• Bad taste of Finsac still lingers

Bad taste of Finsac still lingers
    by Julian Richardson Business Observer staff reporter richardsonj@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, July 25, 2007

The bad taste of Finsac still lingers in the mouths of some corporate executives, more than 10 years after the agency was set up to intervene in the meltdown of the financial sector during the mid-1990s.

Last week, several business executives chided the Government for using Finsac, the Financial Sector Adjustment Company, to cover up its own mishandling of the sector during the period and silencing the many private sector interests who were critical of the administration at the time.
    Hotelier Godfrey Dyer (left) shares a light moment with Audrey Marks, Paymaster CEO, and Gordon 'Butch' Stewart, Observer chairman, at last week's luncheon hosted by Stewart at the newspaper's head office in Kingston. Both Dyer and Stewart were highly critical of Finsac during the luncheon.

At a luncheon hosted by Observer chairman Gordon 'Butch' Stewart at the company's Beechwood Avenue headquarters in Kingston, corporate players said they were still livid at the way the country's most costly financial crisis was dealt with.

"What you have to recognise is that we had a banking crisis which was mismanaged," Sandals group finance director Patrick Lynch charged. "The problem could have been handled in a way that would have been less devastating to all the parties. It had the unfortunate effect of demonising some of the indigenous bankers who are now living overseas, and are treated like thieves when they are not all crooks," Lynch insisted.
    "Much of the indigenous ownership of the financial sector has since dissipated. It is regrettable, but we may have gone back in time," he added.

Several financial entities, including four indigenous banks - Workers, Island Victoria, Citizens, and Eagle - collapsed during the meltdown, after which the Government demanded from persons who were indebted to these institutions, amounts that represented significant multiples of the initial principal balance.

Godfrey Dyer, former Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association president, was one of the many businessmen compromised by the situation.
    "In 1994, I borrowed J$15 million; by 1998 I repaid J$47 million and was owing $147 million," noted Dyer, who owned the Wexford Court Hotel in Montego Bay.
    "If it were not for the courts in Jamaica I would be begging on the streets today. I had to fight tooth and nail and when they couldn't prove anything, they finally surrendered and arrived at a settlement," he declared.

Financial analyst Dennis Chung was of the view that the private sector should have had a stronger voice at the time in opposing how the government was managing the crisis.
    "Finsac is the worst thing that has ever happened to this country," said Chung. "I think that business people should have come out and spoken against that, that was a cruel act."

However, Stewart argued that the Government used Finsac to gag any such opposition from the private sector.
    "There are people, and I am one, who believe the advent of Finsac compromised so many business people, large and small," said Stewart. "It was used as a tool in many instances to muffle the sounds of (business people)," he said.

"...But let us not forget that the Government, during that period, was promoting Finsac as the saviour of the nation. Out there, the propaganda from the Government was so powerful that the larger community thought that this was the only way forward... So don't think for one minute that it was a simple game," Stewart added.

Chung said that the Government had successfully used such strategies for years to keep the business community at bay, but urged the private sector to put up a united stance to prevent it from continuously happening.

"(The Government) always divides and conquer," said Chung. "Everyone remains in their own corner and saying that they are going to protect their own interest to the point where politicians think they can say anything they want to and have us on a leash.

"I draw a parallel to the war in Iraq: When the war was being propagated, everyone thought, with the exception of a few, that this thing was the right thing to do for the United States," said Chung. "This is why you have leaders, some people have to come out and say that this is wrong and organise a campaign against it," Chung suggested.
    Last edited by Karl; August 3, 2007, 12:29 PM.

Rebutting those outlandish Finsac comments
    Omar Davies, Minister of Finance
    Wednesday, August 01, 2007

DAVIES. I played an integral role in the establishment of FINSAC and hence I speak from a particular vantage point

It was with much incredulity that I read the article in the Business Observer (Wednesday, July 25, 2007) entitled 'Bad taste of FINSAC still lingers'.

In that article, a group of persons described as "corporate players" assessed the way in which the Government had handled the problems in the financial sector in the latter part of the 1990s. Let me begin by "declaring interest" in that I played an integral role in the establishment of FINSAC and hence I speak from a particular vantage point.

Before rebutting some of the more outlandish assertions made in that article, it is useful to place on record the rationale for the establishment of FINSAC. It is a fact that during the mid 90s, several financial institutions ventured into activities outside their "core" functions and also supported initiatives, with marginal prospects of viability, from selected borrowers. These activities were financed by deposits/investments of their clients.

In many instances, short-term deposits/investments were used to support ventures which, at best, had potential to be profitable in the long term. To compound matters, in order to cover up the fact that many of these investments were failing and the associated loans were not being serviced, the owners/managers of the institutions made them "evergreen".
    This meant moving the bad loans between institutions within their "group" of companies. Whilst I am willing to engage in a reasoned discussion on the impact of high interest rates on the viability of some of the projects, the bald fact was that there was a mismatch of assets and liabilities in all of the troubled institutions.

With the increasing number of bad debts, many of the financial institutions collapsed. The Government took the decision to intervene based on the explicit policy of protecting depositors, holders of life insurance policies, as well as several pension funds managed by insurance companies.

The actions of FIS/FINSAC were geared at protecting approximately 1.5 million account holders, 570,000 life insurance policies and over 100,000 pensioners whose savings were managed by failing insurance companies.
    Simply put, FINSAC was created to address an existing problem.

A reading of the article does not yield a coherent critique from these "corporate players" of the decision of the Cabinet to create FINSAC, or of the subsequent activities of that institution. Mr Patrick Lynch opined that some of the indigenous bankers have been treated like thieves "when they are not all crooks" (my emphasis). This is interesting observation from Mr Lynch!! Perhaps he would wish to make his differentiation more explicit by identifying those who he would characterise as "crooks". However, the article goes no further to develop Mr Lynch's critique of the way the crisis was handled or explaining how things could have been done differently.

Mr Godfrey Dyer, a former hotelier, in making his contribution to the discussion, complained about the exponential growth in his own debts. It is not clear why this represents a critique of FINSAC, since these debts preceded the existence of the organisation. In fact, to my certain knowledge, the Board of FINSAC, endorsed by Cabinet, returned his hotel to him, in the process writing off a significant percentage of his debts. These debts he had incurred with NCB, before FINSAC was even contemplated.

The chairman of the Observer, Mr 'Butch' Stewart, is quoted as saying that "the Government used FINSAC to gag any opposition from the private sector". This is an interesting observation from an entrepreneur who expanded his "empire" by purchasing several assets from FINSAC. As someone who was intimately involved in most of the negotiations for the sale/purchase of these assets, and with whom Mr Stewart consulted on various occasions, I cannot recall these concerns/reservations being expressed then.

Another 'corporate player', Mr Dennis Chung, ranted that "FINSAC is the worst thing that ever happened to this country. that was a cruel act". The establishment of FINSAC was posited by Mr Chung as analogous to the US war in Iraq. Perhaps Mr Chung could indicate whether preserving the life savings of hundreds of thousands of citizens was a "cruel act". Or does he also object to the rescue of several pension funds and insurance companies?

It is interesting that the gathering of "corporate players" did not reflect on the fact that there were other financial institutions which, despite facing the same challenges, did not disintegrate like those headed by the 'indigenous owners' who are now being hailed. I refer not only to externally owned institutions but moreso to local security brokerage houses and credit unions operating with far less fanfare, which were more astutely managed.

The least one would have expected would have been an attempt to identify differentiating factors between those institutions which failed and those which remained viable.

Unless the substance of the discussion at the Chairman's luncheon was missed by the reporter, that which was carried in the newspaper does little to recommend these deliberations as deserving of coverage. Of course, it helps if you own the medium. Then you simply invite some like-minded friends over for a meal, utter some unsubstantiated observations and have some 'unsuspecting' reporter convert this into "news".
    Last edited by Karl; August 3, 2007, 12:27 PM.

BAX dem yes Omar!!!! Who dem tink dem is fi a come question yuh moves? Tell dem ********s fi guh jump inna di sea! When any a dem can work as Minister of Finance fi 15 years ... dem can talk!

A poppyshow like this Jawge and Sickko a hype bout? kiss teet!!

Can anyone respond sensibly to this?

Take your time, consult and pool your intellectual resources.

Omar, once again, makes them look stupid!

Let me ask Omar one question. Did the sudden devaluation of the Jamaican $$$ and the high interest rate introduced to stop it have anything to do with many of those business failing?

It seems like the business men who have been doing business in Ja for many decade just lost their head at the same time for no apparent reasons.

Can anyone respond sensibly to this?

Take your time, consult and pool your intellectual resources.

Omar, once again, makes them look stupid!
            He did? Or is that just another emotional response? Yuh cyaan serious.

"In 1994, I borrowed J$15 million; by 1998 I repaid J$47 million and was owing $147 million," noted Dyer, who owned the Wexford Court Hotel in Montego Bay.

If a did any a dem bwoy duh dis we all would be upset bout extortion. Omar dweet and we applaud. Unuh cyaan serious to rathid.

Didn't think that you of all posters could respond to Omar's article with any sense.

Thinking isn't one of yuh strong points suh nuh blow nuh fuse.

Lazie, try and undastan, this is not about me. Can you sensibly counter Omar's article? Insult me all you like, but counter it if yuh bad!

(Seems like a rhetorical question.)

Lazie, try and undastan, this is not about me. Can you sensibly counter Omar's article? Insult me all you like, but counter it if yuh bad!

(Seems like a rhetorical question.)
                      Well, Lazie? Mosiah asked for a reasonable response. So...???

As mi say, tune in to Power 106 as Dennis Chung is talking about it. Since you into last lick yuh may now change yuh tune.

I don't need to counter any that clown said. Simply look at how much Finsac has cost YOU a taxpayer. Nuff said.
                      ...and, Dr. Davis was correct FINSAC was born because there was a need to protect the people's money. if the clowns running the financial institution were all honest and good at managing the people's money there would have been no need for FINSAC.
                      Last edited by Karl; August 3, 2007, 12:33 PM.

Don't worry Lazie. Didn't expect a SENSIBLE response from you.

him nuh see how it cost him but just mention free education or more police and a different story.

Don't worry Lazie. Didn't expect a SENSIBLE response from you.
                            Lets see, on reading Omar's pathetic response you claim, "Omar, once again, makes them look stupid!" Now mi a point yuh in the direction to hear reality and yuh a get upset. Like the tactic still ... man nuh waan know the truth suh him willing fi form the fool. Laughable.

him nuh see how it cost him but just mention free education or more police and a different story.
                              Yuhseeit!!!! Man and man seem fi get a hardon fi Bruce. Then Lloyd B Smith talk bout sophisticated voters.