If this is true then.....

Thanks Lawyer...all the foolishness and posturing from Lazie and Ben Jamming is worth naught...let them go back and read what the law says.
    What posturing? Unlike you, I don't believe anything coming from the PNP all willy nilly. If it is proven that these people have US citizenship, then soo.

I understand what you are saying. However the point I was trying to make has more to do with the long standing tension that exists between both camps (for want of a better word), than with the current MP dual citizen flap.

Didn't you mention Shaine? Or yuh figet that?
        Stop it!
        If PNP or JLP flout the law of the land and is found out - he/she/they must suffer the consequences. End of story!

For all I know there may well be an equal number of PNP candidates at fault. Hey quite a few members of the private sector have one foot a yaaard and one foot abroad. It is the "in thing"...

...and, from a personal point of view I see nothing wrong with that...but, I am opposed to a parliamentarian being in that boat.

Why?
        There would always be possibility of conflict of interest! ...being a servant of the foreign entity/nation and being pressured to pass on state secrets....and or give advance warning of direction Jamaica may be going on matters being discussed and or negotiated in international forums.

May even be something as simple as planned local (i.e. within Jamaica - Local government and or central government or quasi-government bodies) government developments which 'spilling the beans' on could enable foreign interest to get a jump start ahead of locals on buying/acquiring ...say, property rights.

"If PNP or JLP flout the law of the land and is found out - he/she/they must suffer the consequences. End of story!" (Karl)

~See di hypocrite dem a gallang deh~

When the governing PNP was caught teifing taxpayers money did you say they should face the consequences?

The joke is, Seaga did not have to give up his citizenship. He chose to do so! He did not go searching for US citizenship as it is being reported Shahine did while she was a sitting MP. Seaga was born there, so he could have held both citizenships (from a Jamaican point of view) if he so desired and still be an MP and a PM.
            I have a feeling you may be wrong on that holding of dual citizenship by Seaga. I am thinking that he had to give up/renounce his US citizenship...that is, if he had one.

Was he really born in the USA? I am not sure about that....cannot remember a definite statement on that???

Stop it!
              If PNP or JLP flout the law of the land and is found out - he/she/they must suffer the consequences. End of story!
              That's really all that needed to be said.

Yes, there are tensions. Having lived in the USA for over 12 years while keeping very close tabs on Jamaica, I am very aware of them. The fault lies on both sides, depending on the individuals and the topic. Jamericans often believe that their living in the USA suddenly gives them some type of omniscience and the right to dictate to their island-held Jamaicans, while those on the Rock feel that...fill in the blanks. There is enuff blame to go around.

Mosiah, while I agree with you on the Citizenship issue I can't see what's your beef with someone getting health Insurance for his own benefit. This is a global marketplace and if people desire to insure with Lloyd's of England or have a global health policy, it shouldn't be a problem.

You could have left out the KC/Calabar analogy. The US does allow DUAL citizenship in special circumstances though.

I have a feeling you may be wrong on that holding of dual citizenship by Seaga. I am thinking that he had to give up/renounce his US citizenship...that is, if he had one.

Was he really born in the USA? I am not sure about that....cannot remember a definite statement on that???
                      You're one a dem that actually thought he was born in Syria?

Karl, I can't be more sure. He was born in Boston, Massachusetts.

Since when does Jamaica force the applicant to renounce the other citizenship? I thought he always recognized dual citizenship!?!

Now, if he was applying for his US citizenship, then he would have to do that.

You are 100% correct Mo. In fact as a PNP man Karl should remember that one of the Barbs Michael and Co. used to throw at Seaga on the campaign trail was to constantly play the song " I man born yah, my leader born yah".

You're one a dem that actually thought he was born in Syria?
                            No!
                            I actually think (not sure) he was born in Jamaica!

No!
                              I actually think (not sure) he was born in Jamaica!
                              To hold certain sensitive positions it makes sense that you "have only one master". I am leaning to thinking that to become our MP (...with the great likehold of a possiblity of becoming Minister of Government, etc.) you must not/cannot be a citizen of another country.

Yup we recognise dual citizenship but that 'duality' would prevent you form holding MP or Member of Government status. Makes sense to me!

But Exile, it's not like these parliamentarians go out there and seek insurance for themselves. It is bestowed upon them, this farin health insurance. Who pays for that, but the taxpayers of Jamaica, we who have to be putting up with inadequate equipment, sloppy service, disgruntled staff and the rest at our local hospitals?!?

Something is seriously wrong with that!!!

I wonder who pays the airfare for them too?