All the while I've been hearing about

• All the while I've been hearing about

the state of Portia's constituency ... THANK GOD FI YOUTUBE!!! If a suh fi har constituency stay after 30 years ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQafh...related&search=

What if she had the best constituency in Jamaica, what would you say then? Peter Phillips also has a piece of crap constituency and so does Omar.

I can't wait to see the transformation of Tivoli and Denham Town, and of Tawes Pen, etc. when the JLP win.

So what you saying Mo is that none can act holier than though on tis issue.

What if she had the best constituency in Jamaica, what would you say then? Peter Phillips also has a piece of crap constituency and so does Omar.

I can't wait to see the transformation of Tivoli and Denham Town, and of Tawes Pen, etc. when the JLP win.
        If she had the best as a matter of fact a better constituency, we wouldn't be having this discussion would we. If yuh have video evidence of Tivoli area post it nuh?

Transformation of Tivoli ????

Yes. What?

Simpson Miller expresses confidence after nomination

TANEISHA LEWIS, Observer staff reporter
              Wednesday, August 08, 2007

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller (right), holding an abeng, waves to People's National Party supporters as she makes her way to the nomination centre at Greenwich All-Age School off Spanish Town Road yesterday. Beside her is campaign fundraiser Prakash Vaswani. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)

PRIME Minister Portia Simpson Miller yesterday turned up for nomination in South-West St Andrew amidst a marching band and hundreds of People's National Party (PNP) supporters at approximately midday.

As she made her way through the crowd of flag-waving and whistle-blowing supporters, mostly clad in orange and yellow T-shirts, police and soldiers could hardly control the crowd who attempted to force their way through barricades that had been put up earlier.

"Ouch! Unu a squeeze me up," yelled a little boy who was being pressed against a barricade he was perched on. Realising that the crowd was getting out of control, Simpson Miller then turned back in an attempt to bring order to the situation.

Shortly after, with an abeng in hand, she went through the gates of the nomination centre at Greenwich All-Age School at 82b Spanish Town Road. Her nomination process suffered a minor delay, but was over in less than 10 minutes. She later explained that the abeng, which was given to her by Maroons in Accompong, St Elizabeth, was a symbol of victory.

However, one of the 10 persons who were to nominate Simpson Miller was prevented by soldiers from entering the nomination centre. It appeared that the soldiers were not notified as to who the 10 persons were.
              "When we are doing these things the security forces need to be informed of the names of the persons that would be doing the nominations with a crowd like that," she said as she waited for the matter to be rectified.
              Returning officer Jacqueline Shakes checked to ensure that the 10 persons who had nominated Simpson Miller were present and on the voters list, and by 12:19 pm Simpson Miller became an official candidate for her constituency.

Her $3,000 fee was paid with three $1,000 bills earlier by an elderly man named Keith Byles who claimed that he has been paying the fee for her since 1974 when Simpson Miller was a councillor.

The nomination process ended with a prayer from a supporter.

Simpson Miller said she was confident that the PNP would be triumphant in the general elections.

"I can assure you that the People's National Party will be taking home the elections on the 27th. We are quite prepared, we are ready, we are more united than ever before. Our workers on the ground, they are well trained," she said, adding that the PNP manifesto would not be filled with promises. "Do not expect a manifesto of promises, our manifesto is a serious document and when you present a manifesto you expect the country to hold you to your commitment."

Garnett Reid, Simpson Miller's opponent, arrived at 10:00 am sharp flanked by a handful of Labourites, amidst the backdrop of PNP songs blaring from the nearby government housing scheme, named Caribbean Palm, on Spanish Town Road.

Reid's nomination process was delayed for several minutes when it was discovered that at least three of the persons on the nomination list were not enumerated. So the process, which should have taken a few minutes, went well over half-an-hour.

"We had some hiccups because of the voters' list. My constituency secretary didn't go through the list very carefully," Reid explained.
              Reid paid his nomination fee with three $1,000 bills but expressed regret as he was instructed to use $500 bills instead.

This will be Reid's second time running in the constituency which has mainly PNP supporters. However, he announced yesterday that he would be leaving the constituency in two years if he is unsuccessful in the upcoming elections due to family and business reasons.

The JLP just doesn't learn. In one of their ads, they show Maxine Henry Wilson sleeping in parliament only for the newspaper (thanks Sickko) to catch vibesmaster McKenzie drooling during Bruce's address.

This particular youtube clip can represent almost anywhere downtown Kingston or St. Catherine in and around Spanish Town. It's an indictment on not the PNP in my view but on successive govts. who have done little to advance the welfare of the country's poor. The fact that the PNP has been in power longer certainly means that they will have to shoulder most of the blame, but to believe that the JLP of the past really did much about alleviating this suffering...mi nuh suh chupid!

This youtube does not make mention of the new housing units that are in Portia's constituency, one in Majesty Gardens to move some of those very people out of the pigsty. It does not mention the fact that a major gully empties out at Majesty Gardens, carrying with it the filth and refuse of Greater Kingston. Tivoli suffers from that as well.

The point is clips like this are inherehtly biased and don't attempt to state the complete story. They can't. I would expect a PNP ad to be equally misleading.

The JLP seems ignorant of the meaning of the proverb, "people in glass houses should not throw stones." They have heard it before. Can one of you, Lazie or Maudib or Comment explain it?

Yes. What?
                  Transformation of Tivarli to what ?

Is a cowhorn and an abeng the same thing?

To a place of beauty and charm.

Is a cowhorn and an abeng the same thing?
                        It may be unfortunate for the JLP..but, the PNP are 5 ('declared') seats ahead at this stage.

...oooh, di question: Mi nuh kno!

The JLP just doesn't learn. In of their ads, they show Maxine Henry Wilson sleeping in parliament only for the newspaper (thanks Sickko) to catch vibesmaster McKenzie drooling during Bruce's address.

This particular youtube clip can represent almost anywhere downtown Kingston or St. Catherine in and around Spanish Town. It's an indictment on not the PNP in my view but on successive govts. who have done little to advance the welfare of the country's poor. The fact that the PNP has been in power longer certainly means that they will have to shoulder most of the blame, but to believe that the JLP of the past really did much about alleviating this suffering...mi nuh suh chupid!

This youtube does not make mention of the new housing units that are in Portia's constituency, one in Majesty Gardens to move some of those very people out of the pigsty. It does not mention the fact that a major gully empties out at Majesty Gardens, carrying with it the filth and refuse of Greater Kingston. Tivoli suffers from that as well.

The point is clips like this are inherehtly biased and don't attempt to state the complete story. They can't. I would expect a PNP ad to be equally misleading.

The JLP seems ignorant of the meaning of the proverb, "people in glass houses should not throw stones." They have heard it before. Can one of you, Lazie or Maudib or Comment explain it?
                          What is the solution to advancing the welfare of the country's poor ?

30% Unemployment ?
                          25% contraction in the Economy ?
                          1 Trillion Dollar debt burden ?
                          65 Cents of every dollar going to debt ?

It is not a matter of the PNP just being in power longer, it is the galactic eff up job they do when IN power.

There is no room for debate on this matter. When you have power for 26 years since 1972 and the most debilitating attacks to the country's economy occurs under your watch and can be DIRECTLY attributed to Govt policy.. is bettah yuh juss keep quiet.

Worse when the ONLY signs of any real recovery and performance occur when you are OUT of power...

Twilight Zone mi tell yuh...

To a place of beauty and charm.
                            Mek wi try get 'Portia Like' constituencies to Tivoli level fuss...

Crawl before yuh try walk...

It may be unfortunate for the JLP..but, the PNP are 5 ('declared') seats ahead at this stage.

...oooh, di question: Mi nuh kno!
                              The PNP Garrison advantage is a well known issue.

That is why removing the Garrisons is NOT in the PNP favor and the reason why it is not a favorite topic of the PNP.

If yuh want serious address of the 'Garrison' situation.. vote JLP.

Tell yuh long time.