Political Spotlight: Edward Seaga silenced

• Political Spotlight: Edward Seaga silenced

In our feature segment, we turn the spotlight on why Edward Seaga has to stay off the campaign trail.

Mounting fascination has greeted former JLP Leader Edward Seaga's silence in the political arena, as the party he led for 23 years feverishly tries to wrest power from the People's National Party.

This is in comparison to former PNP President P.J. Patterson's lyrical stance and active presence on the campaign trail.

In his hey day, the sharp-witted Seaga's ascerbic tongue was well-known for its biting quips.

“One of the reasons for this smear campaign that they are carrying on is to try to silence my voice as Leader of the Opposition. But they haven’t learnt yet that my voice can’t be silenced and I can’t be bought,” said Seaga.

“Stand firm for a third term and eat worm. You know what the people call pigs tail? Buy me vote,” he also said.

Patterson, known for his more laid back stance could hold his own, but his style was very different from Seaga.

“I hear the little man been running up and down the country side say him launch campaign. And I just decide to call a little meeting tonight I say to him ‘Eddie, hug dat’. I hear some people say they want a debate, and all I have to say is let him not boast that puteth his armour on but him that taketh it off,” said Patterson.

It’s the first time in about 50 years that Mr. Seaga has been off a political campaign trail in Jamaica.

And it’s the first in 31 years that he has not been in the driver's seat of the JLP campaign machinery.

The fascination, which Seaga's silence has triggered, seems understandable given his stormy love affair with, and involvement in local politics.

Mr. Seaga's absence from the campaign trail is also a diversion from the norm as leaders of both political parties have traditionally publicly endorsed their successors over the years.

Michael Manley's predecessor, Norman Manley was dead when the campaign of 1972 got under way.

Norman Manley's counterpart the charismatic Alexander Bustamante was too feeble for the trail.

But when Seaga took the mantle from Hugh Shearer in 1974, the latter stayed with the party for another 19 years until 1993 when he lost his South East Clarendon seat to Peter Bunting.

In 1992, Michael Manley retired from politics.

Manley publicly gave Patterson his blessings on the campaign platform a year later.

Patterson has done the same for Portia Simpson Miller with even more fervour.

But to take you back to Seaga and the campaigns of the 1970s.

The General Election of 1976 magnified the ideological divide - with the paths of capitalism and democratic socialism clashing frequently.

Seaga waxed lyrical in those days when the campaign was marred by a State of Emergency.

“I don’t have to call anybody communist…if they are not a communist. But if you talk like a duck…and you walk like a duck…and you quack like a duck…you can’t be anything else but a duck,” he said.

The mercurial Seaga was even hotter in 1980 as the campaign got fierce.

“You and I know that the day PNP get their hand on the distribution of food, the single intention is to starve every Labourite and fatten up every Comrade. It nah go work!” he said.

With the colourfully charismatic Michael Manley on the other side, the signs were clear that it was no time for the faint of heart.

Fast forward to 2007; the campaign trail is noisy, but Seaga's voice is nowhere to be heard.

There is good reason for Mr. Seaga's seemingly deafening silence.

Under the terms of his contract with the University of the West Indies, Mr. Seaga has to steer clear of all direct political activities.

The campaign trail is therefore a no-no for the former Prime Minister.

Whey Sickko deh? Me live 1500 miles away and knew this. Now that it is coming from a major media house unuh can be satisfied.

"There is good reason for Mr. Seaga's seemingly deafening silence. Under the terms of his contract with the University of the West Indies, Mr. Seaga has to steer clear of all direct political activities.

The campaign trail is therefore a no-no for the former Prime Minister."

Lazie stop it!
      You really sounding either desperate or senile now. Weeks ago when Assasin commented that Seaga had not joined the campaign I chided saying he should at least know the rules of engagement if he is going to join the war, meaning that he should have known that due to Seaga's contractual arrangements with the UWI he was forbidden to get actively involved in the campaign. You never saw that post?

BTW this is not new I heard it live last week when Gary aired it pity you did not get to heard the sound bites as well...so who late.

Food for thought, that is if you are willing to think outside your box...given Seaga's rich and long political history and his love for the political hustings, dont you think he would have still wanted to play an active part in the race?

Supposed because of his anger at how he was removed from the leadership of the party, he and his handlers insisted on including that clause in his contract so he would have an excuse not to be travelling around with Bruce.

Are you even willing to consider that part as I am thinking that any other politcian with his history would not be so easily muzzlled as I am sure it is not the money he wants from the UWI.

