Gwaan Bartlett

• Gwaan Bartlett

Just got back from visiting JamDown and Ochi. I'm impressed by the redevelopment of Dunns River Falls. Really nice.

US$14 Million to Upgrade Port Facilities in Ocho Rios

In anticipation of larger cruise vessels coming to Jamaica, US$14 million has been allocated to improve port facilities in Ocho Rios, says Minister of Tourism, Hon. Edmund Bartlett.

Mr. Bartlett told JIS News that two mega liners, one from Carnival and the other from Norwegian Cruise Line, are slated to call on Jamaica in November of this year and the facilities must be ready in time for them to be accommodated.

“The money of course will be coming from both the Port Authority of Jamaica (PAJ) and the Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF),” the Minister pointed out.

Meanwhile, the Minister said there will be a renewed focus on developing marquee attractions, which would propel Jamaica to the top of the destination chain and giving it top flight status.

http://jis.gov.jm/us14-million-upgra...ies-ocho-rios/
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Just got back from visiting JamDown and Ochi. I'm impressed by the redevelopment of Dunns River Falls. Really nice.

US$14 Million to Upgrade Port Facilities in Ocho Rios

In anticipation of larger cruise vessels coming to Jamaica, US$14 million has been allocated to improve port facilities in Ocho Rios, says Minister of Tourism, Hon. Edmund Bartlett.

Mr. Bartlett told JIS News that two mega liners, one from Carnival and the other from Norwegian Cruise Line, are slated to call on Jamaica in November of this year and the facilities must be ready in time for them to be accommodated.

“The money of course will be coming from both the Port Authority of Jamaica (PAJ) and the Tourism Enhancement Fund (TEF),” the Minister pointed out.

Meanwhile, the Minister said there will be a renewed focus on developing marquee attractions, which would propel Jamaica to the top of the destination chain and giving it top flight status.

http://jis.gov.jm/us14-million-upgra...ies-ocho-rios/
    Gwaan Bartlett fi real!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fat Tourists tuh di Whirl!!!!!!!!!!!!

As long as they take a left turn when leaving the port in Falmouth...then all will be well.

Some steps have been taken to 'clean up' Falmouth-- but from what I have seen, that town is not tourist ready.

As for Ochi, just more attention to detail; like power washing the side walks from built-up dirt and grime; paint job touch-up on some public & private places.

Still, I have to give credit to the Tourism Ministry for their work in progress.
      Last edited by HL; April 19, 2017, 05:34 PM.

They just clean up all the gullies etc from Ochi to Browns Town. Hope they keep it clean.

Yeah Jangle I read about the improvement to Dunns River, and it is well needed.

HL Falmouth is on the card.
        http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/weste...-upgrade_68195

Hopefully it will be done. Also the upgrade of Ian Flemming Airport.

Things a gwaan. Later this year we have the largest tourism show taking place in Mobay.

Browns Town.....was a dump when I saw it in December of last year.

Very nasty. Let me not even mention the market area. Sad.

Much improvement needed bigly.

http://jamaica-star.com/article/news...st-ann-cleaned

This was a start. Hopefully they will do more.

The steep price of development. So I drove from Kingston to Ochi via Mount Rosser (sp) as we were in a old piece of jalopy and word is you need a good vehicle to navigate the new road. Lo and behold the piece of junk shut off just as we got to the top of the hill. Luckily we were able to coast downhill stopping just short of Faith's Pen. Faith's Pen was a ghost town at 1 o' clock on a Sunday afternoon. It broke my heart to see the famous Faith's Pen with not a single car and a few vendors and many empty stalls. This is a result of the new highway which bypasses the area. The same can be said of Fern Gully. We stayed at the all-inclusive resort , RIU at Mamee Bay. One day we left the resort to go to the public UDC beach in Ochi proper. Again I was dismayed to see just how empty the beach was and devoid of any activities. I remember back in the days I had to settle for a roach-infested hotel room because that was the only thing available in the town during the Easter weekend. There was significantly less pedestrian traffic in the town than a few years ago when I was there. The resort was full to capacity, Dolphin Cove was full and Dunns River was full. There were ships in port. I understand that the cruise lines and the AI's transport their visitors directly to and from the attractions and discourage their visitors from going out because of the harassment.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

yes my biggest disappoint with the new highway is Faith's Pen and Fern Gully. Government shouldn't disregard the people that way. They should have build in a rest stop with some cheap stalls and let the people continue to make a decent living while taxing them a little. The AI have a lot of tours and tour operators who sell tours. Last year Runaway Beach looked Lively.

