Let me hear your feed back on this

• Let me hear your feed back on this

Bruce Golding said on Friday night that when he becomes the PM he will take 2.5 percent of the budget, split it into 60 equal parts and give it out to each constituency regardless of who the Member of Parliament is.

On paper it sounds great but is it sensible, certainly a constituency like say NW St James given its geography and urban setting would command more input than say eastern Hanover or say north west Manchester if such a constituency exist but for argument sake.

Both would have roads to fix and water systems to put in or maintain etc..but given the make up of the respective areas how feasible is this plan?

does that mean he will not have the NWA or other agencies to do other wok within the constituencies?

I think it is a very good idea as it will help some of the country areas to better develop their constituencies. Currently Kingston and Portmore getting the lion's share and others bawling.

Bruce Golding said on Friday night that when he becomes the PM he will take 2.5 percent of the budget, split it into 60 equal parts and give it out to each constituency regardless of who the Member of Parliament is.

On paper it sounds great but is it sensible, certainly a constituency like say NW St James given its geography and urban setting would command more input than say eastern Hanover or say north west Manchester if such a constituency exist but for argument sake.

Both would have roads to fix and water systems to put in or maintain etc..but given the make up of the respective areas how feasible is this plan?
      He has been saying this from when. Its even in the manifesto. I agree with this. For far too long communities are being raped of their resources and are not benefitting from the revenue. Example, if you should go into the hills of St. Ann from where money is made from bauxite yet they're still stuck in the 1930s ... its a sin.

One advantage of such a move is that even if there is a PNP MP, he will not be starved of funding.

When I see how money is made from bauxite, tourism, sugar etc from St. Ann and many of the communities are being ignored, why would anyone oppose such a move?

If you live in a constituency that benefits from the current system why would you want a change?

Lazie that makes no sense..once again there can be no justification for sending the same money to the constituency that Ocho Rios falls in and to South Trelawny.

I dont subscribe to the starving of opposition MPs cause it is the people who are being victimised not the fat cat MP who is making some times fifty times what an entire family takes home.

Some Constituencies will demand more given their very location and needs.

Lazie that makes no sense..once again there can be no justification for sending the same money to the constituency that Ocho Rios falls in and to South Trelawny.

I dont subscribe to the starving of opposition MPs cause it is the people who are being victimised not the fat cat MP who is making some times fifty times what an entire family takes home.

Some Constituencies will demand more given their very location and needs.
            S.

I think this is a BASE amount for spending. A guaranteed floor. Constituencies will collectively need more than 2.5% of the budget for sure.
            The rest will come from other Govt programmes.

him nah answer me so tell him again fi me nuh.

NWA still have their budget, so too Water Commission, NHT and all the government agencies, plus the cabinet can decide on projects to satify their needs. As you say this is just to gurantee that at least every constituency get a base amount.

If that is in the Manifesto, I did not see it and he did not say Friday night, what he said was the 2.5% would be devided equally and shared between th 60 constituencies and obvioulsy that cannot be the case as there are different needs for different constituencies.

Why not ask them when U get a chance. I recall reading this months ago. As U said, lots of stuff in the 'festo is not new, they have been saying it for a year or more.

Actually I agee with the principle of more funding...proper funding for each parish and thus each constituency. The matter of allocation of funds is something that could be worked out over time...addressed as a matter of some urgency.

and that is why I had hoped they would have worked out the kinks by now...I still have a problem with this as I cannot see how any two constituency would have identical needs and thus cannot be given the same amount.

I agree with lazy that income generated by one constituency cannot and should not be used elsewehere at the expense of where it was generated.

But then again I strongly believe all this is just politics talk

So what if the is a big disparity on say Mobay and the rest of the parish, shouldn't even a little be given to them if they have worthwile program in place to uplift their status?

Politics talk? Is this the new mode of operation? When we cannot argue against what the JLP say just claim its electioneering, politics talk or empty promise? Is not now Bruce been saying this Sickko.

Constituency Development Plan

· Each MP will be required to submit to Parliament within six (6) months
                          of being elected a 5 year development plan outlining the programmes
                          and projects to be undertaken in his or her constituency.

· Constituency Development Plans will be developed with technical
                          support from the relevant government agencies and will be subject
                          to approval by Parliament.

· The relevant committee of Parliament will evaluate the
                          implementation of the Plan each year and recommend such modifications
                          as may be proposed by the MP for the approval of Parliament.

· A Constituency Development Fund will be established funded with
                          two-and-a-half percent (2 1⁄2%) of the annual budget and allocated in
                          equal amounts among all constituencies to finance the approved
                          projects.
                          . Disbursements from the Fund will be made through the relevant government agencies and subject to all applicable procurement and disbursement procedures.

· All expenses from the Fund will be audited by the Auditor General and
                          reported to Parliament.

Sickko, give credit, this is a darn good idea. This does eliminate opposition MPs crying that they're being starved of funds. Portia has been talking about economic development, doesn't this approach prove who is more serious about economic development? Bruce during his parliamentary presentation a few months back emphasized JOBS, JOBS, JOBS, would these projects in these constituencies provide some jobs, temporary and permanent?

Last week you told me about visionary and dreamer .... Bruce coming across as a visionary right now.

isn't there currently some fund in place where each MP gets it?

Is this such novel idea or Bruce trying to give more parity?

So what if the is a big disparity on say Mobay and the rest of the parish, shouldn't even a little be given to them if they have worthwile program in place to uplift their status?
                              What yuh must ask him is if people inna Mobay and Ochie pay more taxes that people in Duncans and Buff Bay. The same way residents in Mobay want good roads, piped water etc, the man inna Mocho want it tuh.

Sickko, dah one yah have yuh inna bind bredren ... don't fight it ... just vote JLP.