The Jerk : Cultural appropriation.

• The Jerk : Cultural appropriation.

The Guardian: Jamie Oliver jerk dish a mistake, says Jamaica-born chef Levi Roots.
    https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/...aica-born-chef

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

then don't buy it...this vilification of people over foolishness has to end..

Yeah give Elvis credit for inventing rock and roll and white people for always advocating that ganja has medicinal value.

Kissteetth

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

what's your point?

Exactly that,you like the jerk rice afecanendos don't get it.

no...you don't get it...as usual...if you knew anything about IP law & geographical indicators you would know that the word "jerk" isn't protected..."Jamaica Jerk" however is protected...so jamie can call his rice jerk rice all he wants...if you have a problem then don't buy it...simple

You wish it were that simple for him,nuh worry mi naah buy and it naaah sell.

Ip law can't help him and yuh.

you eat jerk chicken in nyc ?

Exactly!!!.......There are Jamaican restaurant owners/chefs who advertise & sell authentic JAMAICAN jerk chicken, BUT it's really oven roasted, jerk-marinated chicken. I've seen a Jamaican chef, on Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives, preparing her authentic JAMAICAN jerk chicken, and had paprika & red chili flakes in the marinade. Also saw authentic JAMAICAN jerk chicken being misrepresented, in London (Brixton), on another culinary show.......If you're going to call out people for not properly preparing jerk, you need to start with Jamaicans, who are misrepresenting authentic JAMAICAN jerk.

tell that to Sir X when he is eating his so called jerk chicken in nyc...cause i have never seen a jerk pit with pimento wood there yet...

But we do,no one crticizes Jamaican dishes like Jamaicans and we would be the 1st to tell you the short cuts we take to make it as tasty as possible,all the while giving the people and culture credit!

Because we know the venom and vitriol that would follow.

Mi naah buy and it naaah sell 😄