Teach Garvey and Rodney in schools

• Teach Garvey and Rodney in schools

As we say in Jamaica, “Nuff tings a gwaan.” There is the comment by Peter Bunting about Dr Nigel Clarke. There is the protest by an ecumenical group about government wanting to be signatories for church school cheques. There are the advertisements that discourage obesity in children caused by sugary drinks and the observation that the real fault is the schools. And also, there is the 'sick-out' that was organised by the nation's public school teachers.

Regarding Peter Bunting's comment, I do not know much about Nigel Clarke so I cannot agree or disagree with Bunting. But I suspect that many of those who criticise Peter Bunting's statement aspire to being black Englishmen themselves.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/opini...5?profile=1096

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica curriculum Bwoy I am trying to teach a book

I love to a few students. Animal Farm, although I loved the book back then and still does. It beg the question as to why this was taught to us without any real introduction to capitalism, socialism, Hitler, Marxism,Lenin, Stalin and communism. beyond the mere intro.......
    Now this beg the question as to who develop these curriculum over the years. For example I was never truly exposed to Marcus Garvey teachings nor black history. Moreover; Our parents and our primary school teachers espouse as superior Rote learning as opposed to more children learning, Wood Work, Auto mechanic, Electrical science,cooking etc. These subjects were given to a few schools that establishment deem inferior to many established high schools.
    Now as a home owner I am paying plumbers, carpenters and auto mechanics for work that I believe are basic.
    And if I was taught earlier i could have mastered. I can say that now that I took a few home renovation courses at home depot and at a community development work shop. Crazy Crazy there was a millionaire plumber teaching there as well as a billionaire Chef. proud owner of a couple restaurants. Bwoy i cannot believe mi larn English as oppose to learning fi cook wid out powder spice. Chef can hardly talk english.
    At least my English literature has some use. lol..Shakespeare to di worl.
    if I may say this espouses our classicism mentality, that alludes to our illusion of grandeur ..wake up Yardies or it elludes us...wow can a forumite guess what figures of speech mi jus espouse.
    hint allegory...animal farm
    alliteration...she sells sea shells
    personification...most yardies ministers are walking dead
    Last edited by PeeJay; March 16, 2018, 11:48 AM.
    "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Schools are places of instructions, its duty is to prepare youngsters to become productive members of our society.
      Crime, bleaching,and an array of moral decadence spiralled primarily because of the younger generation, why hasn't the problem been addressed in our school curriculum?
      It is in the interest of both parties that the status quo remains unchanged, the doctrines of Garvey, Marley, etc , will likely lead to the society demanding better from our political leaders, and that is a no no for them.

Shaw stated whereas our teachers(the building block of our society) deserve more, economic constraints prevent their salaries from being raised.
      Well are the salaries(perks included) of politicians affected too?
      The current school curriculum is prejudiced as you stated.

It's a joke,until we start teaching our history we will conduct our affairs like we are lost,devoid of confidence forever looking and loving anything forgein as better than us,even with our degrees.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You're on the right track BUT this is Century 21...

Originally posted by PeeJay View Post
          Moreover; Our parents and our primary school teachers espouse as superior Rote learning as opposed to more children learning, Wood Work, Auto mechanic, Electrical science,cooking etc. These subjects were given to a few schools that establishment deem inferior to many established high schools.
          Now as a home owner I am paying plumbers, carpenters and auto mechanics for work that I believe are basic.
          And if I was taught earlier i could have mastered. I can say that now that I took a few home renovation courses at home depot and at a community development work shop. Crazy Crazy there was a millionaire plumber teaching there as well as a billionaire Chef. proud owner of a couple restaurants. Bwoy i cannot believe mi larn English as oppose to learning fi cook wid out powder spice. Chef can hardly talk english.
          Rote learning and the associated standardized tests - CXC etc - are largely relics of a now defunct 20th century education model. Most Jamaicans are completely ignorant of this 21st Century reality. This is why fossilized competitions appropriate for the 1960s & (maybe) the 1970s like a Schools Challenge QUIZ are still the leading academic initiatives in JA - followed by millions in great awe This is of course a demonstration of how backward JA really is - esp. the "educated" class

The above mentioned skills - cooking/plumbing/carpentry etc are an integral part of life. These skills should be valued and taught in schools - and apprenticeships arranged with private industry. Germany and other advanced European countries have this model and experience excellent results.

However JA cannot stop at that trade level. That only takes us so far. Time to step up our game Nowadays TECHNOLOGY RUN DI PLACE. So (obviously) in order to progress JA MUST master some elements of scitech.

This reality does not even need explaining - The questions are:
          HOW DOES JA EXECUTE TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION IN SCHOOLS FOR 6 - 19 y.o. KIDS???

HOW DOES JA CREATE A CULTURE THAT VALUES SCIENCE & ENABLES PROFICIENCY IN TECH??

HOW DOES JA PRODUCE MAKERS OF VALUABLE PRODUCTS AND NOT JUST YAPPERS???

Fortunately Project TEAM Works - JA 21st Century Workforce Development - has MANY apps for that mission. Not just yappin about it - but - EXECUTING SCHOOL BY SCHOOL & DAY BY DAY

TOOT!!! TOOT!!! AAAAAALLLLLL ABOARDDDDD!!!!!
          Last edited by Don1; March 17, 2018, 10:43 AM.

Totally aligned with u on this way fwd. My nephews 4 and 6 g

To a S.t.e.m specialized school in Maryland.
            Bill Gates, And Elon Monk regards what you process as thed way fwd.
            In my piece I was just espousing how we can take advantage of different route to success, and self reliance.
            "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Originally posted by PeeJay View Post
              To a S.t.e.m specialized school in Maryland.
              Bill Gates, And Elon Monk regards what you process as thed way fwd.
              In my piece I was just espousing how we can take advantage of different route to success, and self reliance.
              I understand your focal point - and I'm in support. What you state in your thread-starter is very valuable

I just took the opportunity you presented to extend the issue to a national development focus.

If all fruits ripe - TEAM Works beginning with FIRST Tech Challenge agguh run di place.

Enuff already of dat Quiz bizniz - In Century 21 ah backwardness personified dat
              Last edited by Don1; March 17, 2018, 11:17 AM.

As we say in Jamaica, “Nuff tings a gwaan.” There is the comment by Peter Bunting about Dr Nigel Clarke. There is the protest by an ecumenical group about government wanting to be signatories for church school cheques. There are the advertisements that discourage obesity in children caused by sugary drinks and the observation that the real fault is the schools. And also, there is the 'sick-out' that was organised by the nation's public school teachers.

Regarding Peter Bunting's comment, I do not know much about Nigel Clarke so I cannot agree or disagree with Bunting. But I suspect that many of those who criticise Peter Bunting's statement aspire to being black Englishmen themselves.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/opini...5?profile=1096
                Well that's right. I have never seen a country with more cardboard Europeans.