• Josie Wales good interview on sound system

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akeRiFDBEB4

Bwoy this interview sweet and me only listen half of it so far. Will finish up tonight and comment pon it.

I have to say Josie Wales does a really good job describing those years in dancehall and the political tensions at the time. Most of these veterans were in it just for the love of the music and the sound system movements.

It is good that we now have YouTube to document some of these stories before it is too late. If nothing else it will give some recognition to those that paved the way.

A few months ago I listed to a Prince Buster interview on the very early sound system years with Tom the Great Sebastian, etc. This interview would probably represent the third generation of sound systems and dancehall artistes. In between would be the King Stitt/U Roy/Big Youth era.

yes, I like it. It was described in a real kind of way of the dancehall and the era.

I noticed he said it was mostly the some intelligent artists that lasted who can could do some writing and play on words.

Yeah I think we have underrated the writing ability of many dancehall artistes because the music was so raw and underground back then.

Papa San and Stitchie were two of the very best in that regard. I always loved Professor Nuts as well, listening to him was better than a comedy show.

A great interview and the series itself is very good and well needed. I loved the latter part of the interview where Josie is stressing on the need to recognize all the lesser known DJ's who contributed to the music. Without him and others like SuperCat introducing the rude boy aspect to the music there wouldn't be a Vybz Kartel or Movado today.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good interview , the one with shabba just as nice .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Just watched a small portion....

Ever have a chune stick inna you head all day?

Well all day I am singing under my breath"....leggo mi han gate man mek mi commeen....ta da ta da ta da ... inna the housing scheme..........."

He is wrong about the rude bwoy culture ....

Listen to Desmond Dekkers 007 and rude bwoy train ....

Yes...he did tried to minimize the rude bwoy culture.

The Desmond Dekker description is accurate.

Rude Bwoy also used to carry knife called rotchet (?sp?). And it was not for peelin' oranges.

Quite a few ride bwoy songs in the Rocksteady era. With the message of reggae and Rasta it was largely sidelined so I guess dancehall provided a new outlet for it.

Ratchet

you listen all of it??? He was actually trying to avoid the whole rude bwoy aspect but later on he had to go deeper into it and talk about racket in back pocket rap up inna newspaper.

did you listen to all of it?

Mixed message at best and so it goes to credibility ...... Better him just upfront and done because it look like him was trying to romanticize something that shouldn't be romanticized .... That's my likkle beef