Nuff trophies won on the bakklefield..but no Championship

• Nuff trophies won on the bakklefield..but no Championship

Jamaican yutes enabled to overcome all obstacles, barriers, doubts, fears & tears.

To paraphrase Prophet Bob: No matter rages & stages Babylon puts us through...we'll always say BLUE ... @WorkIsBurnin'... @WarInnaBabylon

JC bags four awards at robotics championship in New York

BY: LOOP NEWS
    18:26, February 28, 2017

Jamaica College ended their run at the First Robotics Championship in New York, walking away with four trophies, including the Regional Championship Connect Award.

“Things don't always work out in our favour but we have the opportunity to push on,” the Jamaica College Robotics Club shared on Facebook, noting that they weren’t able to secure a place in the super finals of the competition.

The group however thanked its sponsors and supporters.

FIRST Robotics Competition * is an international high school robotics competition.

Under strict rules, limited resources, and an intense six-week time limit, teams of students are challenged to raise funds, design a team "brand," hone teamwork skills, and build and program industrial-size robots to play a difficult field game against like-minded competitors.

Robots complete tasks such as scoring balls into goals, flying discs into goals, inner tubes onto racks, hanging on bars, and balancing robots on balance beams.

* WRONG FIRST Tech Challenge
    Last edited by Don1; March 1, 2017, 09:49 AM.

Homers!

well done.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Outstanding performance nonetheless, both by the team and the support group. This time I had something of a backstage view of the hoops and obstacles that have to be overcome to make this happen...its not an easy road as Buju said.

Still robots get build and the youths got invaluable exposure and confidence from the experience. I noted with interest Gavin's reaction to the STEM labs at the school where they scrimmaged. That must have given him a lot of ideas.

I have a presentation on this project to one of my alumni groups this weekend, will give you an update sometime next week.

Outstanding performance nonetheless, both by the team and the support group. This time I had something of a backstage view of the hoops and obstacles that have to be overcome to make this happen...its not an easy road as Buju said.

Still robots get build and the youths got invaluable exposure and confidence from the experience. I noted with interest Gavin's reaction to the STEM labs at the school where they scrimmaged. That must have given him a lot of ideas.

I have a presentation on this project to one of my alumni groups this weekend, will give you an update sometime next week.
          Give tanks bredrin...Glad you came along for the ride...virtually

Looking forward to that update...
          Last edited by Don1; March 1, 2017, 11:25 AM.

Yes I was amused by Gavin's astonishment at the state of the art robotics labs at Dalton School first....but he was totally bowled over by Horace Mann High School's facilities for robotics. He probably doesn't know the privileged background of those schools

I accumulated the 11 days competition & travel/event media I have on this PAGE

Now that I'm actively re-engaged on this project I'll see that the glaring logistical/management faults are addressed. The issues were a real eye-opener for me since I withdrew in 2013. Keystone Kops ting
            Last edited by Don1; March 1, 2017, 11:20 AM.

Excellence!

Excellence!
                Excellent effort...YES

But di yute dem VEX...Wanted more and left feeling VERY disappointed

Last year's team went 2 levels above them all the way to the World Champs..Dats di benchmark now

Homers!
                  Easy Skankin' Rocky..

We're working with a favored school of yours. If they stay the course and fulfill requirements...All Fruits Ripe fi Globals...den more importantly...Nationals. Said ting fi unnu neighbor across di street..

However unnu appear to be a very cautious bunch....suh who knows??

Stand by and fret not over any lack of ovastandin' yuh might experience yahnow. More time D1 speaketh in parables understandable ongly by the initiated.

Things will become crystal clear soon...and very soon

Memba mi tole yuh seh... TOOT!! TOOT!!!
                  Last edited by Don1; March 1, 2017, 09:21 PM.

well done.
                    Seeit deh Jangle..

However I'm afraid Cbar will be missing the boat to DC this July.
                    This is not for lack of effort on my part. Unnu agguh ave ongly unnuself fi blame. The JA team to Globals will wait on no guy, girl or skool

Unnu still agguh ave a chance fi di JA Nationals inna February coming... IF unnu get sensible...an' get wid di FIRST Tech Challenge program mi advise unnu fi penetrate

However if unnu continue fi form di fool an' get leff... eventually unnu muss run come fi get assimilated cause wi nuh run dung peeple....
                    Memba mi tole yuh dat. Yuh cyan archive dis

Also Memba Mi Tole unnu seh...Resistance Is Futile... TOOT!!! TOOT!!!

DonBorg