• Cartoon

EDITORIAL CARTOON

Friday, August 17, 2007

I didn't know that the Yallahs river divided the two parishes! Or is the cartoonist implying that is what will happen soon?

Sorry, minor detail there.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
      EDITORIAL CARTOON

Friday, August 17, 2007

Who are the engineers and builders of these bridges?
      Local or foreign?

Yallahs don't have a bridge. Never did, as far as I know.

The ongle bridge Yallahs fording had was the Bailey's bridge that PJ erected a an election gimmick. The bridge lasted 7 months

No cracks in new Bailey Bridge, say engineers
          BY CASSANDRA BRENTON Observer staff reporter
          Sunday, October 20, 2002

A truck crosses the Bailey Bridge at the Yallahs Fording in St Thomas yesterday after workmen smoothened the approaches. (Photo: John Nicholson)
          Traffic was diverted from the Yallahs Fording in St Thomas for five hours yesterday to facilitate continuing work on the newly erected Bailey Bridge.
          Robert Solomon, the National Works Agency (NWA) field officer in charge of ground operations, told the Sunday Observer that the bridge was closed at 10:00 am to allow workmen to pave the entrances.
          "We closed the bridge to work on the approaches. As you can see, the approaches now look nice, lovely and smooth. Before, when you got off the bridge, it was a little rough. Now, when you get off the bridge you get a smooth flow," he said.
          The single-lane bridge was opened to vehicular traffic on Tuesday. Warnings have been posted restricting motorists to 30 tonnes and permitting one truck at a time.
          The original bridge was washed away after the river became in spate due to heavy rainfall.
          But yesterday, it was rumoured that there were cracks in the new bridge after several motorists were directed to an alternative route.
          "There is no crack in the bridge. That is just pure rumour. Nothing like that," Solomon said.
          Earlier, technician Larris Morris, who had also dismissed the rumours, told the Sunday Observer that the bridge had been closed to tighten a few nuts and bolts.
          "We were just tightening up the deck on the bridge so we had to divert the traffic from the area," said Morris.
          "We were watching it (the bridge) all along and we observed that some slack deck nuts were on it so we just went back through and tightened them," he said. He insisted that this was normal procedure.
          "You see, we just erected that Bailey Bridge in there, so we had to go right back through on the decks and check it. Once traffic started to use it, then you would take the traffic back off it and then go back and re-tighten the decks."
          At 5:15 pm yesterday, workmen were observed carrying out work in the river.
          "Basically, we are just shoring up the footing. This is what we call scour protective work to prevent any erosion of the footing," Solomon explained.
          The work crew was packing a combination of large and small boulders at the footing and, Solomon said, by next Tuesday "concrete" would be applied to "tie" it all together.
          He was unable to say when work in the area would be completed.
          "We can't put a time fix on it because a river like this needs massive river training work, especially on the up stream side. What we will be doing, we will have to get all of the material out of the middle, on to the side, to form what we call a bund. And on that (the bund) we will have to plant some vegetation."
          Solomon explained that it was necessary to plant special vegetation on the bund as the roots from them assist to bind the soil, thereby preventing erosion whenever the river becomes in spate.

Mi suppose to have an article inna mi archives a work. Cyaan reach it till Monday doh!

and what happened to the permanent bridge that should have been erected - it's now 4 years based on the article below?

No decision yet on Bailey Bridge
              Observer Reporter
              Wednesday, June 04, 2003

CABINET was on Monday unable to arrive at a decision on the Yallahs Fording because the National Works Agency (NWA) was late with a report on that, and other flood related matters, according to Information Minister Burchell Whiteman.
              "The report from the technical team of the National Works Agency was somewhat late," he told a post-Cabinet press briefing Monday at Jamaica House.
              The report, he said, not only covered Yallahs, but other areas affected by last month's floods. However, Whiteman said that because of its lateness, a full Cabinet discussion could not take place, including debate on the issue of whether another Bailey Bridge or a fording should be erected over the Yallahs river.
              He added that emergency work, already approved by Cabinet, is continuing in St Thomas and that plans for the permanent bridge is being finalised.
              In statements to the press shortly after the destruction of the month-old Bailey Bridge, which was completed to the tune of $16 million, government ministers Robert Pickersgill and Dean Peart expressed differing views on their preferred courses of action.
              Transport and Works Minister Pickersgill argued against the erection of any temporary structure spanning the river at Yallahs while the permanent bridge is constructed. But Environment and Lands minister Dean Peart insisted that a temporary structure "either a fording or a Bailey Bridge should be erected while the permanent bridge is being constructed".
              At last week's post-Cabinet press briefing, Peart defended his position, stating that "the negative economic impact of not having a temporary bridge may very well outstrip the cost of erecting a temporary one until the permanent bridge can be completed".
              Cabinet has already approved the erection of a permanent bridge over the Yallahs River that is projected to be completed within two years at a cost of $180 million.

Bwoy you full a FAX eeeehhhhhh

Lick dem wid it. Them say we deh a foriegn so we nuh know nothing

That was never going to last.