Jamaica should be affected by the weather system by Sunday...PM calls emergency meeting of emergency preparedness committe Friday morning...
Hurricane Dean heading for Jamaica
I was watching Dean with bated breath; even tho' I'm in Trinidad which lies south of the tracks that the vast majority of storms take, I have to be concerned as I'm presently changing my roof.
Hope it bypasses the island... if it lick yuh tink it would affect elections?
prPeter R
Depends on how bad it hits. If we don't have electricity for days (election is only 10 days away) then the GG can postpone it for 30 days. Of course, we are all hoping that that doesn't happen.
On the other hand, it might be an opportunity for Portia and the PNP to win some support if they deal with the aftermath in a positive way.
It don't look good right now. It is scheduled for a midday hit or just south of Jamaica and it might be a Cat. 4 when it does visit. Gilbert was a 3. Dean has decided to follow Gilbert's track right now. Maybe Herro Blair can say a prayer for us again and push the storm south of Jamaica.
and we are now out of the woods......the man who change the course of the hurricane last time, zekes, is now behind bars ...who then will stand on the kingston harbour and tell Dean fi "SSSSSSSSeckle!"?
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostLatest on the hurricane. It's now heading dead on.