• Everyone is complaining about the crime and insist on action

...yet ...

Government accused of rushing special crime zones Bill

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...7?profile=1606

The government need to do something. They have been in power long enough. It can't continue like this. They are doing some good on a lot of fronts but they need to get a hold of the crime. It seems like guns are everywhere.

Well they have a proposal to designate certain areas zones of special operations as a strategy to address the problem. There are some concerns about the security forces violating the rights of law abiding citizens, but based on what is in the bill, those concerns have been addressed. However, when the bill was taken to Parliament last evening, it was pure bangarang. It was made public that members of the opp had no intention of voting for the bill. Well, there will be a part 2 today in the house.

Special operations is a coded word for military intervention or curbing of rights from citizens, designated areas means it wont happen uptown,to put it in laymans terms "martial law " inna di ghetto.

Nothing new just more semantics ! The question is how long will this go on .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The way I see it is crime will eventually come down with the proposal to get young kids under 24 working, in school or trade. This should keep a lot of idlers busy at least with a trade, but it will take time. Hopefully we will have more growth in the economy. Also identification of every Jamaican will help too.

Short term they need to do something. Let us see how the special zone work.

Special operations is a coded word for military intervention or curbing of rights from citizens, designated areas means it wont happen uptown,to put it in laymans terms "martial law " inna di ghetto.

Know what I like about Jamaicans ... everybody wants the problems addressed, but anything proposed as a solution is seen as an attack on the ghetto or some other fault if found. The bill is available for you to read ... read it nuh.

Maybe you can highlight why it is different this time.

What I like is that it is been presented to the public and asking for suggestions. Hope it work.

JDF preparing for Special Zones of Operations

Regarding the use of cameras “so that there can be some independent forensic-type information with respect to what transpires,” he said this was fully supported by the JDF and only a lack of funds would deter 100% use of these cameras.

http://rjrnewsonline.com/local/jdf-p...-of-operations

THE House of Representatives last night passed the special crime zones Bill after both Government and Opposition Members of Parliament (MP) reached an understanding for the need for the legislation, after 18 amendments.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...oversial-crime

THE House of Representatives last night passed the special crime zones Bill after both Government and Opposition Members of Parliament (MP) reached an understanding for the need for the legislation, after 18 amendments.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...oversial-crime
                    ...and after all the delay the security forces still need an additional 4 weeks to complete training. So ... there will be some time before they can start acting.

How much dem a pay yuh brethren ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How much dem a pay yuh brethren ?
                        You're interested in weed .... I'm interested in a solution to the crime situation. If it does not interest you ... it simple .. you don't have to read it.

How much dem a pay yuh, mi brethren down deh want a wuk !

The Government, too, needs to realise that hunting gunmen and shooting them if you catch them will not work, because more and more will surface after a while. It really needs an economic solution, whereby more employment opportunities are opened up to the citizens. In the latest incident, it seems that what happened, too was, a breakdown in the values at home. Young people have too easy access to getting firearms in their hands. God, help us!” the businessman said

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/front...6?profile=1606

Mi brethren yute a try finish high School inna di garrison and a shotta a gi im some robbing wuk,im ave 3 pickney fi feed,Lazie yuh can gi im a wuk ?

Top Dons do not live in the Ghetto and the best time to arrest them is when they are sleeping. Will the government declare upper middle class areas Special Operations Zones? Where is the work for the youths? Where are the new laws to make failure to pay taxes a crime? We need both work for the youths who can be saved, bullets into the Dons and prison for the non violent tax evaders. How did Uncle Sam get Capone?