Your Car...The Robot. Coming Soon. I'man ah u dis..
D1 - Xposing Dummies since 2007Tags: None
Very cool, some serious things a gwaan. BTW I had a problem with your link but I was able to find the presentation on the Forbes site. I am going to go through the other chapters as well. Energy in particular is of great interest to me.Will repost the link here for anyone else who might be interested.
http://www.forbes.com/kpmg/the-great-rewrite/#/4
BTW I found it striking how little to nothing about these topics and the challenges and opportunities they bring were raised in the so-called debates during the recent political silly season.Its like the policy makers don't even want to talk about it, assuming they understand it.
That reality and the social backlash that we are now seeing among the less privileged in the developed world has made me less optimistic about how this will shake out in the short to medium term. Nothing to do with the technology itself, that is pretty much gearing up and ready to go, but todays social backlash may just be the tip of the iceberg of what is soon to come. I can see the potential for modern day Luddite revolts where driverless cars and trucks get vandalised, and autonomous factories become the target of arsonists.
Longer term there is no turning back but it could be a very rocky road getting there. That is more the historical norm than the exception though, its just that history tends to smooth out the kinks and makes it seem like progressive change was always inevitable when it was not looking that way to the people who lived through it."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostI can see the potential for modern day Luddite revolts where driverless cars and trucks get vandalised, and autonomous factories become the target of arsonists.
=Islandman;569195]Very cool, some serious things a gwaan. BTW I had a problem with your link but I was able to find the presentation on the Forbes site. I am going to go through the other chapters as well. Energy in particular is of great interest to me.Will repost the link here for anyone else who might be interested.
http://www.forbes.com/kpmg/the-great-rewrite/#/4
BTW I found it striking how little to nothing about these topics and the challenges and opportunities they bring were raised in the so-called debates during the recent political silly season.Its like the policy makers don't even want to talk about it, assuming they understand it.
That reality and the social backlash that we are now seeing among the less privileged in the developed world has made me less optimistic about how this will shake out in the short to medium term. Nothing to do with the technology itself, that is pretty much gearing up and ready to go, but todays social backlash may just be the tip of the iceberg of what is soon to come. I can see the potential for modern day Luddite revolts where driverless cars and trucks get vandalised, and autonomous factories become the target of arsonists.
Even in relatively low cost China robot ah tek people job 24X7X365
Longer term there is no turning back but it could be a very rocky road getting there. That is more the historical norm than the exception though, its just that history tends to smooth out the kinks and makes it seem like progressive change was always inevitable when it was not looking that way to the people who lived through it.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE