Tourism boost set for Falmouth

Falmouth doesn’t need an international airport. Mobay is right round the corner.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Mi belly..lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

what X don't understand is when you talking about Falmouth as destination you talking Trelawny border with St. James go to Duncans. You can drop a Casino and some major hotels there. You talking about cockpit country eco tourism and glistening waters etc.

You don't need another airport as Mobay is there and they said they will enlargen Oraccabesa that is 1.5 hour away and Kingston 2.5 away. Mobay is at most 30 minutes away.

What you don't understand is Falmouth is competing with those same destinations selling the same products from the same point of entry for the past 50 years.

Sand and beach!

Yuh ah talk bout Mecca ...lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

the pie is getting bigger. 10 years ago we had 2 million visitors and now we have 4 and climbing. Makes a big difference.

Whats your point ? Falmouth will still be struggling to be the "Mecca" of Jamaican tourism

Why you have to argue no point? No where you see me talking against Kingston. It is good that you have people thinking about destinations.

Exactly,you don't talk for it,that's the point,if I follow and Bartlett ,you we spend another 50 years 🏃 running all over the island searching for and talking about a mecca .

There will and is only one Mecca, it's ignored and underutilized offers the most bang for the money,a point of entry to central and south ja,where the mafor breath taking highway is.

it must make you feel good. Gwaan chat your fart.

Not good,Damm good,my fart beats yours i.e Falmouth!

Falmouth has the largest cruise ship berth. Can take 5 megaliners or more at once?

Kingston wont be able to, but Kingston also has Pt Royal, Bull Bay and Ft Clarrence as seaside potential and the City as culture.

First world problems unno discussing. LoL

Yes RDoc. We've seen this Plantation type tourism Jamaica operates for 6 decades now. No secrets are there...for critical thinkers. But the propaganda surrounding the industry misleads many

They lock up the tourists in all-inclusive warehouses. Meaning that virtually ALL the money is spent on the property plus that which is spent at the all-inclusive attractions.

A very small % of the tourist dollar is spent in the local communities. The security problem is a big factor of course. But even so...if the hotel owners are raking in virtually all the tourist money...there's no way they would want to change that model. They love that all-inclusive plantation business

So mostly all the locals are left with are jobs as maids, cleaners, nannies, butlers, waiters, kitchen staff, gardeners, taxi drivers, hustlers, rent-a-dreads & roadside trinket sellers

Those are the biggest categories of jobs in that sector.

Nothing is wrong with honest work of any type. However if the country's so-called "leading industry" has that economic & employment profile obviously that's not leading to 21st century success

It's not complicated
                          Yep. Going to an all-inclusive is about the same as going on a cruise, only a bit worse because on a cruise you get a chance to glimpse different countries and ? might even get better food. Not a great fan of either.

All cruise-line are not equal..............

All all-inclusive are are not equal..................