• I dream of Kingston

My Trip To China On The Yale Young Global Scholars Program

A notable aspect of the course, cultural immersion, began almost immediately after disembarking the airplane. The enormity of Beijing's international airport defied expectations, as the soaring ceilings and airy interiors were suitable additions to the city's catalogue of architectural marvels. It was evident that this impressive display of modern architecture was matched by the scenic views of Beijing's towering skyline. Other examples of modern architecture included the Beijing National Centre for Performing Arts and the 798 Art District. The shimmering reflection of the centre's glass dome glittered on the pristine surface of the surrounding lake. Underneath the placid waters, museums dedicated to Chinese performing arts lined the polished corridors. This dedication to arts is replicated throughout the centre, through the interior panelling on the dome, or the well-furnished theatre halls and diverse statues.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...holars-program
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

My Trip To China On The Yale Young Global Scholars Program

A notable aspect of the course, cultural immersion, began almost immediately after disembarking the airplane. The enormity of Beijing's international airport defied expectations, as the soaring ceilings and airy interiors were suitable additions to the city's catalogue of architectural marvels. It was evident that this impressive display of modern architecture was matched by the scenic views of Beijing's towering skyline. Other examples of modern architecture included the Beijing National Centre for Performing Arts and the 798 Art District. The shimmering reflection of the centre's glass dome glittered on the pristine surface of the surrounding lake. Underneath the placid waters, museums dedicated to Chinese performing arts lined the polished corridors. This dedication to arts is replicated throughout the centre, through the interior panelling on the dome, or the well-furnished theatre halls and diverse statues.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/n...holars-program
    If history is anything to go by, these Chinese edifices if they do not collapse soon, then they will be in need of demolision or serious repairs. Dont drink the soy sauce my friend. It's happening all over the world. Usually shoddy work and mediocre engineering. Me no rate dem.
    One man's opinion.

Kingston Creative To Raise JMD $20 Million For Art District Development

“So if we're doing a mural project, it's not about importing artists painting a pretty wall. It's about how do we engage artists who live and work downtown, to ensure they are part of the dialogue of what it should look like. We're seeking to include the community," she said.

In the midst of a lively, passionate exchange and declarations, Herbie Miller's voice rose to dominate the group. "Yes we are creative people," he agreed, before expressing the driving concern among those who have seen a movements start and stop short.

"How are we going to reform cities that have been rundown for decades? How do you plan -- because you're not the first one -- to monetise the cultural creative industries?" Miller queried.

In response Dr Bailey suggests a shift in perspective." The world has already demonstrated that they think we're valuable. What we haven't done yet is figure out a way to take that momentum of how much the world values us, and roll that into our own sense of self-value. But I do think collectively, we have creative, committed people. Together we can come up with new ideas and we have to intentionally think -- what have we never tried? I think we have to be committed to thinking about things differently. Let's start somewhere else."

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/e...ct-development
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015