• The Jamaica Trafigura Story

http://www.corpwatch.org/article.php?id=14183

JAMAICA: Trafigura figures in South Africa bribery scandal

by Olivia Campbell, The Jamaica Observer
    October 18th, 2006

Trafigura president Claude Dauphin, who in August paid a visit to Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller at Jamaica House before his company controversially transferred over $31 million to the People's National Party, is a man steeped in the art of expensive gift giving.

For their 'assistance' in delivering to a Trafigura joint venture company a 1.5 billion rand oil trading contract in 1999, for example, Dauphin handed a couple of bottles of 1940 Domaine de Penarde Armagnac brandy to two South African government officials on a visit to Trafigura in London, the South African Mail and Guardian newspaper reported in 2001. Officials in South Africa also testified to receiving envelopes filled with cash and promises of foreign bank accounts from the oil traders.

Those are just some details in a bribery scandal that rocked South Africa at the beginning of the decade, when it was discovered that Trafigura and its local joint venture partner, an African empowerment company called High Beam Investments, illegally paid out thousands of US dollars and promised millions more to government officials.

The bribes were paid to ensure that High Beam Trading International, as the joint venture was called, received a secretive no-bid contract from the South African state oil trading company, The Strategic Fuel Fund Association (SFF).
    The contract would give full control of South Africa's strategic oil reserves to High Beam, who would be responsible for selling a 10-million barrel stock of crude, and to restock the reserves with a higher-grade crude.

High Beam, it was discovered later, stood to make inordinately high profits from the 15-month deal, details of which were kept away from the South African Ministry of Mining and Energy.

The secret deal was brought to light in 2000, and in response, then minister of mining and energy, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, immediately cancelled the contract and fired the entire board of the SFF.

Later, Trafigura/High Beam challenged the contract's cancellation in court, but, according to the Mail and Guardian, in late 2002 "backed down. because of convincing evidence of the illicit payments". In an out-of-court settlement, the joint venture was ordered to repay all money earned under the contract, as well as to pay the government's legal fees, another South African newspaper, the Sunday Times reported in 2003.

Trafigura's connection to Jamaica dates back to 2000, when the company won a bid and was contracted by the Jamaican state oil company, the Petroleum Corporation of Jamaica, to lift, market and trade the 30,000 barrels per day of Nigerian crude allocated to the country under a 1978 oil facility.

Since 2001, the company has lifted oil in Jamaica's name, and initially paid Jamaica a flat fee of US7.5 cents per barrel. The annually renewable contract was last signed for the 2005-2006 year, and provided for Jamaica to receive US12.5 cents per barrel.

Two weeks ago, Opposition Leader Bruce Golding brought the Trafigura dealings to public attention when he presented leaked returned cheques and a bank statement that showed over $31 million transferred from Trafigura to an account at FirstCaribbean Bank held by one CCOC Association. The PNP hastily denied that the money was illegally gained, and insisted that it was an above-board donation. Trafigura later denied that, saying that the money was part of a commercial transaction with CCOC.

Colin Campbell, the government minister at the centre of the controversy, resigned his posts as information and development minister and as PNP general-secretary, saying that he had acted independently in his dealings with Trafigura.

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller has subsequently ordered that the money, some of which was believed to be used by the party to put on its massive 68th annual conference in September, be returned to Trafigura.

It is unclear whether Dauphin, who is currently detained in the Ivory Coast as the government there investigates Trafigura's role in the dumping of thousands of tonnes of chemical toxic waste around Abidjan, the capital, brought gifts for the government officials he met with on his trip to Jamaica in September.
    "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

Here is a fitting response to this Scandal

http://www.thecommentatorjm.com/octpage_10.htm

Trafigura Scandal: An Opportunity
    Ewin James (EROYJAMES @aol.com)

As things go in Jamaica, the Trafigura scandal is tending to become what all such others before it have become: a momentary diversion; something we take in our stride.

Colin Campbell - former Information Minister, was forced to resign because of the Scandal

But that would be sad, for though this scandal has not achieved what some persons, especially the man who broke it, intended - the downfall of the government - it has exposed the urgency of dealing with something which has kept Jamaica from progressing: corruption in government and society. Like the tip of an iceberg there is much more unseen below the surface; and some of the corruption and lies among parliamentarians, many of them in the Opposition, who are delighted over what Trafigura is doing to the Government.

How many JLP MP’s who wish for this scandal to topple the government and reveal the ineptitude of a Prime Minister coming from the bowels of the working class, are clean? It is common knowledge that MP’s in Jamaica use the people’s money to buy and sell power. Most, if not all of these MP’s have supporters, with lavish lifestyles, who can show no legitimate means of coming into these lifestyles. I have known of MP’s whose boys’ worked nowhere, but drove Mercedes Benzes and other expensive cars, wore expensive clothes, and lived in mansions. Did the MP provide them with this largesse out of his own salary, or the revenues of his business? Are these MPs any better than Mrs. Portia Simpson and Colin Campbell etc.?

