Don1

• Don1

What type of Robotics are you involved in? My school has started doing FLL... what do they do at JC? I suspect it's the next level up, if that's how it's considered. I'm new to this. Most of our students who are doing the FLL are in the 10-14 age group.

FIRST TECH CHALLENGE http://www.firstinspires.org/robotics/ftc

So your team travels to the States for competition?

We plan to introduce FIRST Lego League programs (FLL) in a bunch of primary schools...when we're much more able

Have to solve the secondary school "problem" first via islandwide adoption of FIRST Tech Challenge (FTC) and a Jamaica national robotics Champs...so folks don't have the huge intl travel expense issue

Thankfully that solution is definitely now in train... TOOT! TOOT!

Stand by...We're actively working the problem 24X7X365 with an organized international coalition of 1000% committed community warriors...Many from the Fervet neighborhood

ALL (progressive) SCHOOLS WILL BE ASSIMILATED (If Jah Guide)

Don Borg
      Last edited by Don1; February 11, 2017, 09:59 AM.

This is the first full year that we implemented it. I am not directly involved TBH, but I have an interest in it (stemming from your posts initially ). Our team entered a competition locally (about two months ago), sponsored by the National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST) (in T&T ) with twenty teams participating, and came second overall and first among the schools in the competition. They are moving to the next level of the competition so in that respect they are off to a good start. The teacher in charge was asking me about what is happening in JA, as I think they want to do some traveling in the region, for FLL, which is what our cohort are currently involved in. To this point the only traveling they've done is to Port of Spain! LOL

Again, as I have no direct involvement with the kids and the club, I'm unsure of what their goals are for the mid-term.

I'll keep you posted.
        https://www.facebook.com/mapleleafsc...5195657942014/

This is the first full year that we implemented it. I am not directly involved TBH, but I have an interest in it (stemming from your posts initially ). Our team entered a competition locally (about two months ago), sponsored by the National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST) (in T&T ) with twenty teams participating, and came second overall and first among the schools in the competition. They are moving to the next level of the competition so in that respect they are off to a good start. The teacher in charge was asking me about what is happening in JA, as I think they want to do some traveling in the region, for FLL, which is what our cohort are currently involved in. To this point the only traveling they've done is to Port of Spain! LOL

Again, as I have no direct involvement with the kids and the club, I'm unsure of what their goals are for the mid-term.

I'll keep you posted.
          https://www.facebook.com/mapleleafsc...5195657942014/
          This is excellent info. So TT now has a national robotics competition at the junior level. In that...they're ahead of JA juniors. We're only now planning a future junior program with a national champs based on FLL solutions.

However there are JA schools with FLL programs and many workshops at that level conducted by Halls of Learning. Marvin's team travels to US competition

At the secondary level where we're currently concentrating.... we do FTC level and hopefully soon we'll have a JA Champs recognized by FIRST. If I have my way...that will be converted in time into a Caribbean Robotics Champs

When that's done.... assimilation will be on steroids....Memba mi tole yuh
          Last edited by Don1; February 11, 2017, 11:33 AM.