serious flooding. Good news is no one seemed to have been killed during this flooding. Saw a few videos ....damn.
So parts of the island experience some
Was it you who said a few years ago that we go from drought crisis to flood crisis. No rain and then when rain comes is too much rain for our infrastructure to handle. Ah bwoy."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
The irony is that this extreme pattern has always existed in Jamaica.
A long standing solution is to construct a reservoir(s) to hold some of this excess water...for use during the drought season. I am thinking about Manchester and St. Elizabeth, using Spur Tree as catchment......................
Also, I do not know how much engineering thought goes secondary road construction. There is always severe road damage due to heavy rains.
It's kinda hard to just accept that heavy rains will always have detrimental effects on the landscape.
Oh, maybe--'Jamaica, land of wood and water' is not an accurate quote.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
Many of the people in Flood prone Portland, and St. Mary are so used to it, flooding don't seem like a crisis. They move out, put their mattress in the sun and within 2 days are back home. Sad that so many people build their house in these flood zone and go through it year after year.
Yes we need to develop catchment areas to get the rain so we don't have these crisis.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Islandman View PostWas it you who said a few years ago that we go from drought crisis to flood crisis. No rain and then when rain comes is too much rain for our infrastructure to handle. Ah bwoy.Originally posted by Jangle View PostTDowl I am with you. From me was a likkle bwoy a run up and down inna me tear-up-ba!ty pants with nose naught a run down me nose, Jamaica has had drought followed by flooding rains......every year. It boggles my mind that after 52 years of independence, our governments have not fixed this simple problem. Our name itself, Jamaica, means Land of Wood and Water. For years they have debated damming the Bog Walk Gorge. How difficult of a task is that? Why can't they simply just dam the gorge and build a bridge that runs over the gorge, which is less than a mile wide? The Mona Dam, the last time I was living in Jamaica, was always about 50% - 60% full.....and of that percentage, about 30% was made up of silt residue!!!! Take the dam out of commission and clean the silt!!!Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015