LETTER OF THE DAY - A country performing beyond expectations
published: Monday | August 6, 2007
THE EDITOR, Sir:
I am a proud patriot, and I love this country. I have options to make my living across the Atlantic, but have chosen to do so on this blessed rock. While the official per capita income and GDP growth rate statistics have not been flattering, when we factor in the underreported and substantial informal economy, cited in a work by Dr. David Panton as close to 45 per cent of GDP, many persons like myself are left to believe that Jamaica's economic performance may not be as dismal as suggested in some quarters.
The JLP has fed us a steady diet of "the country mash up" gloom and doom, and their loyal agents in the media have been too happy to peddle the "nutten nah gwaan" thesis, which credible national and global performance indicators consistently defy. Yet, the same JLP is promising free education and health care for everyone, an expanded police force, more jobs (government created?), among other things. If this is possible, then there is something positive about our current economic situation and short-term prospects that the JLP is not telling us. You cannot promise so much that is to be implemented immediately if the economy is ramshackle!
It just does not add up.
We continue as a country to perform at levels way beyond what could be expected based on our population size. Our local world-class athletes, the Reggae Boyz, the Pan Am Games silver medal-winning Under-20 football team, our music, myriad cultural offerings, etc., all suggest that we are world-beatersi n our own right, particularly when the playing field is level.
The sound economic fundamentals attested to by local and international analysts/institutions suggest that such prowess is likely to be replicated and permeate the economic horizon, and the benefits shared by all citizens.
I welcome free education, health care and other life-changing benefits. I would rather entrust the implementation of these good policies to the party that made it possible to do so, as it is more in sync with the governing party's core philosophies, and for that reason, less likely to be changed in the future. I suspect that the Government will be forced to accelerate any undisclosed plans in this regard. This is good for democracy. The people are the winners, but opportunistic promises during the silly season, though heart-warming, do come across as a little disingenuous, especially from those whose philosophical positions are unclear and bereft of profound new thinking.
I am, etc.,
WAT CHING
Kingston 6 wat.ching@yahoo.com
published: Monday | August 6, 2007
THE EDITOR, Sir:
I am a proud patriot, and I love this country. I have options to make my living across the Atlantic, but have chosen to do so on this blessed rock. While the official per capita income and GDP growth rate statistics have not been flattering, when we factor in the underreported and substantial informal economy, cited in a work by Dr. David Panton as close to 45 per cent of GDP, many persons like myself are left to believe that Jamaica's economic performance may not be as dismal as suggested in some quarters.
The JLP has fed us a steady diet of "the country mash up" gloom and doom, and their loyal agents in the media have been too happy to peddle the "nutten nah gwaan" thesis, which credible national and global performance indicators consistently defy. Yet, the same JLP is promising free education and health care for everyone, an expanded police force, more jobs (government created?), among other things. If this is possible, then there is something positive about our current economic situation and short-term prospects that the JLP is not telling us. You cannot promise so much that is to be implemented immediately if the economy is ramshackle!
It just does not add up.
We continue as a country to perform at levels way beyond what could be expected based on our population size. Our local world-class athletes, the Reggae Boyz, the Pan Am Games silver medal-winning Under-20 football team, our music, myriad cultural offerings, etc., all suggest that we are world-beatersi n our own right, particularly when the playing field is level.
The sound economic fundamentals attested to by local and international analysts/institutions suggest that such prowess is likely to be replicated and permeate the economic horizon, and the benefits shared by all citizens.
I welcome free education, health care and other life-changing benefits. I would rather entrust the implementation of these good policies to the party that made it possible to do so, as it is more in sync with the governing party's core philosophies, and for that reason, less likely to be changed in the future. I suspect that the Government will be forced to accelerate any undisclosed plans in this regard. This is good for democracy. The people are the winners, but opportunistic promises during the silly season, though heart-warming, do come across as a little disingenuous, especially from those whose philosophical positions are unclear and bereft of profound new thinking.
I am, etc.,
WAT CHING
Kingston 6 wat.ching@yahoo.com