There is a community in Jamaica, in which some of my relatives live; it is poor and backward, with many of the people living in shacks; yet one young lady with no education and job was suddenly provided a mansion - with electricity, water, and a satellite dish. When the people began to wonder and were amazed as to how she came by it, the answer was "she a cousin to the MP" - a member of the JLP. You would be surprised who the JLP MP is! How is this different from the Trafigura scandal, except that Trafigura is an international company with some questionable dealings?

Now to the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce which is condemning the Government, and alleging the incompetence of the Prime Minster. Are its members clean? Is there no corruption in business in Jamaica? Many of these businessmen routinely get special favors from their party in power. How and why do they get them? Do they just get them because of who they are or because they make donations to their party? Many of them are contributors to the Jamaica Labor Party. Why do they do so? Is it because they love their country or because they want their party to win, and to be on the top of their party’s list of favorites?

When I lived in Jamaica corruption was stink, and as things worsen with time, it must now must be unbearable. Police sought payoff everyday; government workers charged poor people for services which were free; and the people paid because they thought this was the way of life. When I worked at the tax office in May Pen, in the 80’s, people would come in daily with fake documents to register cars and land - they bought them at government offices. They would offer to pay me for providing simple services, such as collecting their own taxes. Can such a country as Jamaica, expect better from its government? And to Mr. Bruce Golding: did you not sometime ago vote that Mr. Seaga was fit to lead the JLP despite his company owing the government millions of dollars in taxes and his workers in unpaid salaries?

Time is now overdue for Jamaica to begin the necessary but painful process of removing corruption from politics and life, if the country is to succeed. And the process must begin at the top, if it is to get down to the bottom; for when ordinary Jamaicans see their leaders willing to expose corruption in which they are involved and bear the consequences of it, they will be willing to reveal it and themselves turn away from it. The Trafigura affair, as sordid as it is, has provided the opportunity for this. Please don’t waste it.
    "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

Gifts!

Very important to know if gifts were receivved or not received.

...and, why is it there is never a mention by anyone of the sums that have been of benefit to Jamaica, i.e. receipts to Jamaica? ...or, could it be that I missed seeing or hearing of those pronouncements?
      Last edited by Karl; August 3, 2007, 03:42 PM.

Originally posted by Mark View Post
        http://www.thecommentatorjm.com/octpage_10.htm

Trafigura Scandal: An Opportunity
        Ewin James (EROYJAMES @aol.com)

As things go in Jamaica, the Trafigura scandal is tending to become what all such others before it have become: a momentary diversion; something we take in our stride.

Colin Campbell - former Information Minister, was forced to resign because of the Scandal

But that would be sad, for though this scandal has not achieved what some persons, especially the man who broke it, intended - the downfall of the government - it has exposed the urgency of dealing with something which has kept Jamaica from progressing: corruption in government and society. Like the tip of an iceberg there is much more unseen below the surface; and some of the corruption and lies among parliamentarians, many of them in the Opposition, who are delighted over what Trafigura is doing to the Government.

How many JLP MP’s who wish for this scandal to topple the government and reveal the ineptitude of a Prime Minister coming from the bowels of the working class, are clean? It is common knowledge that MP’s in Jamaica use the people’s money to buy and sell power. Most, if not all of these MP’s have supporters, with lavish lifestyles, who can show no legitimate means of coming into these lifestyles. I have known of MP’s whose boys’ worked nowhere, but drove Mercedes Benzes and other expensive cars, wore expensive clothes, and lived in mansions. Did the MP provide them with this largesse out of his own salary, or the revenues of his business? Are these MPs any better than Mrs. Portia Simpson and Colin Campbell etc.?

There is a community in Jamaica, in which some of my relatives live; it is poor and backward, with many of the people living in shacks; yet one young lady with no education and job was suddenly provided a mansion - with electricity, water, and a satellite dish. When the people began to wonder and were amazed as to how she came by it, the answer was "she a cousin to the MP" - a member of the JLP. You would be surprised who the JLP MP is! How is this different from the Trafigura scandal, except that Trafigura is an international company with some questionable dealings?

Now to the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce which is condemning the Government, and alleging the incompetence of the Prime Minster. Are its members clean? Is there no corruption in business in Jamaica? Many of these businessmen routinely get special favors from their party in power. How and why do they get them? Do they just get them because of who they are or because they make donations to their party? Many of them are contributors to the Jamaica Labor Party. Why do they do so? Is it because they love their country or because they want their party to win, and to be on the top of their party’s list of favorites?

When I lived in Jamaica corruption was stink, and as things worsen with time, it must now must be unbearable. Police sought payoff everyday; government workers charged poor people for services which were free; and the people paid because they thought this was the way of life. When I worked at the tax office in May Pen, in the 80’s, people would come in daily with fake documents to register cars and land - they bought them at government offices. They would offer to pay me for providing simple services, such as collecting their own taxes. Can such a country as Jamaica, expect better from its government? And to Mr. Bruce Golding: did you not sometime ago vote that Mr. Seaga was fit to lead the JLP despite his company owing the government millions of dollars in taxes and his workers in unpaid salaries?

Time is now overdue for Jamaica to begin the necessary but painful process of removing corruption from politics and life, if the country is to succeed. And the process must begin at the top, if it is to get down to the bottom; for when ordinary Jamaicans see their leaders willing to expose corruption in which they are involved and bear the consequences of it, they will be willing to reveal it and themselves turn away from it. The Trafigura affair, as sordid as it is, has provided the opportunity for this. Please don’t waste it.
        Corruption is everywhere!
        Jamaica is a country where "there is separation of one degree". 'JLPites' and 'PNPites', 'PNPites' and 'JLPites' work hand in hand. ...and, that is a fact!

Lazie and Maudib can continue to 'tar and feather' me for speaking of it...but, facts do not lie!

Corruption is everywhere!
          Jamaica is a country where "there is separation of one degree". 'JLPites' and 'PNPites', 'PNPites' and 'JLPites' work hand in hand. ...and, that is a fact!

Lazie and Maudib can continue to 'tar and feather' me for speaking of it...but, facts do not lie!
          Good, good.. now lets deal with SPECIFICS shall we.... knock em down one tree at a time.. si one BIG TREE yah suh.. Trafigura.. as we have been trying to hammer into your brain:

When yuh need to clean a stream.....

"Time is now overdue for Jamaica to begin the necessary but painful process of removing corruption from politics and life, if the country is to succeed. And the process must begin at the top, if it is to get down to the bottom; for when ordinary Jamaicans see their leaders willing to expose corruption in which they are involved and bear the consequences of it, they will be willing to reveal it and themselves turn away from it. The Trafigura affair, as sordid as it is, has provided the opportunity for this. Please don’t waste it."

It dun waste ahready with Sistah 'P' showing her colors... nutting new to offer...

The REAL World:

"The secret deal was brought to light in 2000, and in response, then minister of mining and energy, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, immediately cancelled the contract and fired the entire board of the SFF."

Comrade World:

"The PNP hastily denied that the money was illegally gained, and insisted that it was an above-board donation. Trafigura later denied that, saying that the money was part of a commercial transaction with CCOC.

Colin Campbell, the government minister at the centre of the controversy, resigned his posts as information and development minister and as PNP general-secretary, saying that he had acted independently in his dealings with Trafigura.

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller has subsequently ordered that the money, some of which was believed to be used by the party to put on its massive 68th annual conference in September, be returned to Trafigura."

One criminal tek di 'fall' (Still a Senator) while the accomplices seek return to power and more of the same... confident and annointed by God...

One day di bottom ah guh drap out and nah sarry fi nuhbaddy...

Gifts!

Very important to know if gifts were receivved or not received.

...and, why is it there is never a mention by anyone of the sums that has been of benefit to Jamaica, i.e. receipts to Jamaica? ...or, could it be that I missed seeing or hearing of those pronouncements?
            Sad ting when yuh sell yuh soul... yuh ever question how yuh reach suh low ?

Your honor, mi did tief di money but look how much 'good' I did with it.. the 'Greater Good' your honor.. dat mi a defen'

Poor ting.

Karl only see that it is wrong is when its the JLP! Yuh right Karl .. anuh the PNP top brass fault mek dem fock up the country suh ,.... its the clowns that continue voting them in.

A good movie on corruption in the USA (FBI) woud be Breach. I think what is going on in Jamaica is pale in comparison to what is revealed in this movie. Politics is a hunger for power and with a hunger for power, there will always be corruption. The problem is that not everyone gets caught. There are a few that I can mention, The Oliver North saga, Enron, and so many more. For Jamaica to move forward as a country, we have to find a way to weed out the corruption. I was hoping Portia would be the one to make the change. Even if she is not involved in the corruption, she has to be able to rule with an iron fist on these issues and send a message to her people. I know by doing this, she would risk her life because so many livlihood depend on these corruption, but that is the risk she signed up for when she took the oath of office.

Jamaica should not be a poor country. We are too small with so many natural resources to be in the economic state we are in. We (the Government) has to find a way to invest in it's people (the greatest resource one can have) and generations to come will reap the reward. We have to start some where. We cannot continue to build the house from the roof down and expect to support it with sticks. It will always come tumbling down. If we do not find a balance to provide a reasonable cost of living for the people while developing infrastructure, we will always be at square one; looking at lesser countries moving ahead and us moving backward.

Jamaica reminds me of a football team or player that has potential but never achieve anything. The potential has to be developed for you to realized the benefits.

"LACK OF VISION< THE PEOPLE PERISH" - You cannot spend more than you earn. The government is behaving like the common people; even the common people is understanding the concept of budgeting to move ahead.

Good, good.. now lets deal with SPECIFICS shall we.... knock em down one tree at a time.. si one BIG TREE yah suh.. Trafigura.. as we have been trying to hammer into your brain:

When yuh need to clean a stream.....

"Time is now overdue for Jamaica to begin the necessary but painful process of removing corruption from politics and life, if the country is to succeed. And the process must begin at the top, if it is to get down to the bottom; for when ordinary Jamaicans see their leaders willing to expose corruption in which they are involved and bear the consequences of it, they will be willing to reveal it and themselves turn away from it. The Trafigura affair, as sordid as it is, has provided the opportunity for this. Please don’t waste it."

It dun waste ahready with Sistah 'P' showing her colors... nutting new to offer...
                  nuh badda wid dat!
                  Wen mi did seh great opportunity to tackle corruption at many levels unnuh did seh a "red herring" mi a cum wid!

Sad ting when yuh sell yuh soul... yuh ever question how yuh reach suh low ?

Your honor, mi did tief di money but look how much 'good' I did with it.. the 'Greater Good' your honor.. dat mi a defen'

Poor ting.
                    ...and, why could not getting to the bottom of relations with Trafigura be done...

...and, the people also know the figures on what has gone into the 'coffers of the country'?

massa, tan steady!

Originally posted by Mark View Post
                      A good movie on corruption in the USA (FBI) woud be Breach. I think what is going on in Jamaica is pale in comparison to what is revealed in this movie. Politics is a hunger for power and with a hunger for power, there will always be corruption. The problem is that not everyone gets caught. There are a few that I can mention, The Oliver North saga, Enron, and so many more. For Jamaica to move forward as a country, we have to find a way to weed out the corruption. I was hoping Portia would be the one to make the change. Even if she is not involved in the corruption, she has to be able to rule with an iron fist on these issues and send a message to her people. I know by doing this, she would risk her life because so many livlihood depend on these corruption, but that is the risk she signed up for when she took the oath of office.

Jamaica should not be a poor country. We are too small with so many natural resources to be in the economic state we are in. We (the Government) has to find a way to invest in it's people (the greatest resource one can have) and generations to come will reap the reward. We have to start some where. We cannot continue to build the house from the roof down and expect to support it with sticks. It will always come tumbling down. If we do not find a balance to provide a reasonable cost of living for the people while developing infrastructure, we will always be at square one; looking at lesser countries moving ahead and us moving backward.

Jamaica reminds me of a football team or player that has potential but never achieve anything. The potential has to be developed for you to realized the benefits.

"LACK OF VISION< THE PEOPLE PERISH" - You cannot spend more than you earn. The government is behaving like the common people; even the common people is understanding the concept of budgeting to move ahead.
                      You are so right...there will always be corruption.
                      ..and, the corruption will not be confined to one P or another, but will cross boundaries and or titles.

I am hoping that Portia will put down her foot and squeeze the life out of corruption...but, any such move by any leader will be a slow process...and, can or will succeed to the extent that leaders in all areas of the society and, indeed, succeeding leaders decide on 'not changing course' in the fight against it.

Karl

Stop forming the fool.

No matter how widespead the propenity for corruption is, the ones to be held accountable are the ones who are entrusted with POWER.

Stop making excuses for people who trample over our trust and who mock our faith in their integrity.

If BG was caught in the same position, I would be equally as virulent. This rises to a higher level of importance than which side one prefers. You cant be a patriot and waver about this.

You either are for truth and right, or you sell your soul to misguided loyalty. WRONG IS RANG and TREASON is PERFIDY.

THE ONLY GIFT COMES FROM Nigeria in this case.

Trafigura has been caught red handed in 3 countries now.

Do you REALLY have Jamaica's welfare in mind???

18 years slow!

So now your once favoured PJ is to blame. NOW you see that?

LoL

Karl, one has to be unbiased and be prepared to denounce any side when evil shows its head.

If JLP wins and forms the fool, watch me right here pointing it out.

Jamaica is just too far gone for me to condone anyone messing with its future. Bank on that.

Willi I am also here to point out any foolishness. As Bob say "mi nuh have no friend inna high society". I will point out what I see as bad policies regardless who is in power. I am for economic growth first and foremost because without that Jamaica will never be any better.