• Development vs growth...

Growth versus development
    Dennis Chung
    Friday, July 20, 2007

Two sayings that apply to Jamaica are 'If you don't know where you are going then any road will take you there' and 'If you do the same thing every day then you will always get the same results'.

Quite frankly, if you do not have an objective in mind and just keep going with the wind, then you don't have to know which road to take, and if you are happy with the results you are getting then there is no need to change your actions.

If, however, as in Jamaica's case, you want to get to developed country status in 25 to 30 years, then it is necessary that you 'change course'. No pun intended.

Another question the young people are asking though is who is going to change the course, as illustrated by their dissatisfaction with both political parties not focusing on issues, but carrying on the same politics we developed in the dark ages of the 1938 riots.

Same cry

Is it any wonder then that if we continue to practise the same politics that we have always done, we will get nothing more than the same political campaigns and promises that are never usually fulfilled? But as I said to someone recently 'a promise is a comfort to a fool', and no doubt we have been repeat fools for believing the same promises every five or so years. But such is the literacy level of Jamaicans that we continue to be impressed by whoever speaks or looks good and then bawl out about hard times for the ensuing five years until 'feel good' time comes around again, and like fish to bait we are sucked in once again.

The so-called intelligentsia amongst us are not excepted, as their strategies for Jamaica's success flutter like a weathervane with the direction of the wind. One day they profess that Strategy A will work and when it does not, 'no problem', we just shift to Strategy B. In the meantime, of course, Jamaicans have gone deeper into debt and the masses continue to be content with the illiteracy into which they have been from the days of slavery until now.

This sort of behaviour is to be expected from those who have not had the benefit of a proper education, but when I hear people continually professing economic growth as the messiah for the Jamaican economy, year after year, I wonder if we have really grasped the problem Jamaica faces. And even though economic growth should not be difficult to achieve, it continues to elude us.

My point though is that growth is not necessarily the same thing as development, which is what Jamaica needs. It logically follows, by definition, that if we are to achieve developed country status then what is needed is development. Economic development is not the same as economic growth, and it seems to me that one of the issues we have is that we have always been satisfied with growth, when growth can be destructive to the economy. Although, if targeted properly, it can lead to development.

I say this because GDP growth focuses not on development, but rather just measuring the value of the domestically produced services and goods in an economy and comparing it against a previous period. So if last year the constant value of all goods and services produced was $100 and this year it is $102, then we have 2 per cent growth. On the face of it, this looks fine until we dig into the numbers. When we look at the January to March 2007 quarter we see that GDP grew by two per cent. Construction and installation grew by a whopping 7 per cent, Electricity and Water by 4.7 per cent, and Real Estate and Business Services by 2.4 per cent. This sounds great, as it must mean that economic activity is taking place and things must be good. The truth is that we have always seen good growth in these areas.

Growth paradox

Why then, if we are showing growth, irrespective of how minute most of the times, are we still seeing a declining dollar, galloping debt, large fiscal deficits, inflation concerns sometimes, shortages in hospital inventories, frequent industrial unrest, and people not being able to afford hospital or school fees? Not to mention the frequent power cuts that disrupt our productive base. Isn't it supposed to be consistent with the concept of growth that instead of the challenges increasing each year, people should be seeing their lives improve?

The fact is that growth is not necessarily consistent with development. The areas of significant growth pointed out above are all areas of consumption that have a high import content. When you look at the same quarter numbers, you will see the sectors that have the best potential for exports - Agriculture grew at four per cent, but all the others had dismal performances - Mining and Quarrying at 0.8 pe rcent; Manufacturing at 0.2%; and Miscellaneous Service (includes Tourism) at -0.1 per cent. It is for this reason that while we have been boasting of increased exports, we are still seeing an increasing trade deficit, which is at the heart of wealth creation. In other words, this is the measure of how much Jamaica earns versus how much it spends and is the measure that affects devaluation.

So it seems that increasing exports is bad for us. The problem, of course, is that the infrastructural support for development is not there. If we want growth, we can easily achieve it by importing more than we did the year before and by borrowing money to increase salaries to increase spending power. We will not have development, but will have phenomenal growth.

It is apparent then that the emphasis must be on the things that lead to development, because if we put that infrastructure in place then development will happen. It is obvious that one of the reasons for our economic situation is because our focus has been wrong. Even after the 2.5 per cent growth we had last year, we still have a justice system that seems to wait until enough time has passed for the complainant to die or forget about the case before it comes to trial. We still have citizens complaining about police brutality with regularity. We still have a government bureaucracy that is hostile to businesses. We still have high levels of indiscipline on the roads. We still have high crime levels, including in schools. We still have roads that simulate earthquakes when one is driving.

If we are to achieve developed country status in 25 to 30 years then it is not only important that we grow at six or seven per cent, but we must address the institutions necessary for a developed society. We need an independent and corruption-free police force. We need an efficient justice system, including proper accommodations. We need to make quality education and health available to our citizens. We need to ensure that citizens' rights are protected. We need to grow local businesses instead of constantly looking for overseas investors. This is what development is about, not just increasing the value of goods or services, especially when the import content is so high.

These are the issues that persons want to hear about on the campaign trail. These issues are the ones to be discussed in the context of globalisation that will eventually leave us behind if we do not properly discuss and act. But if the objective is not about development, but just to increase the value of goods and services produced, then we are on the right track.

email: dra_chung@hotmail.com
    To view this and other recent articles and post a comment go to http://dcjottings.blogspot.com

Interesting!
    What will Maudib and the clan have to say in response to this?

the author fail to mention if have growth it lead to developement and entrepreneurship. Under the PNP there is neither growth or developement so what is the point?

Interesting!
        Easy, that the PnP is creating neither growth nor development and has not been for 18 years.

Interesting!
          What will WE have to say ?

Di man is trashing even the likkle 2.5% growth yuh PNP manage and dem claiming..

LOL !!

The question is what do YOU have to say.. nuh 5 Terms yuh supporting dem ?

What will WE have to say ?

Di man is trashing even the likkle 2.5% growth yuh PNP manage and dem claiming..

LOL !!

The question is what do YOU have to say.. nuh 5 Terms yuh supporting dem ?
            There has been tremendous development! ...and, as far as individual families are concerned - many have experienced tremendous growth in their economic fortunes over the last 18 years.

Nuh worri unnuh-self the people shall with their votes make known their stance on the state of affairs in the country and who best they think should lead for the next 5 years!

There has been tremendous development! ...and, as far as individual families are concerned - many have experienced tremendous growth in their economic fortunes over the last 18 years.

Nuh worri unnuh-self the people shall with their votes make known their stance on the state of affairs in the country and who best they think should lead for the next 5 years!
              By no stretch of the imagination has there been tremendous development in the last 18 yrs. Also, it is also an untruth that there has been no development. On balance I think we are about even. Areas have regressed and other areas have advanced. On balance, I am not sure that we are now in a better position to accomodate positive growth and development, given the state of our physical, social and bureaucratic infrastructure.

Karl - I believe that 90% of that tremendous growth in individual families is attributed to REMITTANCES & BARRELL FLOW!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                  Karl - I believe that 90% of that tremendous growth in individual families is attributed to REMITTANCES & BARRELL FLOW!
                  Or those with heavy political connections. Lots of backbiting suckups have ridden party coattails to riches.

But hold on.. yuh nevah give di Government a POOR rating ?

Suh wheh yuh ah seh.. di people dem a progress inspite of the Government ?

Do you have any numbers to show this 'tremendous' growth in economic fortunes.. you used the word 'many'.. is who yuh a talk bout ? The ones affected by the MOU ? or some oddahs lining up at Western Union ?

Yuh mean the ones driving the Pradas dem and who have money in OLINT ?

What are these people engaged in that affords them this 'tremendous' growth in a stagnant economy ?

Is dem MANY yuh ah chat bout Karl ?

"There have been wide breaches of the government's procedure and guidelines for the procurement of goods and services. This undesirable state of affairs has been brought to the attention by contractor general Greg Christie in his 2006 annual report and otherwise. He has suggested the enactment of regulations to punish public servants and agencies which breach the regulations, but government has not done anything about the matter.

By circumventing the procedure and guidelines, it is easy for the government departments and agencies to award contracts, especially in the region between $250,000 and $3,999,999 to PNP supporters and cronies. The people in the agencies awarding contracts are usually PNP supporters.
                      The contractor general is bound by law and oath to perform certain functions faithfully"

Heh, heh.. gwaan support almshouse.. juss mek sure yuh no asleep inside when di dollyhouse come down..

By no stretch of the imagination has there been tremendous development in the last 18 yrs. Also, it is also an untruth that there has been no development. On balance I think we are about even. Areas have regressed and other areas have advanced. On balance, I am not sure that we are now in a better position to accomodate positive growth and development, given the state of our physical, social and bureaucratic infrastructure.
                        I would think even if you consider the development over the years small increments...we must be in a better position to move unto rapid growth. What happens next is, as it always has been, all about tapping resources (physical, financial and human) and the managing of resources.

The refrain about "we are poised for rapid growth" is a truism. The unfortunate thing is we have been locked in such a "poised" state for a mighty long time. Yes, it is all about "rate of progress".

Aside: That "poised for take-off into/unto rapid growth" runs throughout an entire gamut of areas - including our fledging football industry.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                          Must agree with the sentiment...but, 90%?

Or those with heavy political connections. Lots of backbiting suckups have ridden party coattails to riches.
                            Again must agree with the notion that many have gone down that path...but, like Madam X I think you over estimate the numbers.

I would argue that more tax-payer money is lost through petty stealing that the taking of multi-million dollar padding of contracts. Just imagine what a 2% lost on the entire budget would be?

...and, what of the loss through workers goof-off...underperforming?

In the case of value of money - one example - Hell, just look at our roads and think on how long any new work survives?

Is dem MANY yuh ah chat bout Karl ?

"There have been wide breaches of the government's procedure and guidelines for the procurement of goods and services. This undesirable state of affairs has been brought to the attention by contractor general Greg Christie in his 2006 annual report and otherwise. He has suggested the enactment of regulations to punish public servants and agencies which breach the regulations, but government has not done anything about the matter.

By circumventing the procedure and guidelines, it is easy for the government departments and agencies to award contracts, especially in the region between $250,000 and $3,999,999 to PNP supporters and cronies. The people in the agencies awarding contracts are usually PNP supporters.
                              The contractor general is bound by law and oath to perform certain functions faithfully"

Heh, heh.. gwaan support almshouse.. juss mek sure yuh no asleep inside when di dollyhouse come down..
                              You a young...I assume...
                              You really think it is recent that laws are on the books to punish those who circumvent the regulations and proceedures that should be followed for the award of government contracts?

Massa: Safe guards were in place before we attained independence!...

...and, based on your comments you will be surprised to hear both JLP and PNP governments from 1944 through to today have had breaches of the relevant regulations and laws and various written guidelines.

One thing about moving forward as the years go by - larger and larger monies are being handled...thus larger and larger monies disappear. Where in 1944 10 pounds was 'a fortune'...today a million dollars is chicken feed.