Preview to the JLP Manifesto
Well obviously no one in the JLP has any idea what a budget is, maybe you need to call Andrew Holness and ken Baugh and explain it to them, since you know.
I heard Ken on radio the other day struggling to explain how a JLP government will fund free health care..all he could say was if other countries can do it why cant we?
That is not good enough.
Who do you think will pay for this free education and free health care? You think taxes not high enough already wait and see what will happen if the JLP win the election and even attempt to put half of their promises in place.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
Originally posted by Sickko View PostWell obviously no one in the JLP has any idea what a budget is, maybe you need to call Andrew Holness and ken Baugh and explain it to them, since you know.
I heard Ken on radio the other day struggling to explain how a JLP government will fund free health care..all he could say was if other countries can do it why cant we?
That is not good enough.
Who do you think will pay for this free education and free health care? You think taxes not high enough already wait and see what will happen if the JLP win the election and even attempt to put half of their promises in place.
Post like you have even a basic understanding of the failures of the current Administration and their rather strange priorities and borrowing habits...
Here we go again...this is not about me and what I think or what I would do, this is about how the JLP representatives failed to properly explain their own election promises.
I notice they have pulled an ad where they had accused the Health minister of planning to privitise public hospitals. Do you know why? Because it was another LIE.
Did you listen to the RJR news at 5:00pm..it was filled with JLP back tracking on things and running to explain things more clearly.
Seems you need to volunteer your time and brains to the effort and stop wasting time here on this forum which is really not so important in the bigger picture.
Then again the last time I challenged you to put your money where your mouth was you were found wanting.Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.
I found this...curious. Ken Baugh and the JLP considers the Regional Health Authorities a millstone around the neck of health care, yada yada, yet they have no intention of getting rid of it.
Huh?!?
Ok, if you won't get rid of it, at least tell us how you are going to make it different.
And I thought I was the fence-sitter!
Originally posted by Sickko View PostHere we go again...this is not about me and what I think or what I would do, this is about how the JLP representatives failed to properly explain their own election promises.
I notice they have pulled an ad where they had accused the Health minister of planning to privitise public hospitals. Do you know why? Because it was another LIE.
Did you listen to the RJR news at 5:00pm..it was filled with JLP back tracking on things and running to explain things more clearly.
Seems you need to volunteer your time and brains to the effort and stop wasting time here on this forum which is really not so important in the bigger picture.
Then again the last time I challenged you to put your money where your mouth was you were found wanting.
It is crystal clear to me HOW certain priorities can be funded.. simply by making them priorities and cutting on LESS important things.. oh also not paying more interest than is neccessary.. 'boosting' the Financial Sector at the neglect of other sectors with LAZY debt policy MUST create problems... Heads up. STOP IT.. if you cannot by your own action then you have to be PUT DOWN...
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI found this...curious. Ken Baugh and the JLP considers the Regional Health Authorities a millstone around the neck of health care, yada yada, yet they have no intention of getting rid of it.
Huh?!?
Ok, if you won't get rid of it, at least tell us how you are going to make it different.
And I thought I was the fence-sitter!
Do you realise that if the Jamaican economy grow by 5% two year in a row then nobody tax nah fi raise fi pay fi free education?
Man like you need fi think and stop acting on on emotions. While I am not sure the JLP can do it but there are many ways it can be done without raising taxes. I can give you some.
1) let all HEART student pay 3% of their salary on the first 3 years after dfinding a job.
2) Have strong parent association and community support which is lacking in many schools and they can raise funds. If Capeton can have one dance a St.Mary and give so much money to so many charities from the 1 dance why can't local communities can't do a better job and find partnership?
3) If the Jamaican government can do like the Mexican government and find deliquent parents inna foriegn and make sure the kids are supported as they can take money out of their salary then you would see the big difference and how the burden would be less on government.
These are just three ideas and polices that could be put in place but the PNP just admit that they can't do what most western governments are doing and just believe inna taking more tax and loan on the Jamaican people.
I have never seen you comment on the loans that Jamaica is currently borrowing and if I am right I think you are one of the supporter of Omar Davis and his policies which is nothing but bancrupt.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostDo you realise that if the Jamaican economy grow by 5% two year in a row then nobody tax nah fi raise fi pay fi free education?
Man like you need fi think and stop acting on on emotions. While I am not sure the JLP can do it but there are many ways it can be done without raising taxes. I can give you some.
1) let all HEART student pay 3% of their salary on the first 3 years after dfinding a job.
2) Have strong parent association and community support which is lacking in many schools and they can raise funds. If Capeton can have one dance a St.Mary and give so much money to so many charities from the 1 dance why can't local communities can't do a better job and find partnership?
3) If the Jamaican government can do like the Mexican government and find deliquent parents inna foriegn and make sure the kids are supported as they can take money out of their salary then you would see the big difference and how the burden would be less on government.
These are just three ideas and polices that could be put in place but the PNP just admit that they can't do what most western governments are doing and just believe inna taking more tax and loan on the Jamaican people.
I have never seen you comment on the loans that Jamaica is currently borrowing and if I am right I think you are one of the supporter of Omar Davis and his policies which is nothing but bancrupt.
With all the things the JLP has promised to immediately fix...you need extra multi-'deca'-billions of dollars!
It is either the JLP is lying or tax have to be increased significantly! Matters not how efficient the tax dollars are spent.
It matters not who wins the coming elections...if all the ills of the society are to be fix in the short-term taxes will have to be increased by mindboggling huge %age!
Let no one tell us nonsense with the tasks on one hand begging to be attempted and the under-employed and the unemployed on the other hand dying to be put to work and adequately compensated - multi-'deca' billions of dollars would have to be borrowed and raised via taxes...it is either that or attempting a slower pace at "fixes" than the JLP claims it shall make happen and that which many in the society hunger for.Last edited by Karl; July 26, 2007, 11:22 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
so how does every other countries in the region can afford to do it whether them a communist or capitalists?
could it be a matter of priority? Same thing with healthcare. Taxes don't have to be raised to achieve everything, that is what them tell you Karl. IF we get rid of 10% of our debt we could do a lot more without raising taxes. Look at Ireland and you will see. Doing the same thing as Omar is doing will not work and only results in more debt and taxes just the same.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postso how does every other countries in the region can afford to do it whether them a communist or capitalists?
could it be a matter of priority? Same thing with healthcare. Taxes don't have to be raised to achieve everything, that is what them tell you Karl. IF we get rid of 10% of our debt we could do a lot more without raising taxes. Look at Ireland and you will see. Doing the same thing as Omar is doing will not work and only results in more debt and taxes just the same.
Do you believe what we are dealing with here is a LACK of understanding of basic principles ? This is not Rocket Science.
What the PNP has done is the BEST that can be done. Our current debt situation is the BEST scenario for the country and the important social services are operating and being funded to the absolute PEAK capacity of the country... forget about the criminal waste and corruption in the system.. forget about the bad policy being pursued.. those are all neccessary to preserve power and so cannot be factored into the equation.
This is religion... you have been warned.
Assassin, it is painfully obvious that critical thinking is not tyour forte, leave it alone and mind you hurt some thing....like pulling a muscle in your brain.
Do you have any idea how many kids go to school through bursaries and scholarships? More than you can count on your fingers and toes..which I suspect might be a stretch for you to even think about.
Capleton's gesture is a fine one but trust me it is not unique....it is just one of many forms.
In case you missed it in the Sunday Observer...25 children of employees at hedonism II hotel were give scholarship to High schools and tertiary institutions recently by some repeat guests...again just one of several forms these things takeSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.