• JLP will 'rape' you, Clarke tells comrades

JLP will 'rape' you, Clarke tells comrades
    PAUL A REID, Observer writer
    Saturday, July 28, 2007

LUCEA, Hanover - Roger Clarke, the People's National Party's (PNP) candidate for Central Westmoreland, has warned party supporters to be wary of the Jamaica Labour Party's (JLP) "hunger for power" and the lengths the opposition will go to seize it.

At a PNP mass rally in Lucea on Thursday, the veteran politician told a huge gathering in the transport centre: "Anybody so hungry for power must not get power because, Comrades, anybody who want something so much will rape you. anybody who want it so much will hold you down and take it."
    Clarke, the former member of parliament for North East St Elizabeth, warned the gathering that they must not take the August 27th general elections lightly as it had serious implications.
    The mass rally was the final stop on a tour of the parish by the party's top brass headed by Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller. The rally saw an appearance by Neville 'Struggle' Martin, the St James man who wrote and performed what has become one of the party's election anthems We inna the struggle to. Simpson Miller was also serenaded by 16-year-old Narado McLean.
    Earlier in the day, they toured parts of Eastern Hanover, which will be contested by DK Duncan against the incumbent Barry Grey, with the prime minister officially opening the Constituency office in Hopewell.
    Playing on the 'sevens' theme, Clarke told the gathering,
    "The polls will open at 7:00 am on the 27th and close at 7:00 pm, and the People's National Party will be returned to power."
    He also warned his party's supporters about promises made by the JLP about doubling the pay for police, nurses and teachers, free education and free medical attention, and quipped that the JLP also promised to "change nature".
    "Santa Cruz is a very, very hot place and dem even promise that if dem win, dem going to air condition Santa Cruz, dem sey dem order the air conditioning units already to cool down Santa Cruz," he told the crowd.
    In responding to an advertisement by the JLP where its leader Bruce Golding was quoted as saying he was the driver of the team that would lead the country to recovery, Clarke told the audience, "I want to say to him, learner's licence can't drive Jamaica. Jamaica is an articulated vehicle and you have to have good licence to drive Jamaica, no learner's licence can drive Jamaica."

Cayliss argument!

What about those who want to hang on to power?!?

I guess the irony was completely lost on him...but it is par for the course in this the silliest of seasons.

That same night Bruce likened Portia to a go-go dancer, saying if she likes to prance on stage she should go work in a club..and it is these people we are voting for to lead us.....SIGH!!!!

Really sad! Which MP or MP wanna-be do have to do a jig on stage? Even those who are rhythm-challenged?

I quite like Portia's dances. She have nuf riddim!

Yeah,

in this season, them all have to become dancing monkeys to get our votes. Who are the real monkeys though???

so a nuh she a the god choosen one? How ironic that she a dance to some worldly riddim .