Suh what? None of the cheerleaders

Oh, so it's just the raw stats you care about!? Well, just like charisma, I don't believe you could exchange that for grocery.
    The numbers never lie. Under Manley we had 7 consecutive years of negative growth, our GDP depreciated by 25% ... how the hell anybody gonna believe a comic like KArl over proven data?

Karl, you refer to yuhself as a comrade first and a Jamaican afterwards. You've stated "the figures may be true but no black dwag fi monkey fi me!" What else would you say? You lack anything called objectivity so gwaan fool yuhself.
      yuh gwaan kill mi wid dat quote.
      Good ting mi nat a politician!

That's not what I read in the article. Maybe it's just me.
        It probably is.. for most your type the 70's was the Dawning of Aquarius..

Read about the state of the economy when the JLP took over in 1980.. it will help to provide you some context so you can understand what you read.

Well, I won't be one for you to argue with about that. The stats never lie, you say.

Try telling that to the people who can't make ends meet.

I know about the state of the economy when the JLP took over. But I think some of us need to talk about when the PNP took over in 1989. Yes, the stats looked good but there was real suffering out there. Ever thought about that?

Is dis yuh want mi to talk about?

"Most Jamaicans enjoyed a relatively high quality of life when compared with their neighbors. For example, in the early 1980s, Jamaica's physical-quality-of-life index computed by the Overseas Development Council was higher than that of Mexico and Venezuela and equal to that of Trinidad and Tobago. Nevertheless, Jamaica still suffered from severe social problems resulting from the skewed distribution of the country's wealth, often said to be the legacy of colonialism and slavery. For example, in 1960 the top 20 percent of society received 61 percent of the national income, and after independence income distribution continued to worsen. Land tenure was also highly inequitable. In 1961, the year before independence, 10 percent of the population owned 64 percent of the land; this pattern continued in the 1970s, despite the implementation of a land reform program. Less than 1 percent of the country's farms covered about 43 percent of the land in 1978. Jamaicans in urban areas had much more access to piped water, sanitary plumbing facilities, and high quality health care than their rural counterparts. These disparities in income and service were believed to have widened even more as a result of the austere economic policies of the 1980s."

What's there to show off about?
              Show off ? Heh, heh.

We have been left behind by our neighbours and there is a Govt in power claiming 'progress'.

That is like coming last in a race and boasting that you actually covered some distance.

I know about the state of the economy when the JLP took over. But I think some of us need to talk about when the PNP took over in 1989. Yes, the stats looked good but there was real suffering out there. Ever thought about that?
                The Stats looked good ?

So what you wanted after the PNP destruction in the 70's ?

Disneyland in 7 years ?

After putting in place a program of recovery and advancement as evidenced by continuance of the growth curve after 1989, the idiots once again tried to be profound and managed to DERAIL the economy again resulting in FINSAC and the rest is history..

I just want to know if REPARATIONS will be demanded of the PNP Criminals, that is all.. not in no long argument.

You just finding that out? Took you long enough...

I do not care one fig for what anyone says...I lived through a Jamaica where I know where my grandparents and my parents, myself and my children had direct positive benefits from the PNP's 'liberalisation of education'!

I know what that access to education brought to my family and the families of friends, acquaintances and neighbours. I know what NW Manley stood for and brought to the table...I know what changes Michael Manley made in thinking and lives of our people.

I know what happened during the Seaga years as it relates to access to what is termed the 'commanding heights of the economy'.

The expansion of financial institutions and creation of so many of the current list of companies; whose rule do you think the greatest occured under?

The boom in housing and construction; under whose rule that occurred?

As to running water...whose rule brought about the greatest reduction in 'carry water innah pan pan ead'? Who introduced a massive tank building program...with access to money to build same?

Who introduced the greatest expansion in deliver of water supply systems?

You may speak of the inadequacy of the current systems...but, dwag wudda nyaam wi supper if it was not a PNP to improve on deliver of water to households.

...I could go on and on about some of our other goodies introduced by the PNP.

...am I saying that once the PNP had started the process in some of these areas the Labour Party did not maintain and make improvements? No!

I am saying it is my experience that if "putting people first" is the mantra the PNP leads by 'miles'.
                    1. The greatest tranfer of resources from the poor to the Rich since slavery was abolished occurred under the PNP.

2. The single most diablolic legislation against poor people was enacted by the PNP.

If Jamaica did not have 1.5 Billion dollars or remittance coming in every year there would be anarchy as the REAL state of the poverty in the county would be revealed.. that 1.5 Billion have nutting tuh do with the PNP..

In other words Karl.. yuh talking sh1t ! Save it from some mindless 'comrades' or under-educated black people who rail up when dem hear 'Black Man Time' or 'More cyar, gyal and cellphone'... or find some 'black power' misguided 'intellectuals' with enough baggage to sink a ZIM vessel.

Did we have remittances in the 1970s? Or 1980s?

You just finding that out? Took you long enough...
                        You have long ago been weighed measured and found wanting.. I would have been shocked if you were any other beast than a comrade.

In your quest for self-validation you cling to the false Gods.. don't worry, many have fallen for that trap.. it is by design.

Did we have remittances in the 1970s? Or 1980s?
                          Read up on the remittance phenomenon. After you have done so, ask an intelligent question.

There is something you must understand.. no matter how much you try to convince (for your own reasons) someone that the world is flat.. do not get profound and try to prove it.. leave that to the PNP Government..

Read up on Occams Razor principle...
                          Last edited by Muadib; August 11, 2007, 02:23 PM.

I'll take that as a yes.

If you have to ask the question you are not prepared for this discussion.