Hopefully the fear of going out will change as it is just a perception. Also you have a lot more hotels in Runaway Bay and Mammee Bay so that might reduce some of the walk foot tourist in Ochi. Some people want to do tour but some just want to be near the beach and a pool. Nowadays Jamaicans are even supporting the AI as I see government having retreat, and government services using it while Kingstonians will come down for a weekend. A lot of ships are now coming to Jamaica and Dunn's River and Dolphin cove are prime entertainment.

Faiths Pen in its current state was dying anyway. Something went wrong years ago and the experience had steadily deteriorated even before the highway. They have been living off history for a while. With the drive times being so much shorter now there has to be something more appealing to encourage people to stop when the facilities in Runaway Bay and Ochi are much better and the price being charged is not that different. A new rest stop would definitely be an opportunity for improving the product.

The foliage in Fern Gully was suffering from environmental pollution due at least part to the traffic but it is also a special type of attraction. Hopefully ways can be found to protect it and at the same time make it a bigger revenue earner.
                  Last edited by Islandman; April 20, 2017, 09:31 AM.

Jamaica is a strange fruit,so much to offer,so much going on,so much not going on.I went in january ,construction seems to be doing well,its a free for all builders build anywhere ,no zoning restrictions.I heard story of developers buiding gated communities in red hills ,damaging and encroaching on private property and people saying to sue is ridiculous because the court cost alone will kill you , i saw abandonded houses in norbrook, cherry gardens and red hills(strange) ,Air B & B are the new start ups, houses apartmnents,townhouses are all over the place,the one i rented in new kingston was exquistie- 2 bedroom to 2 baths, upstairs and downstairs,free wifi/cable with stove and washer for $ 80 a nite,i hear that trenchtown and rae town are the place for the japanese/music/reggae lovers.I saw caucasians walking the streets looking mad.

I love the high way, I hate how hellshire has fallen into the sea,my brother and cousin remarked how much money JA looses in quality of life initiatives,cars parked anywhere,broken side walks,buildings needed painting for decades,obvious structural faults that a NY building department would drool over.

I looked hard to see the engine that drives the economy,and the only thing that stood out was the ports and the chinese building, buildings ! the air b&b caught my eye,there must be a market for kingston for it , by extension the rest of the island .Tourism not marketed properly in my mind,these idiots seem hell bent on promoting carnival as the musical force to bring in tourist (uptown) ,cc my Japanese comments above ? Harbor View at night has a food fair ,where food is sold at the round about .

Kingston has it all to die for ,music ,food and culture.Strange fruit that no one knows how the sell or consume properly.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica is a strange fruit,so much to offer,so much going on,so much not going on.I went in january ,construction seems to be doing well,its a free for all builders build anywhere ,no zoning restrictions.I heard story of developers buiding gated communities in red hills ,damaging and encroaching on private property and people saying to sue is ridiculous because the court cost alone will kill you , i saw abandonded houses in norbrook, cherry gardens and red hills(strange) ,Air B & B are the new start ups, houses apartmnents,townhouses are all over the place,the one i rented in new kingston was exquistie- 2 bedroom to 2 baths, upstairs and downstairs,free wifi/cable with stove and washer for $ 80 a nite,i hear that trenchtown and rae town are the place for the japanese/music/reggae lovers.I saw caucasians walking the streets looking mad.

I love the high way, I hate how hellshire has fallen into the sea,my brother and cousin remarked how much money JA looses in quality of life initiatives,cars parked anywhere,broken side walks,buildings needed painting for decades,obvious structural faults that a NY building department would drool over.

I looked hard to see the engine that drives the economy,and the only thing that stood out was the ports and the chinese building, buildings ! the air b&b caught my eye,there must be a market for kingston for it , by extension the rest of the island .Tourism not marketed properly in my mind,these idiots seem hell bent on promoting carnival as the musical force to bring in tourist (uptown) ,cc my Japanese comments above ? Harbor View at night has a food fair ,where food is sold at the round about .

Kingston has it all to die for ,music ,food and culture.Strange fruit that no one knows how the sell or consume properly.
                      GWAAAN BARTLETT!!!

Sir X, this is the best commentary you have posted for years!

Even with the Typo ?

....Strange fruit that no one knows how the sell or consume properly....

It should be (to).....unnuh yuh a slip up.I should add the place I rented was in a gated community.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

It was about content.......