Journalists forced to leave JLP meeting last night

quite a large turn out for what Bruce himself announced at the Sav meeting would be a regional meeting for the Candidates of the county of Cornwall.

Turned out there were candidates from every county and parish so it was not a regional meeting as we were led to believe.

some of the hoodlums that forced us off the media platform were from Roberston's and Robinson's constituencies and even some from rural St Andrew.

quite a large turn out for what Bruce himself announced at the Sav meeting would be a regional meeting for the Candidates of the county of Cornwall.

Turned out there were candidates from every county and parish so it was not a regional meeting as we were led to believe.

some of the hoodlums that forced us off the media platform were from Roberston's and Robinson's constituencies and even some from rural St Andrew.
      Maybe he confused them with the County designation... County ?

A wha rah ?

I don't see why we can't follow the Rasta parties' example and don't have any!
        A DONKEYCADE maybe?

Carnival is bi-pedal Willi! Fundamentally, there is nothing wrong with motorcades IFF it is orderly, involves the police and can be controlled. It is a show of strength and numbers for whatever party is holding it. Sadly, a few supporters and waggonists will do all in their power to use it for cover for wrongdoing, drive recklessly and showcase the worst of the Jamaican landscape. Driving around with horns and flags should not create problems.

A DONKEYCADE maybe?
            Depending on where you hold the rally, a donkey would probably be appropriate.. anywhere more than 2 miles from the 'Highway' for example...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
              Carnival is bi-pedal Willi! Fundamentally, there is nothing wrong with motorcades IFF it is orderly, involves the police and can be controlled. It is a show of strength and numbers for whatever party is holding it. Sadly, a few supporters and waggonists will do all in their power to use it for cover for wrongdoing, drive recklessly and showcase the worst of the Jamaican landscape. Driving around with horns and flags should not create problems.
              Cho Exile,

It is just a reflection of the general breakdown of order in our society. Until we mature in that respect, Mo is right, we would do better without them.

All those idle hands looking for a fete and a handout of the "campaign" should be gainfully employed and only available for the occasional weekend escapade.

Yesterday I saw police escorting the bodies hanging from cars and buses, the whole motorcade moving at dangerous speeds thru the countryside.

The British Link-Up motorcades are not even that bad.

Willi, you are so right! The Jamaican society as a whole - PNP and JLP - has eroded the social fabric so much that niether Portia nor Bruce will make a difference. I was in Jamaica recently and what I saw seriously distressed me....I saw men pushing women away to get to a bar for drinks...healthy men begging as if is a way of life...and not for 'food' but things like "$3,500 to remove a cast", $3,000 to buy weed to sell...I could go on. One woman I just met begged me for a "top-up"...of course I had no idea what she meant until I found out it was a phone card...why do you have a phone if you cant afford to buy cards???
                  Ah....

and what exactly did you think a "top up" was? mi curious....

Willi, you are so right! The Jamaican society as a whole - PNP and JLP - has eroded the social fabric so much that niether Portia nor Bruce will make a difference. I was in Jamaica recently and what I saw seriously distressed me....I saw men pushing women away to get to a bar for drinks...healthy men begging as if is a way of life...and not for 'food' but things like "$3,500 to remove a cast", $3,000 to buy weed to sell...I could go on. One woman I just met begged me for a "top-up"...of course I had no idea what she meant until I found out it was a phone card...why do you have a phone if you cant afford to buy cards???
                      Ah....
                      Den nuh the new ting? We've become the land of mendicants.

and what exactly did you think a "top up" was? mi curious....
                        Well I for one thought it was something else.

I bet it was a Razr phone too, or some other expensive brand. Some a dem need to sell dem phones and buy a $2,000 one. They would have $20,000 to spend on phone cards!

assuming dem buy di phone.....

Notice mi neva say anyting bout dat. Buy wha'!!??

Ah....
                                Who has formed the Govt for 26 of the 35 years since 1972 ?

There is a burden of responsibility and accountability that comes from winning elections.. lets try and at least be objective when it comes to allocating such.. otherwise we end up actually believing that all Govts are the same.. all Leaders are the same...

Nothing could be further from the truth.