• Minister of Education says Patwah is first language

My work here is done. Again!

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...=MobileArticle

Gamma must be doing puppa-licks and dancing the jig.

Sometimes it would be good if some folks (like the minister) could see things beyond the Jamaica Universe.

The language of business & commerce is standard English.

Well, maybe they are preparing these kids for menial jobs after graduation.

HL,newsflash,it has always been the 1st language.Official is another thing.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

HL, Mr. Reid is a realist. He is very intelligent and informed. He was recently in Atlanta too. The fact is he is talking it like it is to Parents, schools and administrators. He is focusing on keeping kids in school and provide them with better education. At this point it will be almost guarantee that under this minister education and the graduating rate will be better when he leaves.

Don1 can tell you how he turned his school around. Only a pity he had left before to get some tangible education. You remember "Boisey" or "big bwoy" Don1.

Talk about proof patwa is our first language and not the official,your sentence structure is Jamaican...lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Don1 can tell you how he turned his school around. Only a pity he had left before to get some tangible education. You remember "Boisey" or "big bwoy" Don1.
            Yuh know di ting

Earlier, I watched Rihanna VMA 2016 performance and it was clear the influence our dialect had on her splendid performance.Maybe her being a caribbean national has something to do with.. but that doesn't explain why Jay Z incorporates patwah into his lyrics.It all has to do with commerce,HL.
              Love you like cooked food and congrete jungle are saying that originate Jamaica,yet pretty soon people using them will not know its roots.
              Formalizing the language is a must,or we will lose ownership of it,and .
              I want to know the standard way to spell certain words.

Patwa has no standardization, does it have to ? Different pronunciations exist between kingstonians and country men,even between country men.

It's fluid in it's flexibility to make up a phrase for an expression,that is our first language or to substitute a language because it is an amalgamation of languages.

I see some coming with this standardization foolishness, that is why the educators bowed to it being used in schools to facilitate the learning of english,to do same with patwa( standardized) would me a learning process from students,i.e more confusion on a child's brain.

They tried it with this patwa bible fusing dialects from all over the English speaking westindies,it was a disaster. I couldn't understand it!
                Last edited by Sir X; August 5, 2017, 06:05 AM.

Gamma must be doing puppa-licks and dancing the jig.

Sometimes it would be good if some folks (like the minister) could see things beyond the Jamaica Universe.

The language of business & commerce is standard English.

Well, maybe they are preparing these kids for menial jobs after graduation.
                  Mi nuh see wha di problem is?

HL, di ministah seh nutten bout mek Patwah di langwij a bizniz and commerce?

If educated people like unnu cyaan undastan weh di ministah a seh...

You are right Mosiah. I really don't understand the debate or what is being said.

BTW: I cudden understan yuh lass two sentances. Speak hinglish.

So your reason agaist standardization is there are variants, and my reason for standardization is address that very problem,
                      Reading patwah in a standard form will filter out those variants,making it universally accepted.

Haytch Hell, do you believe the first language for the majority of Jamaicans is English?

If you say yes, then you are in denial and we don't need to continue this conversation.

HL, before I try to explain this Patwah movement one last time, first, lets rid ourselves of nonsense talk and establish some facts:

Just because no other country may speak Patwah does not make the language invalid. Do you agree?

Being a fluid language doesn't disqualify Patwah from language status, as opposed to dialect or slang. English is more fluid than you think!

Alaska has over 10 offocial languages.

Also, HL, please take some time to consider these questions:

Do you believe Jamaicans generally struggle with standard English? Ever wondered why?

Lastly, for now, did you miss these parts in the article?

"...the “transition” of the dialect to standard English."

“If you are teaching students who can't understand in the language that you are speaking, then learning is not taking place.”

And, btw, did you know the USA has no official language at the federal level?

Mosiah, I am going to concede that I do not fully understand this debate. Maybe I do not spend enough time to understand the entire spectrum or each element.

I don't even understand the importance of debating whether patois should be the first or second language.............

I am again going to agree with your (and Gamma's) better understanding of this topic; [only because you are a bright bwoy who attended Munro College in the parish of St. Elizabeth.

BTW: what is haytch hell....?

....also when are you going to come back to keep X under control?

Thanks.
                          Last edited by HL; August 5, 2017, 01:53 PM.

Impossible to do,reading needs to be taught in a formal setting.Patwa isn't and will never be resigned to a formal setting,again it's the reason they implored teachers to use it as a bridge with English.

Self defeating.

Correction : I see it taught on a college level as a linguistic historical course.Really cant see patwa being standardized to ( use )given its variation as you say,from town to country to Islands to cities.