• Opposition will put an end to corruption

Opposition will put an end tocorruption
    published: Thursday | July 26, 2007

Howard Campbell, Gleaner Writer

THE JAMAICA Labour Party plans to launch a full-scale assault against corruption, should it form the next government. The party's general secretary, Karl Samuda, says a zero-tolerance approach against public sector delinquency will be part of its constitutional reform thrust.

"If we do not have checks and balances in the process that prohibits the executive (the Cabinet) from acting as a dictatorship, no amount of effort will override the termination of a corrupt administration," Mr. Samuda told a Gleaner Editors' Forum yesterday at the newspaper's North Street office.

Mr. Samuda said the JLP is committed to legislation that separates Cabinet from making high-profile public sector appointments. The public, he stressed, must be included in a transparent selection process.

"You can't be chairman of UDC (Urban Development Corporation) under a JLP government unless you are brought before the Parliament and the people view you as qualified to hold that job," Mr. Samuda explained. "It can't be a 'fren' thing!"

Vin Lawrence
    Mr. Samuda was referring to former UDC head and People's National Party treasurer, Dr. Vin Lawrence, who was appointed to that position based on a Cabinet recommendation. The UDC, with Dr. Lawrence at the helm, was implicated in over US$40 million in cost overruns at the Sandals Whitehouse hotel project in Westmoreland.
    No one was convicted following an investigation by Parliament's Public Accounts Committee.

JLP leader, Bruce Golding, has posted constitutional reform at the forefront of his message since he co-founded the National Democratic Movement in 1996.

In late 2002 when Mr. Golding returned to the JLP, he and the party's leadership brokered an agreement endorsing constitutional reform.

Mr. Samuda said the JLP is committed to legislation that ensures a restructuring of the current Westminster model. These include a fixed election date and term limits for prime ministers.
    howard.campbell@gleanerjm.com

JLP in full joke mode!

You don't agree with the concept of reducing the power of the cabinet in the manner indicated ?

The JLP has a long way to go to convince anyone that they are serious about anything. Whatever happened to that agreement signed by members of parliament that they would not associate with gangsters? (Yes, Maudib, feel free to correct the actual name of the agreement.) When Babsy was caught with her pants at her ankles the JLP did not do a solitary thing. Why should we now believe this latest "zero-tolerance"?

I wonder if Jamaicans understand the meaning of "tolerance", or is it the "zero" that is giving us trouble? Is like how we love talk bout satisfaction guaranteed. Try bring back anyting to a store and see wha happen to yuh!

That would not be a reason for me to vote JLP. They are not serious.

Election talk, probably worse that f..k talk!

The JLP has a long way to go to convince anyone that they are serious about anything. Whatever happened to that agreement signed by members of parliament that they would not associate with gangsters? (Yes, Maudib, feel free to correct the actual name of the agreement.) When Babsy was caught with her pants at her ankles the JLP did not do a solitary thing. Why should we now believe this latest "zero-tolerance"?

I wonder if Jamaicans understand the meaning of "tolerance", or is it the "zero" that is giving us trouble? Is like how we love talk bout satisfaction guaranteed. Try bring back anyting to a store and see wha happen to yuh!

That would not be a reason for me to vote JLP. They are not serious.
            "The JLP has a long way to go to convince anyone that they are serious about anything"

That is a highly subjective statement.

As a man seh.. people will see what they WANT to see.. so the analysis is what is it that drives your vision..

Further, I think the question is who is more serious.. The PNP or the JLP.. I mean that will be the only basis upon which to make a decision.

Of course those who repeat the same thing over and over again and expect a different result are probably exempt (insanity is funny that way)

What people should be focused on is how to hold the JLP to their indicated policies and what would cause them to deviate from such. What has been their historical record when it comes to serious policy and implementation of such ?

That is for those not in the insane category.

I'm confused, then why the
              pardon for unlicensed taxi operators? Ah well, but if tings ah gi way free mi might juss come a yadd fi collek then again they said promise is a comfort to a ???

I'm confused, then why the
                pardon for unlicensed taxi operators? Ah well, but if tings ah gi way free mi might juss come a yadd fi collek then again they said promise is a comfort to a ???
                You have to have a basic understanding of what an amnesty is and why it is has been used before.

That's what I am talking about! What has been their record in following thru with their pledges and promises? It sucks thus far!

Do you disagree with any pledge or policy of the JLP? Think hard...anything at all?

That's what I am talking about! What has been their record in following thru with their pledges and promises? It sucks thus far!
                      Huh.. you do realize the PNP has been in office for 26 of the 35 years since 1972... 18 straight years in their second stint..

What on earth could you be refering tuh when you say they suck in their promises ? The recovery during the 80's from the madness and havoc wreaked on the country by the PNP in the 70's ???

Is eiddah me mad or unnuh mad because what is crystal clear to me is apparantly a mosaic to unnuh.. and mi is a democrat before me come yah..

But as noted before.. people see what they WANT to see.. check yuhself...

Huh??

Whenlast have the had a chance to prove or disprove this?

Not a fair statement at all. Now, I dont say you cant disbelieve, but that would just be a hunch.

Do you have to be the gov. to prove this? They proved it while being in opposition.

No reason to think that my saying so means that the PNP proved it was any better!

guess not.

Do you have to be the gov. to prove this? They proved it while being in opposition.

No reason to think that my saying so means that the PNP proved it was any better!

LOL !! WHOOEEEEEE !!!! CLASSIC !!

Maybe the JLP is only good when they are the GOVT.

I submit that they should always remains so.. in the interest of the country.

I believe the PNP will be an EXCELLENT opposition and should so remain.

LOL !!! Tings getting funnier as election approaches.. unnuh cyaan help unnuh selves..

HAAAAHHAA !