And now for something completely different

• And now for something completely different

In doing some research on John Cleese I read where he was a vocal proponent of Brexit and was highly critical of Donald Trump ... Describing him as 'making it up as he goes along' reminscent of a line in the movie 'Life of Brian'.

No one else might be interested in that tidbit but I felt compelled to share it.

The ego might be making it up as he goes along ,but the drive to go along is a different thing,like a man in a desert with a will to survive,he hasnt a clue on the direction to escape the desert but he has a will.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That will is a good thing as it is about survival and doing what he has to do to survive. The road however may not be devoid of moral dilemma. Does he sacrifice his traveling companion to eliminate the competition for water and or food? Does he eliminate his traveling companion as a source for food?

Does the means always justify the end, even if the end is noble while the means are ignoble?

What I hate most about Trump is people are excusing his Racist overtone to justify it in some way or another by saying it is the media or "this is what he mean't".

As I told a few people, just substitute "Mexican" with American in those statement, Just substitute "Muslim" "African American" "Hispanic" with white and tell me that they would be pleased. I will say this that if my kids came home and said a teacher or coach said anything close to those statement, I would be actively working for them to be fired so how am I suppose to even think try to accept those statement. I have two black boys who they have been teaching about a few black fore runners and how do you turn around and tell them that what the President said is justify? That is the standard I set for my kids and myself because I know how hard they have to fight to make it, and they don't need any fear or discouraging word from our President, so I say please don't even bother trying to justify it because racism in America is a reality.

I would say it is more seeing an opportunity and taking advantage of it , more than really believing in it.

About halfway through the Republican primary when I still wasn't sure if Trump was playing a game, I ran into an article where Rick Santorum was describing how he got a call from Trump to meet him about a year earlier. Santorum had written a book titled Blue Collar conservative which he felt was a blueprint to doing what Trump has just done. He said Trump praised him , treated him like a celebrity and said the book was fantastic, asked him all kinds of questions about the approach. Of course a few months later when Trump launched his candidacy he didn't have much good to say about Santorum , he had served his purpose and was dismissed.

Going to see if I can find the article somewhere.
          Last edited by Islandman; November 13, 2016, 09:15 AM.

Other than his supporters I don't think anybody is excusing his use of race and prejudice. What many people are just slowing coming to realize now is that his support was much broader than just the KKK and neo-Nazi types at his rally's. A lot of people , many who voted for Obama, were willing to look past that ugly side and vote for him anyway. That is the real shock I think, on the surface it didn't make sense until you went deeper. The media didn't do a good job of analyzing that , now they are doing it in hindsight.

That's why I said before the election when I saw that Hillary could not shake him that to write off his appeal as pure racism was a mistake but nobody wanted to hear that. Bricktops video with the guy saying he was disgusted by him but would still have voted for him was one of the best explanations I heard of what was going on.
            Last edited by Islandman; November 13, 2016, 09:05 AM.

Iman I have seen it on facebook where people who are suppose to "rational" and I have overheard an argument at work where people are saying "he didn't mean" or "it was the media" and I had to set them straight. They were surprised that I stepped in their conversation but...

Problem is if you make they make these excuse it become commonplace. So many who say they are center or who we have to deal with on a daily basis have accept that it was ok and there is some validity to his racist argument. They act as if it is not dangerous and divisive.

Yeah those are the supporters who were looking for justification to vote for him.

What I meant is that there are others, people like Micheal Moore, who have never stopped saying that he is divisive and a con man, but they understood that the appeal wasn't just that.

It is sad because most of them will be disappointed but I can't say that Hillary made much effort to combat it. I won't blame her totally because obviously her data misled her and she thought she was safe in places she was vulnerable.

http://www.weeklystandard.com/presen...rticle/2001406

Gamma, yuh a gi mi joke , the ramifications of the choices are hilarious in trump land , probably in his world , all of the above , how is it possible - to him it is ...lol...mi belly.

Narcissitic, pathological , commericial industrail real estate presidential liar - Giuliani , opps Trump.He will justify the end product win - lose or draw.
                    Last edited by Sir X; November 13, 2016, 10:13 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Hillary lost and I think I could have run her a much better campaign. Fact is she lost and some vote for other reasons but for me their is no justification for his racist statements and divisive rhetoric. The message is winning justify it.

I dont think anyone could run a better campaign for HRC , flawed candidate, no not flawed- morally - mortally - irreparable- flawed.

You talk about winning justifying it as the lesson in TRUMPS WIN , when Bernie won states and super delegates gave their votes to HRC what was that .The DNC killed any momentum Bernie had of challenging HRC, when the voters found out that HRC would be the appointed candiadte, some rebelled but most followed quietly ,to me it killed the Bern enthusiam to be the elected democratic challenger and by extension HRC as the president.The lesson here is injustice anywhere affects injustice everyhwere (MLK), and those of us, who choose when and where to speak up , are a part of the problem ...(MLK).Study MLK birmingham letter.

* Of note a Bernie win is speculation but what happened to him is a fact.

Earlier this week, it was reported that a Sanders supporter from Eagle River, Alaska, named Levi Younger took to Facebook to challenge one of his state’s superdelegates — Alaska Democratic party national committeewoman Kim Metcalfe — to follow the will of Alaskans who voted for Sanders in a blowout win in the Alaska caucus. Metcalfe responded, at times impertinently, and Younger leaked the conversation.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/...b0daf53aef75b1

http://usuncut.com/politics/superdel...oters-primary/

I don't think Bernie would win, he would be position as the "quack leftist" by Trump and team.

Hillary missed a lot of opportunities to put Trump down and asking questions. I agree she had a lot forces fighting against her but she didn't shape the campaign.

...lol....thats the least , Hillary was called that and worse.She could never shape her campaign ...NEVER ! Her & Bills history will always define her or them both.

Disagree

Bill is still very popular. Some people blame bill for Hilary's loss. To them I say but for Bill, warts and all she would never have had the opportunity to run for president, twice!

Did she lose to Obama because of Bill?

Being First Lady segued into being a senator which segued into running which segued into Secretary of State.

She lacks the charisma to engage people...that was part of her downfall.

If anything, the emails had more to do with it than Bill