the right to vote.

Additionally those who have dual citizenship they can vote in the elections in TWO separate countries???

As for Lazie I will ignore him cause him nuh realise he is the biggest zealot here on the board, same thing he likes to point fingers at people about.
            Yuh nuh realize by now that irrespective of what unuh call me, mi just laugh afta unuh? The day unuh start dealing with facts is the day unuh will see the truth. Gwaan provide the entertainment.

what about those same one in jamaica who live there but nuh pay nuh taxes etc etc?

you cannot disenfranchise someone on a whim! no matter where i live as long as i am a jamaican i should be afforded all the rights of a jamaican in jamaica if nowhere else in the world...what if you have a greencard? you still have tto have a jamaican passport. and in any event one would still have to register to vote and having taken that step....the have shown a commitment to jamaica's well being.

Citizenship comes with rights and privileges.

Why sdhould non-citizen residents in Jamaica have ths right when overseas BORN citizens should not?

Those who dont care to ever come back will not care to vote anyway, so that is ared herring.

should not vote here.

What about those of us who live outside of Jamaica and pay taxes on investments and property in Jamaica...even have a child or children in school(s) in Jamaica? Wi good tuh vote?

I don't live in Jamaica, but I pay taxes to the Jamaican gov't based on what I own in the country. That should not give me a right to vote, but my citizenship demands that I be given a right to vote in general/parish council elections. This needs to be studied further and I do not believe there should be more votes cast overseas than in Jamaica. Maybe foreign votes are not counted as one man one vote and could possibly be used on a prorated basis.

You would be surprised Willi...thats why I keep asking how will you define which overseas based Jamaicans can or cannot vote...

Good point Willi. I remember UWI students (non-Jamaicans!) voting in an election that they didn't even grasp the politics of. Any commonwealth citizen living in Ja can vote (a year residency) I think. So should they vote and not non-resident Jamaican who visits once a month, pay taxes etc..?

Sickko, I may not pay income taxes because I do not live and work in Jamaica. I however have property, purchase goods and services and find I end up adding to the country's coffers in many ways from taxes as if I were still living there. I was born there, grew up there and still have family there and have the country's interest at heart. Why should I be denied the right to vote if I would like to excersize that right?

It is not uncommon thing among many countries for their citizens living outside the country to be allowed to exercise their franchise.

. . .and yes, I am an American citizen, but I consider myself Jamaican first.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

sound similar to the case by many in America saying if you couldn't read you shouldn't vote.

The problem is some of the people who them think don't care bout Ja, nothing could be further from the truth. Fact is if you don't follow and have a different opinion you are labelled sellout etc.

You see how some a dem cuss HL and a bet you if certain things fi done a man like HL have them hand up first.

I submitted a similar response as I find myself in that position. Sickko can surely be myopic at times.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran