2017 was a great year for Jamaican music. Its been

• 2017 was a great year for Jamaican music. Its been

many years, perhaps even 2 decades, since I have heard so many quality releases from such a diverse group of artistes in both the roots/reggae and dancehall space. If the only type of Jamaican music you like has to sound like 1970s roots music or 1960s rocksteady/ska , then this era will never impress you, but the quality of writing and production have without a doubt improved in the last few years , and most of it is coming from the young entertainers.

I am also happy to see the dancers/dancing once again getting a prominent role in dancehall misic. This is part of the culture when done well and with some professionalism, adds value to the music and vice versa.

Some of my favorite Jamaican releases this year (no particular order). I am sure others can select 5 others which I havent and they would be just as good. That tells me that there is some depth. I am more optimistic about our music than I have been for many years. Just need to have a crossover hit or two to really open the doors for regular mainstream success again.

Medication - Jr Gong featuring Stephen "Ragga" Marley

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PukqhfMxfc

Blood Money - Protoje

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJtozpm7zwE

Winning Right Now - Agent Sasco

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yrNe0eqoEPg

Likes - Chronixx

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bl5NQKcnqpY

Dem Gyal Yah Bad - Dexta Dapps

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKiO-dLHADQ
    Last edited by Islandman; December 27, 2017, 08:39 PM.

Not great but a great revival. Retaking spot on billboard, some minor hits, and very good releases.

Hope next year will be stronger, rip Micheal Prophet, Mr. Minnott from the the Jolly boys, deadly headly, Skully and all the pace setters that passed in 2017.

Just realised that I missed this one. BIG, big tune, I am looking for bigger things from Dre Island in 2018 when he releases his project.

We Pray - Dre Island ft Popcaan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTslf3Bm94c