Thanks Don always breaking it down so we can all understand,well most of us.
Graham: Sports dumbing down student
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Hmmm, no mention of JC's investment in sports, or are you saying JC has not participated in the out-of-control transfer practice?
There is no data supporting anything because no one wants to do a serious investigation about anything. I wonder what we're afraid of.
My concern is less about school performance and more about the welfare and prospects of the many individuals who have been trafficked among our schools all in the name of trophies and bragging rights.
What would these in some cases ( struggling) educationally semi literate kids be doing if they weren't being bought or trafficked as you say ?
1)Is the problem ( trafficking) or the lack of investing in their education,because if trafficking would mean better education is their a problem with it ,?
2)Given the lack of opportunities or our haphaazrd educational system as it stands ,is it a problem now,if trafficking gives them an atheltic opportunity to get out of the ghetto ?THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostHmmm, no mention of JC's investment in sports, or are you saying JC has not participated in the out-of-control transfer practice?
There is no data supporting anything because no one wants to do a serious investigation about anything. I wonder what we're afraid of.
My concern is less about school performance and more about the welfare and prospects of the many individuals who have been trafficked among our schools all in the name of trophies and bragging rights.
If there's no evidence of a negative impact on academic outcomes of the students involved...speculation on the matter is idle talk. Similarly speculation on the welfare of said students is useless without good research. Anecdotes people offer aren't necessarily representative of the universe. For every negative outcome people cite...others can cite many positives. I know many.... for example...whose careers and life chances have benefited from our alum network over the years.
Would these student athletes be better off staying wherever they originated? Or are their life chances...however limited...improved by moving elsewhere? Are the outcomes the same regardless of the school they move to....or do some schools have a better record of improving the life chances student athletes than others? Are they forced to move somewhere which is to their detriment?
They're manifold questions that arise from this issue
The issue defies the simplistic suppositions, speculations and generalisations I see... I.e. Yappin without evidence-based information
My preference is to engage with valid data. Someone needs to gather the data...periodTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
.....Ahhh sah ,yuh a lick shot.Boss yuh a hear mi,mi nuh see a ting wrang wid buying,be it for education or an opourtunity fi buss like bolt.Given our decadent educational shitstem.
Kissteeth.Last edited by Sir X; May 7, 2017, 04:12 PM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Some people act like been a school stop you from been a sporting entity as well. ISSA and their lack of rules or willingness to follow their rules is one of the major problem with high school sports.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Don1 View PostRecruiting student athletes is commonplace. JC has ALWAYS invested in sports to build character, vibes in school...and help engage alumni. That's nothing new and not gonna change. I don't know that JC is "out of control" in investing in sports or recruiting talent..That's subjective anyway.
If there's no evidence of a negative impact on academic outcomes of the students involved...speculation on the matter is idle talk. Similarly speculation on the welfare of said students is useless without good research. Anecdotes people offer aren't necessarily representative of the universe. For every negative outcome people cite...others can cite many positives. I know many.... for example...whose careers and life chances have benefited from our alum network over the years.
Would these student athletes be better off staying wherever they originated? Or are their life chances...however limited...improved by moving elsewhere? Are the outcomes the same regardless of the school they move to....or do some schools have a better record of improving the life chances student athletes than others? Are they forced to move somewhere which is to their detriment?
They're manifold questions that arise from this issue
The issue defies the simplistic suppositions, speculations and generalisations I see... I.e. Yappin without evidence-based information
My preference is to engage with valid data. Someone needs to gather the data...period
Good, now volunteer a solution since you have the speculative info,tiyad a di labba mouth.
Yuh know mine already,legalise it !THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
The problem is even when evidence staring us in our face ISSA will take no action.
The fact is why it seems like the big schools are never punished and the rule change to fit certain schools.
You want tell me we have "Suss" on these problem for years and ISSA, Principal Association and others interesting do not commission a study or do some really investigation?
I think just like Jamaican politics it is a way of keeping the debate open while there is no accountability so some people can take advantage. There are some things we know are real but how widespread is it? What is stand if 10 more Africans show up a airport next year?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Suh gwaan beat up yuh gumTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
What action should ISSA take and if you say its on the books as per sanction,please share it with the clueless amongst us.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
For one they need to get in front of the international recruiting issue before it gets widespread and if nothing is done it probably will. They don't necessarily have to ban it outright but surely there must be some limitations on how far it can go. Clearly specify who qualifies as a "local" athlete be it residence, citizenship of parents or whatever and for athletes that don't fall under those guidelines put a limit on how many a team can register to compete in Champs.
This is not a complicated thing to do, the question as Assasin says is do the people who control these organizations really want to do it"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostThat's what I have been preaching for ever! We need the evidence, because, in my opinion, the transfer practice is dumbing down our schools, particularly our student-athletes.
Seems to me the onus is on the folks insisting that there's a problem to execute on this
I wonder why this approach is not taken by the complainants like that Yapper Muggy? Maybe they want the accused to prove their innocence rather than they establish guilt?
Or do they find it enjoyable to engage in bellyaching...ad infinitum?? This is a VERY easy approach... ZERO work is required. Lazy, worthless YappinLast edited by Don1; May 8, 2017, 12:18 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Thank you I-man. The first thing is, a few athlete are sanctioned but not the schools. I bet if the schools are given two years for some of these breaches, it will never happen again. Look at the NCAA, they give schools a chance to punish themselves for violations before NCAA come and investigate.
It is impossible to believe that none of the big schools are not breaking the rules. Problem is ISSA is run by people connected to these schools. You need independent investigators who don't have the old boys mentality at heart.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.