The courage to be rich!

• The courage to be rich!

Ya know, with all the banter here about Portia, Bruce, this or that "P", it occurs to me that we are all ill-focussed!

We are wasting time debating fine points when the real truth is staring us in the face.... we are afraid of prosperity!!!

Yes, that is correct. When I look at the likes of Singapore, Bermuda, Cayman, Cape Verde, even Barbados, etc...it is clear we are wasting time barking up the wrong tree.

We need to be mentally and physically in a much larger sphere of operation. We continue to think small, wehn Jamaica b right of its many natural advantages should be BIG.

We should be here lamenting how real estate prices are so high and how hard it is for Jakans to find the money to purchase, or even how we need to restrict immigration into the island due to the crushing weight of aèpplications. Instead we have the opposite problems.... we have lost the plot! Jamaica has so much to offer, and we manage to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.

The debates here are a microcosm of what is wrong.
    Last edited by Willi; July 30, 2007, 05:42 AM.

I don't think you are suggesting the leaders have nothing to do with the moral, the mentality and overall oppurtunity that give way to this riches.

If you remember in the late 70s many thought socialism meant to share whatever your neighbour possses and it mean't entrepreneurs who have to give up their profits.

Sass,

I am suggesting that we are in the mental cellar, when we should be in the attic. We have lost the plot.

Look, the voting public dont even want manifestos. PnP figured that out ages ago. JLP just figured it out in 2002.

We lie down with dogs and surprised that we get up with fleas. Steeeuuupppsss.
      Last edited by Willi; July 30, 2007, 10:41 AM.

"we are afraid of prosperity!!!"

I agree 100%! Then again, when we were told for yours what the black in the flag symbolised...sigh, sigh, sigh!

Ya know, with all the banter here about Portia, Bruce, this or that "P", it occurs to me that we are all ill-focussed!

We are wasting time debating fine points when the real truth is staring us in the face.... we are afraid of prosperity!!!

Yes, that is correct. When I look at the likes of Singapore, Bermuda, Cayman, Cape Verde, even Barbados, etc...it is clear we are wasting time barking up the wrong tree.

We need to be mentally and physically in a much larger sphere of operation. We continue to think small, wehn Jamaica b right of its many natural advantages should be BIG.

We should be here lamenting how real estate prices are so high and how hard it is for Jakans to find the money to purchase, or even how we need to restrict immigration into the island due to the crushing weight of aèpplications. Instead we have the opposite problems.... we have lost the plot! Jamaica has so much to offer, and we manage to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.

Hmm.. you probably missed the 'Rule in Hell' and 'Serve in Heaven' posts...

Clearly certain powers prefer to 'Rule in Hell'...

How can in this day an age a Govt and Private Sector be wary of each other ?

It is almost as if the Govt is competing with the Private Sector for 'control'.. look at jobs.. Public Sector VS Private Sector.. size of Govt etc.. quite amazing.. almost as if Public Sector is their to 'protect' the 'Black man' piece of the pie..

Willi.. gravity and momentum alone should have propelled us.. their is clearly an opposing force in action slowing down our progress...

When mi see all kind ah people from Cayman, Bermuda, etc ah show off on us...steeeuuupps.

Where the hell is our ambition.

Does the average Jakan understand how muc better off ORDINARY black people are in Bermuda. Portugese people dem a line up fi mow dem lawn!!!

If ah think on these things, ah get sick to rhatid. And we haffi a line up and face indignities fi get visito's visa to dem deggeh deggeh country deh.

How hath the might fallen!!!

When mi see all kind ah people from Cayman, Bermuda, etc ah show off on us...steeeuuupps.

Where the hell is our ambition.

Does the average Jakan understand how muc better off ORDINARY black people are in Bermuda. Portugese people dem a line up fi mow dem lawn!!!

If ah think on these things, ah get sick to rhatid. And we haffi a line up and face indignities fi get visito's visa to dem deggeh deggeh country deh.

How hath the might fallen!!!
              Yeah but does Bermuda have a Black Prime Minister and can Black people go to the beach in Bermuda ? What about Adult Literacy there.. is it as high as Jamaica ? How many Cell Phones do they have their per-capita ? Cars per person ?

You have to look at the larger picture.. what about the 'Greater Good' ?

What is the racial composition of the various Executive Boards there ?

Yes to all questions.

They have it all better than us.

You give a great picture of what potential lies before us...but, your concluding sentence - "...we manage to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory." - makes it appear you have given up.

My friend, "don't give up the fight"! As you know we have been "poised for a take-off" ..."from wappy kill phillo". One positive...an important positive is, we are still "poised for take-off". What, I think, is needed is not so much a change in the mind-set of the politicians - many appear to not have the will to see us 'take-off' - but, a change in the mind-set of the people. A change to doing for self...forget the thought of an all-powerful entity that some have in their minds...their consciousness...of 'di government'...just each of us, for our part, doing! Would that not cause a change on the part of 'di government'? Would we not then start to turn potential into something tangible? What is this 'di government' if not a collection of 'us' ...the 'us' that make things happen...providing services, using the things around us to make good, better...and, the 'us' are the ones who ultimately decide on/to turn potential into tangible results.

Change the mind-set and FORWARD!
                  Not changing course - FORWARD! Yes, we may take a step to one side or the other...even step-backwards to make going forward easier...but, fixed on moving FORWARD! ...and, picking up the pace as we move FORWARD!

Yes to all questions.

That cannot be.

Do they have a Bob Marley ?

Bermuda could never produce a Bob Marley or a Marcus Garvey or a Carolyn Gomes...

'There is a certain love that comes throught great struggle...'

What is Singapore's contribution to the World of Culture ???

You give a great picture of what potential lies before us...but, your concluding sentence - "...we manage to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory." - makes it appear you have given up.

My friend, "don't give up the fight"! As you know we have been "poised for a take-off" ..."from wappy kill phillo". One positive...an important positive is, we are still "poised for take-off". What, I think, is needed is not so much a change in the mind-set of the politicians - many appear to not have the will to see us 'take-off' - but, a change in the mind-set of the people. A change to doing for self...forget the thought of an all-powerful entity that some have in their minds...their consciousness...of 'di government'...just each of us, for our part, doing! Would that not cause a change on the part of 'di government'? Would we not then start to turn potential into something tangible? What is this 'di government' if not a collection of 'us' ...the 'us' that make things happen...providing services, using the things around us to make good, better...and, the 'us' are the ones who ultimately decide on/to turn potential into tangible results.

Change the mind-set and FORWARD!
                      Not changing course - FORWARD! Yes, we may take a step to one side or the other...even step-backwards to make going forward easier...but, fixed on moving FORWARD! ...and, picking up the pace as we move FORWARD!
                      Do you understand the advised approach to cleaning a stream ?

Yes to all questions.

Bermuda only has 60% cell-phone penetration.. Jamaica is the largest per-capita in the Western Hemisphere..

Stay deh joke about racism. Many Caribbean countries have some serious racist habits that are simply accepted by the populace. They can keep their per capita because wi not changing dat course for racial justice and equality in Jamaica. Wi not there yet, but wi not changing course!

Where are the facts to back that up?

Well, it certainly isn't changing the course of said stream!