I see figures ranging between J$60b and USD$300b (!!?)

• I see figures ranging between J$60b and USD$300b (!!?)

to finance some of what the JLP has proposed in its manifesto.

Why are people using these figures? Where do they come from? Is it because Buchanan has estimated a J$60b dollar cost?

If that is his estimate, then it is no wonder that a hotel on the south coast built by his administration became the most expensive hotel in the world per capita by a factor of 4!! And it is no wonder that massive cost overruns and billions of dollars unaccounted for have become the norm for this administration.

The two major planks of the JLP's manifesto are free education at the secondary level, which costs (based on figures which obtain now) J$1.1b and the removal of hospital registration fees which will cost an additional J$800m again based on the figures which obtain now. Danny Roberts suggested that Ken Baugh was being contemptuous when he suggested that ridding the country of government corruption and inefficiency will easily fund these programs.

Well let me tell you what I think is contemptuous:

"The Ministry of Finance recently admitted to a special sitting of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of Parliament that it has been in violation of the Financial Administration and Audit Act (FAA) for the past 13 years. The Ministry admitted to illegally issuing approximately $20 billion of guarantees some call it”comfort letters”.

"The Auditor General Report for the financial year ended 31 March 2004 highlighted thought provoking discrepancies on the part of the Ministry of Finance. Apparently $15.82 billion and US$176.9 million representing proceeds from financial instruments issued by the Government mysteriously forgot to find its way into the Consolidated Fund. This situation is a definite breach of the constitution. "

"the Finance Minister's intervention in the financial sector (FINSAC) cost US$1.25billion. "

"Yet another scandal to rock Dr. Davies and the Patterson administration is the massive overruns at the taxpayer funded Sandals Whitehouse Project. The original cost of the project was calculated at US$60million. According to well-placed sources the overruns are in excess of US$45million, causing the overall cost of the project to be in excess of US$105million or JA$6.3billion."

"The Jamaican economy since Dr. Davies first took office in 1993 struggled for years to grow over 1% per annum. The Jamaican economy is yet to grow above a measly 3%. This calls into question the abysmal performance of Dr. Davies. The total national debt is now in excess of $760 billion coming from $30 billion 16 years ago when this Government took office. That is a 2433.33% increase in the national debt. If that doesn’t alarm you then what will. Audley Shaw, the Opposition spokesperson of Finance, stated in the 2004/2005 Budget debate that almost $500 Billion in interest alone in the last ten years has been paid out to service the debt. This I must highlight was during the tenure of Dr.Davies. No wonder the gap between rich and poor is becoming more and more stark in Jamaica."

-Once a political system has been corrupted right from the very top leaders to the lowest rungs of the bureaucracy, the problem is very complicated. The cleansing has to start from the top and go downwards in a thorough and systematic way - Lee Kwan Yew [former Prime Minister of Singapore]

Bruce Golding put it another way when he said,

"But Jamaica has to change course. We have a team that is committed to changing that course. And I am the DRIVER"

Why isn't Lee Kwan Yew our 8th National Hero?

Maybe because him is a 'chiney' man.

Lee Kwan Yew can talk.

Singapore will never produce a Bob Marley.. Marcus Garvey.. Asafa Powell...

that is all you see inna the article? Mr "been fair".

What you have to say about Omar's stewartship?

Originally posted by Comment View Post
              to finance some of what the JLP has proposed in its manifesto.

Why are people using these figures? Where do they come from? Is it because Buchanan has estimated a J$60b dollar cost?

If that is his estimate, then it is no wonder that a hotel on the south coast built by his administration became the most expensive hotel in the world per capita by a factor of 4!! And it is no wonder that massive cost overruns and billions of dollars unaccounted for have become the norm for this administration.

The two major planks of the JLP's manifesto are free education at the secondary level, which costs (based on figures which obtain now) J$1.1b and the removal of hospital registration fees which will cost an additional J$800m again based on the figures which obtain now. Danny Roberts suggested that Ken Baugh was being contemptuous when he suggested that ridding the country of government corruption and inefficiency will easily fund these programs.
              Disingenuous at best!

1. What about the sayings/utterances on feeder roads and expansion of major roads?

2. What of saying on upgrading of physical plants in health sector and upgrade and installation of new equipment?

3. What of the comments of the Fire Brigade service as a whole?

4. What of promises to increase numbers in the security forces, purchase new equipment and refurbish and build new police stations, etc?

5. ...and, that education expenditure does not include additional schools
              and other education institutions..or, to wire all our present
              institutions...forget the needed new plants...COMPLETELY for use of smart boards, internet and associated items needed in/for properly managing those institutions for the intended 'future educated' school leavers.