You cannot convince Lazie that he misses anything a yard even though he is 1500 (?) miles away. He has the Internet, he has cable and he has cell phone, so the world is a village and Jamaica his backyard.

sigh

He is also 1500 miles away from bullets, so Lazie's happy!

In our feature segment, we turn the spotlight on why Edward Seaga has to stay off the campaign trail.

...Under the terms of his contract with the University of the West Indies, Mr. Seaga has to steer clear of all direct political activities.

The campaign trail is therefore a no-no for the former Prime Minister.
          It would seem Sickko may have a good point.

There is the clear possibility...the unspoken thought...that in Mr. Seaga's mind, breaking the current contract with UWI when put against coming out for the JLP...to directly support Golding is not on. Surely Mr. Seaga is not in dire financial need, or would not be a candidate for numerous other rewarding jobs. Why then is it more important to him to stay away from Brucie's JLP and to assist on the campaign trail than to get involved with his JLP?

Could it be that a part of the problem was, as it is being noised abroad, "he was not asked"? ...and in any case he did not volunteer and just maybe he has reservations about helping Brucie's JLP?
          Last edited by Karl; August 8, 2007, 08:59 AM.

I am sure he also vetted his wife's column that was in the Gleaner on Sunday and gave her permission to send it off....Lazie refuses to read between the lines and see where the Seagas are still upset with the JLP and is keeping their distance from the party.

Sounds like Carl Brown who insisted he did not need to go upgrade his coaching skills as he has the internet...ha ha ha ha

If he can write an article as he did to bunk the feeling that laws can be changed in 100 days willy-nilly, then certainly, there is nothing to prevent Seaga from writing articles that would seem to give some support to the JLP without violating the rules of his contract.

The fact that he has "chosen" not to do so is interesting.

Not sure if CB said it quite like that. If we are going to expect accuracy from Lazie, then perhaps we should do the same.

CB is not the only coach to say that a lot can be had from the Internet.

If he can write an article as he did to bunk the feeling that laws can be changed in 100 days willy-nilly, then certainly, there is nothing to prevent Seaga from writing articles that would seem to give some support to the JLP without violating the rules of his contract.

The fact that he has "chosen" not to do so is interesting.
                    I really think it is more than interesting as it must play in the minds of those who shall vote.

Lazie stop it!
                      You really sounding either desperate or senile now. Weeks ago when Assasin commented that Seaga had not joined the campaign I chided saying he should at least know the rules of engagement if he is going to join the war, meaning that he should have known that due to Seaga's contractual arrangements with the UWI he was forbidden to get actively involved in the campaign. You never saw that post?

BTW this is not new I heard it live last week when Gary aired it pity you did not get to heard the sound bites as well...so who late.

Food for thought, that is if you are willing to think outside your box...given Seaga's rich and long political history and his love for the political hustings, dont you think he would have still wanted to play an active part in the race?

Supposed because of his anger at how he was removed from the leadership of the party, he and his handlers insisted on including that clause in his contract so he would have an excuse not to be travelling around with Bruce.

Are you even willing to consider that part as I am thinking that any other politcian with his history would not be so easily muzzlled as I am sure it is not the money he wants from the UWI.
                      Desperate? For what? You made some posts trying to give the impression Seaga has switched to the PNP. EVen though if he chose to do so, it would be his choice. However, here is one of your posts, "the fact is that Portia might right now have a better relationship with Seaga than Bruce does and a lot of those who supported him have not jumped on Bruce's band wagon."

I recall posting that it was because of his contractual agreement and the other unthinking comrades round here tried to mek it look as if a excuse me a mek. Suh nuh try flip it pon Sass. What unuh must ask is why UWI want to silence the man! Nooo .. unuh not in dat.

You cannot convince Lazie that he misses anything a yard even though he is 1500 (?) miles away. He has the Internet, he has cable and he has cell phone, so the world is a village and Jamaica his backyard.

sigh

He is also 1500 miles away from bullets, so Lazie's happy!
                        Yuh sounding bitter! Gwaan back guh sleep!

"What unuh must ask is why UWI want to silence the man!"

sigh

Sickko, it's all yours!

I agree but CB was trying to learn ONLY from the Internet and not realising that anyone can post anything on the internet, true or otherwise...

That's it, Lazie!? Me bitter because I am at ground zero getting the news at eyewitness leve and you are in God-blessed America getting watered reports from time to time?!?!?!

Yes, mi bitter, because being at eyewitness level means I can be shot at any time while you shall remain with remote and cellphone at your fingertips.

HAHAHAHA!