Europe no longer needs J'can acts

• Europe no longer needs J'can acts

Veteran dancehall and soca artiste Admiral Bailey has lashed out against fellow Jamaican artistes for destroying the relations with Europe promoters due to greed and unprofessionalism.

According to the deejay, Europe has found a way to host their festivals without relying on Jamaican stars to secure success.

http://jamaica-star.com/article/ente...admiral-bailey
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"Some artistes feel like to get your song played at weekly parties is the sign of success, but if you look at the most successful dancehall artistes, they don't spend every night in the dancehall events playing the songs to the same people. It's cool to get your music out to the locals, but what you really need is the foreign ears and the foreign money," he said.

Gatezs said he has drawn his route to success from the likes of Sean Paul and Shaggy.

"How much time yu see dem man deh a circle the same set of people? They focus on the bigger picture and that is why I am pushing Fire in the foreign market, because a growth mi a pree for both my music and dancehall on a whole, "he said.
    http://jamaica-star.com/article/ente...ca-byll-gatezs
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Olaf Blackwood

The singer, who up to a few months ago was virtually unknown, said he's grateful for the song's success.

"Shaggy introduced me to Fernando Garibay, that's how the initial link was made. I kept on sending him my songs for a while until he invited me to his studio. I ended up writing several songs with him and Armin van Buuren. After recording some of the songs we wrote they decided to release I Need You, and as they say, the rest is history," Blackwood said.

http://jamaica-star.com/article/ente...d-dance-charts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNDQsJlvCYI

SINGJAY Richie Loop has moved into electronic dance music (EDM). His latest joint is Pull Up featuring 2WinBeam.In an interview with Jamaica Observer, he explained his decision to venture outside of dancehall and reggae.

“I've been doing EDM almost three years now. At the time I found EDM to be an interesting mix of dancehall and soca vibe. As persons know, I am a soca lover, so it wasn't a hard thing to do,” Richie Loop told the Observer.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...5?profile=1116

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wASwB8gV8XU

LOCAL record producer Rvssian is enjoying his latest conquest.Earlier this week, he inked a publishing deal with the Universal Music Publishing Group which will see the United States-based entertainment powerhouse working closely with him as he seeks to take his brand global.

“They have been watching my music for some time and were always interested. So they recently reached out to my attorney and began the discussions. They really believe in me and so I definitely see this is a big push for my career. You really can't get any bigger than Universal. It is now up to me to take full advantage of this door opening and see it as a stepping stone to take my music to another level,” he told Jamaica Observer yesterday.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...2?profile=1116

Shaggy have a thing him say, your songs must be written in a way that they can get visa and go foreign.

Sean Paul been talking bout the EDM thing for a while and saying the BPM of your songs have to be compatible with that if you want to cross over in those markets.

Some artistes are just entertainers, others are in the entertainment business.

Many things of issue here. I have often talk about the demand of these artist. I remember one charging a NY promoter 25,000 for a show and wanted 25 air ticket for his crew. So that was how they rolled in the late 90s, and early 2000.

Another thing is there are some decent songs coming out of Jamaica but there are no hit songs currently. The last real hit song was about a year and a half ago. You always need some hit song.

The groups like Jolly Boys, Mystic Revelation of Rastafari, Wailing Souls, Kiddus I, Burning Spear and others nuh stop tour and play some of these festivals because it is more about the music and not the hype.

The drug dealers are not as big in the music as they use to be so some musicians can't demand what they use to demand as less money laundering is in the business.

First and foremost we have to go back to making hit songs and supporting hit songs. When you have hit songs you are in demand.

Well, when dem have group like dis a play, whe people expeck?
                https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a0MYPNFisuY

Many things of issue here. I have often talk about the demand of these artist. I remember one charging a NY promoter 25,000 for a show and wanted 25 air ticket for his crew. So that was how they rolled in the late 90s, and early 2000.

Another thing is there are some decent songs coming out of Jamaica but there are no hit songs currently. The last real hit song was about a year and a half ago. You always need some hit song.

The groups like Jolly Boys, Mystic Revelation of Rastafari, Wailing Souls, Kiddus I, Burning Spear and others nuh stop tour and play some of these festivals because it is more about the music and not the hype.

The drug dealers are not as big in the music as they use to be so some musicians can't demand what they use to demand as less money laundering is in the business.

First and foremost we have to go back to making hit songs and supporting hit songs. When you have hit songs you are in demand.
                  You are 100% correct Sass.