Lazie: Read and understand the problem

• Lazie: Read and understand the problem

We must understand Jamaica's problem of crime and violence as protest against the structural inequality woven into the fabric of Jamaican society. Therefore, the only enduring solution to the problem is to create a new normal. The Government's ZOSO strategy is a baby step in the right direction.

But this will not be enough. What is required is social change - the creation of a new Jamaica, wherein the injustices of the past are redressed.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...ted-new-normal

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This is all you need to know "The Government's ZOSO strategy is a baby step in the right direction."

Why the police didn't show up? because they had to wear body camera?

Mi say dat long time and Espuet says also it has been a step we have taken since our inception,what he has done is given you a history of it and its consequences.He tells you why the levels of crime ..Jamaica's problem of crime and violence as protest against the structural inequality woven into the fabric of Jamaican society....he list the necessary evil we have taken to deal with it ...... Despite special squads (like Eradication and S-90), the JCF has not proved to be as effective as the Maroons in dealing with persons seeking to disrupt the normality of plantation society.

He list the solution as a new normal,the ZOSO is nothing new, in a step in the right direction,extrajudicial killings as he has documented is part of our history,police or no police.One could interpet the new maroons to be the JDF.Like the maroons they were the only militaristic force that can put down rebellioins.

We need a new normal.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

There is a lot new in Zosu. For one the community aspect of bringing in social service to assist the most needy in the community. The aspect of invasion of police and not one complain is very good. Give Zuzu a chance. A lot more left to be done but it may have more positive effect than you can imagine and have the communities start turning against the gunmen.

Zosu, Zuzu...Guzu, perhaps?

Sass, it is ZOSO.

alright sah. Mi always a complain how police treat ghetto people and country youth. A di first them make a effort to not go in with pure gun and baton blazing, hope it continue.

Let's hope this brand new 2nd hand solution is a success for the people sake,giving poor people access to social service is nothing new,labourites call it socialism in some cases, communism.

When ever after a police operation did social services go right into that community as a direct result of the intervention???

"giving poor people access to social service is nothing new,labourites call it 'socialism in some cases, communism."

This show a lot about your knowledge on the subject.
                Last edited by Assasin; September 11, 2017, 09:05 AM.

Post TG massacre,next ! Yuh seem to be ignorant of history.

When did social service come into Tivoli???? You had the public defender but there was no widespread social intervention in Tivoli and any abuse reporting mechanism.

I hear yuh , Bruce did nothing post T.G massacre...lol.Look yuh a try too hard to be relevant, lets hope the new socialist system works ....ZuZu...hehe.

Joka.

We must understand Jamaica's problem of crime and violence as protest against the structural inequality woven into the fabric of Jamaican society. Therefore, the only enduring solution to the problem is to create a new normal. The Government's ZOSO strategy is a baby step in the right direction.

But this will not be enough. What is required is social change - the creation of a new Jamaica, wherein the injustices of the past are redressed.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...ted-new-normal
                        I am not aware of anyone saying this alone is the answer. Those in charge are trying to address the problem ... of course many talking heads are quick to point out it will not work ... but .......

Me too Lazie,I am aware of some saying it's something new.Lets hope these narcopolitical terrorist, get some good social service and put down the guns.

Sarcasm......

Brutal isn't it.