6. What of the saying on giving 'running water' to every home?

7. What of the jokes about the electricity supply system? New plants? refurbished plants? ...and or nuclear plant(s)?

8. Expenditure needed for protection of the environment?

9. What of the boasts on reduction of unemployment? ...to 'zero levels'?

10. What of boasts to the pensioners?

11. What of all our social services and services in those areas to be provided by the government?

12. What of the pointing at lack of affordable housing and the general pointing at need for accelerated building out of housing stock?

13. ...and, the 'million and one other areas of the economy that the JLP claims it shall fix IMMEDIATELY!

Damn Golding and his boys have promised Utopia the instant they become the government. ...the promise or at the least, if we are kind, is a promise that ALL will be fixed overnight!

The damn taking care of our problems with management of sewage alone will run into tens of billions. I am sure a mix of moving of buildings and present sewage plants and actual work on consttructing new modern sewage plants for places towns and villages which have never ever seen a sewage plant...and, or have had any management of disposal of sewage. ...or even garbage for that matter.

Investing in provision of social services can create a great dent in unemployment figures...but, the promises by the JLP do not speak to slow growth and tackling of various areas in any phased attempts at 'fixing'
              either in specific areas or across the broad range of areas needing attention...rather it speaks to IMMEDIATELY fixing every single thing...within every area IMMEDIATELY...and, that will take 'tons' of money.

Why doesn't Comment comb through the JLP promises and speeches by JLP reps over the last two years..You do not have to go any further than that...in fact, make it the last year when the electioneering by the JLP got into full swing? Give us the lists of 'to be fixed' and give us his figures on money need - IMMEDIATELY?
              Last edited by Karl; August 9, 2007, 02:30 PM.

a bet you unnu a go shame about the PNP promises. Unnu a act like them nuh fi promise nothing. Just say Jamaica the Jamaica Labour Party can't do anything for you but vote for us.

I'm free to pick out any part of it. Right? Or no?

a bet you unnu a go shame about the PNP promises. Unnu a act like them nuh fi promise nothing. Just say Jamaica the Jamaica Labour Party can't do anything for you but vote for us.
                    Then you would bet wrong!

...di ole a dem innah - - wah Peter Tosh did tell mi? - POLITIKS!

...but, there must be...times have changed, we have a (Yes! ...believe it!)...we have a more educated...more aware...exposed to the wider world and the various 'carrying-ons' there...electorate. Damn our people deserve to be treated sensibly! Tell us something which at the very least - guh near suh! There is no need - fi tek man fi ediat!

is that so? and people voting because them love Portia?

How much money we owe again and what is our credit ratings? do the educated ones take that into consideration?

damn skippy

I notice you don't answer mi question.

Karl, again I don't know what the JLP has promised to fix immediately except to remove school fees which will be a cost of 1 billion dollars and remove hospital registration fees which will cost 800 million. These are the major planks of their election campaign.

Their manifesto speaks to initiating constitutional reforms in their first hundred days in office. I don't know that this will cost US$300b! Perhaps this is what you confuse with fixing everything immediately.

And I see where you wisely disregard the rest of my post about shocking waste of public funds. I haven't even touched on operation pride or Phillip Paulwell......yet.

Not sure about Omar's stewardship. Some things are going well, others are not. Expand on that another time.

Originally posted by Comment View Post
                              Karl, again I don't know what the JLP has promised to fix immediately except to remove school fees which will be a cost of 1 billion dollars and remove hospital registration fees which will cost 800 million. These are the major planks of their election campaign.

Their manifesto speaks to initiating constitutional reforms in their first hundred days in office. I don't know that this will cost US$300b! Perhaps this is what you confuse with fixing everything immediately.
                              So it is all about the recent weeks of campaigning and the manifesto, now?

Don't think so!

And I see where you wisely disregard the rest of my post about shocking waste of public funds. I haven't even touched on operation pride or Phillip Paulwell......yet.
                              You have good points there...why should I disagree entirely
                              Seriously I agree with the thought process there!

Aside: What specific thing are you taking on...and what do you mean when you run that 'byline' -

Once a political system has been corrupted right from the very top leaders to the lowest rungs of the bureaucracy, the problem is very complicated. The cleansing has to start from top and go downwards in a thorough and systematic way.

I have no reason to believe that Mrs. Portia Simpson-Miller has had anything to do with corruption within government. Do you?

Kindly remember I have said, there are sitting Members of Parliament who are seekign re-election that I would not mind seeing the backs of. Whatever the reason there performances have been poor. Leaders are expected to overcome obstacles and give successes.
                              Last edited by Karl; August 9, 2007, 03:14 PM.