Fidel in the Land of THE GIANTS

Castro had to make sure his base was a discipline one,or a handful of Cuba exiles from Florida would be given the task of toppling a Fidel statue in Havana, sparking a revolution.How did Iraq fare?
    What Castro achieved has eluded first world nations.
    Last edited by Rockman; November 29, 2016, 11:14 AM.

I agree it should be looked at in that context. That is why he should not be seen as a despot.

I will give him a pass on the race issue since it is clear he wasn't a racist, but not on the human rights abuses, some of which occurred long after the cold war was over. Like most people with overwhelming power, after a while he appeared to take the position that the end always justified the means.
      Last edited by Islandman; November 29, 2016, 11:48 AM.

Do you see me defending America at all? Dem have dem own bag of garbage that have a bigger impact than Cuba.

I am not "stretching" as you say. My grandfather lived in Cuba and my cousin studied there and is married to a Cuban. Black people I talking about, lets be in no doubt. They live in Florida now and they are NOT anti-Cuban.

You seem to be taking a position, I am not, just looking at the info I have in my possession. The first year when my cousin came back from Cuban, he verbally outlined a paradise...but by the second year, he finally understood EARTH runnings.
        Last edited by Willi; November 29, 2016, 11:58 AM.

No one is denying that he was aggressed (patently obvious). Did you know what the original post revolution plan that they communicated was?

I am not here to make any excuse for any side. There is enuff blame to lay everywhere and I dont buy the yankee BS on Cuba. Nor the BS that Cuba is paradise.

I do know they have a viable biotech Platform 100% locally developed that even the yankee dem want access to.
          Last edited by Willi; November 29, 2016, 11:58 AM.

Not a question of solving it...just a debunking of the rose coloured glasses used when talking about race in Cuba.

However, race conditions in Cuba are FAAAARRR better than in Fulgencio's time. Perhaps that is what the white Miami Cubans want to return to?

Let me warn the Miami Cubans: The locals will NEVER accept a Govt imposed from Miami and all Cubans have sophisticated military training (and access to weapons).... a word to the Wise...

Lol....same ting nuff man say when dem reach forgein....dem realise di road nuh pave wid gold and dealing wid a redneck shitstem( institutionalize) racism isn't a deal breaker.Yuh juss affi struggle harder.

In most cases it takes less than a year to know di runnings...lol.
              Last edited by Sir X; November 29, 2016, 11:57 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Castro was not a despot...but he was single minded and certainly no racist...though racism is a system and people dyam well know. See this sweet video here ...sweet mi so tell:

https://www.facebook.com/OccupyDemoc...9/?pnref=story

Perhaps ? Isn't that the cry how much plantation( land ) dem lose how many businesses dem lose( exploiting) the poor class,the poorest being majority black.People seem to forget Batista had Jim crow laws that Castro wiped out ,he uttered no more racism when he attained power,a noble gesture but achieving it is another thing. That idiots want to crucify him for not achieving as if it is attained somewhere else on this planet and he is half stepping.

Ridiculous.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

He went there with ideological zeal!

Mi can give yuh better.

A Morroccan yute that lives in the train station (and have latest iPhone though) was approached by a Swiss bredrin that speaks Arabic. We bought the yute something to eat and asked why he came to Swiss with no contacts or any real plan. He said that a bredrin back home told him to come as he had visited and in Swiss you can get free money coming out of the wall! Yuh just approach the wall and it gives you cash!

That puzzled my bredrin till he figured out the yute was told about ATM banking machines!!!

You dont understand subtlety of language now?

.....lol......my lawwwwwd,reality bites,now I'm really affi work harder fi dat fi happen...lol.

I do and I try.

Did you know that Fulgencio was a Democratic Socialist?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...idents_of_Cuba

Then you would understand that you were AGREEING with me.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/27/op...=fb-share&_r=0