Tourism and some of its benefit

• Tourism and some of its benefit

Let me start with the assorted entertainers which you glance by. So many are able to work and earn a living, some perfected theirs skills and earn millions. Pluto Shervington, Diana King, Luciano, Harold Butler, Ainsley Morris, Gem Myers, AJ Brown, Bunny Neil just to name a few. Many of these nightly entertianers are their own contractors or employed by contractors and can negociate their own price and pay, and appear at more than one hotel. No other industry in Jamaica employ more of our dancers and provide a better sales outlet for our top craftsmen. Some entertaners make more money on the hotel circuit than touring.

Maides and cleaners are employed right across Jamaica in every industry. Who do you think have a higher salary? in tourism or in our heathcare? Customer Service has such a wide range of workers from basic to very sophisticated. To just drop in customer service show the apprecication as a low end skill shows your appreciation for this. Some of the highest paid people even in Robotics, AI or any industry do some form of customer service and this includes directors and managers at the highest level.
    Yard Maintenance, no such thing as that, It is landscaping maintenance and this is an industry that if skilled you can make a good livng and be your own contractor as well. Don’t look down on it, some people go college just to get it right. As for Bartender and Wait staff in the hotel industry, many are making a more than soldiers, police, teachers and nurses. These are Government enployees. The other support staff you forget to mention are accountants, reservationists, management staff who can’t be called low income.
    Tourism employ drivers who go to he airport and make a few trips and make a good living, pay their taxes, and some are having a better standard of living that some of us living and working hard with different professions in the diasapora and have time for their family or to do other stuff. Now let us put that against the robot and route taxis who may not pay tax, who make 50 trips a day.

Many kids who have no opportunities get a job and can pay for college, some come to the US for summer work program to pay their tution. Some study, some stay in the industry others move to other area of life. There are so many success stories you work a short time and set their carreer in motion. Horace Peterkin started as Bell boy, Dr. Janet Dyer started as a chef. Others work in the industry and . Tourism industry doesn’t stop or take anything from STEM or sciences. Our students are dynamic enough to hold a part time job and study for what they want and provdes some assistance to parents. Getting a job in tourism is not the end of the world for ambitious Jamaicans but it can be the beginning. Some remain in the industry and become owners of tour companies, lodging, small hotels and other small businesses which are needed.

There are others like my friend who work on ship for 10 years, build a huge house and get capital to start his commercial fishing business and pulling more than many entry AI analysts working for a company. Put 4 daughters through university.

Without Tourism to support the fees and tolls, there would be no North/South higway. Tourism is one of the main if not the main pillar in our construction industry. It employsmore electrians and electrical contractors, builders, Architechs, than any other industry to support building A/C solar panels, and other electrical needs. Tourism earnings is the biggest part of NIS benefit as they invest in some hotels. This is benefit for government employees.
    Government charges 2 US dollars for cruise passenger and I think 5 or 10 dollars for other visitors for TEF, they charge room tax etc. Now imagine how much money the make yearly if this is collected. This can be used for educating our children, and infrastructure. This is on the respective government, not on tourism.

I see you harp on tourism workers not having housing. The fact is provding housing is government function, provide houses and loans to builder and provde decent interest rate so people can buy houses. In the build schemes you find as many civil servant as hospitality workers on the north coast. Again it is on government to provide these housing solution. Most workers can’t pay cash for houses but do it against a loan at the right price. How much did government spend on inner housing? how much did they spend on capture lands and make no profit? This is politically good for them but not economically, They lost money on these projects yet tourism workers have more disposable incoume and could pay for these housing if built in the right places. Stop blaming tourism for the lack of government function. Touism is not the reason for crime, one would say BPO is a reason for loto scam as the scammer get a hold of databases and people data. The fact is stopping crime is a government function and other places with well run tourism industry don’t have a lot of crime. Portland is considered tourism parish and have the least crime in Ja. Barbados, Cayman, Virgin Islands to name a few close to us don’t have a lot crime and thriving tourism industry.

A country with 2.5 million people and 4 million tourists have an opportunity to grow income. Tourism is more dynamic than sun, and sea. We should be doing more health tourism, more eco tourism, cultural tourism and conventions (which includes science festivals). We should strive to keep more money from tourist by providing products they spend their money on . Right now there is an opportunity as Air B&B and others means of reaching client and cheap advertisement continue to transform the industry.

Johnny I can’t go through this epistle. But you completely miss the point - as usual

The point is not whether or not tourism has value. Of course it does! Big value. Which is why I repeatedly indicate that it should continue and expand. It’s part of the mix

The point I make is whether tourism should continue as Jamaica’s LEADING INDUSTRY in this Age of Automation. You and other can support that continuation - It’s your prerogative

More evolved folks want JA to join the modern era where our HUMAN CAPITAL is competitive with or superior to many other nations. Why? Because we know that is what is required for sustainable 21st Century economic transformation and success. Being a primarily low skilled industry - tourism does not provide a big demand for transformative human capital development- nor 21st Century economic transformation. It’s not rocket science Johnny

It’s ok if you don’t agree with this position Johnny - But if you or others misrepresent the position via ignorance or other means - that’s unacceptable 😎

You ask for it, you get it, now you can't touch it. You a try pull me out and never expect to get all this detail? Oh bwoy!!!!

The fact is you don't make it the number two economy by badmouthing tourism and its value, just work on your thing and stop badmouthing tourism.

I have no problem with STEM, AI or any other industry bypassing tourism, instead I will welcome it but at the same time we must maximize tourism, not minimize it. Simple as that.

Your detail is assorted rubbish. No time for wading through your muddled thinking

Whatever you post can’t counter the FACT that tourism is primarily a low skilled sector - which in the 21st Century cannot spark economic transformation

It can help maintain Jamaica’s current low level of development or spur some incremental improvement however

My regrets
        Last edited by Don1; April 16, 2018, 11:43 PM.

Lol,I waited patiently for this🤔,Sass a mad man.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

95 percent of the world economy is transformed by providing more jobs, a combination of high and low skill jobs which includes agriculture, light manufacturing, tourism and others and in the process move to hi tech. Whether it is India, China, Singapore, Hong Kong or you name it. Another common thing is GOOD GOVERNMENT.

Gwaan go dream.

This is mind blowing revolutionary stuff ,Johnny 😏,95 % transformed,I thought it was a 100 ,given the above🙄

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

hiding behind Don1, YOur opinion is lacking since you have so much knowledge on the matter. I could say 100 percent but I leave the other 5 for debate.

Gwaaan Johnny,I will leave you and Don to dance,woieeeeeeeeee.

Hiding behind Don 1,I will hide from this one.😏

A wonder why?

Economy improvement is more about productivity and good governance, not rocket science. Trace Jamaica's productivity and growth in our economy. There is a direct line that show the relationship.

Why,yuh depan fiyah a regurgitate facts that you just discovered and the world dun know🙄

Mi affi enjoy di moment.

Johnny 😏