• Are Trumps Data Science team the new Kings? Or were

they just lucky?

This is a good read if you are interested in the "science" of polling. I put science in quotations because it now seems to me that while the data analysis is a pure science, the modelling of the electorate makeup is still more of an art than a science.

In 2012 Romney was convinced he was going to win because the models his people had didn't account for the high black/urban turnout. Obamas people saw it and the adjustments they made were totally on point. Fast forward to 2016 and the SAME Obama data scientists working for Clinton did not pick up the surge in the white blue collar voters that Trump was able to mobilize. Trumps people saw it and we now know that they were right.

It seems to me that when the demographics of the voting pool is volatile, the polls have to be treated with suspicion.

Trump’s numbers were different, because his analysts, like Trump himself, were forecasting a fundamentally different electorate than other pollsters and almost all of the media: older, whiter, more rural, more populist. And much angrier at what they perceive to be an overclass of entitled elites. In the next three weeks, Trump channeled this anger on the stump, at times seeming almost unhinged.

His hyperbole and crassness drew broad condemnation from the media and political elite, who interpreted his anger as an acknowledgment that he was about to lose. But rather than alienate his gathering army, Trump’s antipathy fed their resolve.
    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articl...bcomANews=true

....or, is it just smoke and mirrors on Trump's part?

He screamed about a rigged electoral system. So while he distracted the democratic idiots in defending the system--he arranged the rigging on his behalf (while others were busy defending and not watching him....)

Maybe he plain cheated. Would not be surprised.

Or white people just came out in droves.

The lowest voter turnout in 16years,blacks and Latinos matched the turnout for Trump in 2nd Bush first win.Hillary was that pathetic.

It's either
      * Trump scared democratic voters to stay home
      * He got a higher minority vote since Bush
      * Maybe both

We do ourselves a disservice by painting this as soley a race issue of angry white voters,too much credit to the racist message,how much of it was apathy to Clinton a rejection of the Washington/ Wallstreet elites,obviously it attracted minority votes to Trump and apathy to Clinton with practical results,people turned up mostly for Trump,and it was the lowest voter turnout in 16 years.

Not saying we should dismiss the redneck enthusiasm,granted they aren't all,but that Bernie vibe was also in Trump's movement and not all are deplorables.

It says alot when Clinton couldn't even get the Latino vote on a historic level ,given Trump's negativity.
      Last edited by Sir X; November 10, 2016, 04:23 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That theory sounds very much like the Republicans when Obama kicked their butt and they were looking for evidence of black people cheating.

Screaming about the rigged election and rigged system motivated his voters. It was a stupid idea until it worked, now its considered brilliant.

Republicans live by it,they will tell you the lower the voter turnout the higher probability of a Republican win.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Was Trump's strategy message, strategy and work rate superior? yes.
            The man told them exactly where he was going to flip and went and visited and preached his message on trade over and over and over.

Florida - Donald Trump received 4.6 million of votes to the President's 4.2 million in 2012
            North Carolina - Donald Trump received 2.34 million of votes to Mitt Romney's 2.3 million in 2012
            Pennsylvania - Donald Trump received 2.912 million of votes to the President's 2.907 million in 2012

The lowest voter turnout in 16years,blacks and Latinos matched the turnout for Trump in 2nd Bush first win.Hillary was that pathetic.

It's either
              * Trump scared democratic voters to stay home
              * He got a higher minority vote since Bush
              * Maybe both

We do ourselves a disservice by painting this as soley a race issue of angry white voters,too much credit to the racist message,how much of it was apathy to Clinton a rejection of the Washington/ Wallstreet elites,obviously it attracted minority votes to Trump and apathy to Clinton with practical results,people turned up mostly for Trump,and it was the lowest voter turnout in 16 years.

Not saying we should dismiss the redneck enthusiasm,granted they aren't all,but that Bernie vibe was also in Trump's movement and not all are deplorables.

It says alot when Clinton couldn't even get the Latino vote on a historic level ,given Trump's negativity.
              Lawks!!! It ago pour down rain...you finally meking a likkle bit a sense. You should stick to this side of the forum. Stay away from the football side.

I agree with all of this.

Does decreased voter turnout in California have an impact on a national electoral college system, where California always goes blue?

I would think it only has an impact in the battleground states.

We also have to be careful not to mix up percentages with raw numbers. I remember looking at the early voting in Florida and noticing that although they were saying black turnout was down, it really wasn't. It was the black percentage of voters that were down. This was because Hispanic and White turnout was up by a much greater amount. That big jump in white early voting should have been a warning sign of the avalanch to come but the Dems downplayed it by saying Hispanics was up by 80% even though the raw number was smaller.

Some of the media pundits are not very bright and they tend to parrot each other without doing any due diligence.

NBC's Embedded reporters said yesterday that Team Trumps internal data told they they would lose and they expected to lose. Dem shock when dem win!

After that I bet the first call was from B6-13. " I have a tak it or leave it deal for you..." ROTFLMAO

They were not optimistic but thought they had an outside chance, same with Michael Moore who spent a lot of time in Trumpland. They had an inkling but the wave was stronger than they thought.

I think some serious credit should go to Kellyanne Conway.

No their DATA all said they would lose!

They like all else didnt not realize that the MASSIVE Brady effect was in play with 12% so-called undecided 2 days before election!

Dem did shame fi seh dem a vote fi Trump.

I think some serious credit should go to Kellyanne Conway.
                              Absolutely!