Very happy that Jamaica was spared.....

• Very happy that Jamaica was spared.....

....the wrath of those hurricanes.

Have you seen the pictures coming out of Puerto Rico? Out of the Virgin Islands and the islands of the eastern caribbean?

How would Jamaica survive & cope from this level of devastation?

We who have a warm bed to sleep in....the luxury of taking a shower and food to eat, have a helluva lot to be thankful for.
    Last edited by HL; September 28, 2017, 10:17 PM.

I'm glad too, however Jamaica is a little more resilient and after experiencing the wrath of Gilbert, a lot was done in the aftermath to prepare us for the next big one. There would have been major damages but I don't think they would have been to the extent of those islands.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I'm glad too, however Jamaica is a little more resilient and after experiencing the wrath of Gilbert, a lot was done in the aftermath to prepare us for the next big one. There would have been major damages but I don't think they would have been to the extent of those islands.
      Yes, glad we've not been hit ... and still hoping we won't. Based on what I am seeing in PR ... Jamaicans would have tried to help themselves. Man an man would grab a cutlass and start chopping away to clear the roadways.

Now in PR all the containers are on the wharves and cannot move. Seems as if PR needs a better local government set up.

I side with you. It would have been bad but many of these places have not been hit directly in a long time. Jamaicans are more use to flooding and some "breeze blow" now. Their recover is much better than others.

However Tourism and farming would have taken a huge blow so it would be pretty bad.

I side with you. It would have been bad but many of these places have not been hit directly in a long time. Jamaicans are more use to flooding and some "breeze blow" now. Their recover is much better than others.

However Tourism and farming would have taken a huge blow so it would be pretty bad.
          Talk about tourism ... Windfall - Hurricanes Blow 68 Cruise Ships Into Falmouth Port