2016, The last of the Good ole Days

• 2016, The last of the Good ole Days

I'm so depressed this morning. To imagine a Trump presidency for the next 4 years is something that my conscious, logical mind is having difficulty accepting. After seeing the financial markets tanking last night, I was transported right back to February 2007 when the Housing market fell off the cliff. I work in the mortgage industry and feel the direct effects of market volatility. The Republicans now has control over the 3 arms of the US government. They fought hard to roll back the Dodd/Frank Act. Tough as the Act was, it brought stability and accountability to the Wild Wild West that was the Housing and the Banking markets in the early 2000's.

The rollback of Obamacare will see the greedy insurance companies dropping subscribers with pre-existing conditions. Fellas, if you weren't using boots before, you'd better start now. You may not be able to get your HIV medication after your insurance company drops you and with the reversal of Wade vs Roe, your little side chick can't throw away the belly after they make abortions illegal.

Enjoy the time we have with our friends who are here illegally. We all know at least two Jamaicans who are not straight. This morning I woke up my little 7 year old to get ready for school. I told her that Donald Trump was going to be our new president, and she began to list four of her classmates who he was going to send back to their country of birth, including one Mexican. She then hugged me. My heart broke. I voted for them.

Say goodbye to low gas prices and hello to more fossil fuel production. Fracking turn up. I'm "glad" that I don't live in Oklahoma... oh, they had two earthquakes this week. Trump winning may do much more damage than any earthquake to that state.

Hold on to your memories of THE G.O.A.T. - President Barrack Obama. We can wistfully tell our grandchildren of a better time when a black man became the President of the United States of America. Now we will have our own stories to tell. The Civil Rights Movement will be pushed back into our memories, abstractly like slavery.

Things that makes you go Hmmmm. Trump won in the battleground states by just enough of a margin that won't trigger an automatic recount.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I'm so depressed this morning. To imagine a Trump presidency for the next 4 years is something that my conscious, logical mind is having difficulty accepting. After seeing the financial markets tanking last night, I was transported right back to February 2007 when the Housing market fell off the cliff. I work in the mortgage industry and feel the direct effects of market volatility. The Republicans now has control over the 3 arms of the US government. They fought hard to roll back the Dodd/Frank Act. Tough as the Act was, it brought stability and accountability to the Wild Wild West that was the Housing and the Banking markets in the early 2000's.

The rollback of Obamacare will see the greedy insurance companies dropping subscribers with pre-existing conditions. Fellas, if you weren't using boots before, you'd better start now. You may not be able to get your HIV medication after your insurance company drops you and with the reversal of Wade vs Roe, your little side chick can't throw away the belly after they make abortions illegal.

Enjoy the time we have with our friends who are here illegally. We all know at least two Jamaicans who are not straight. This morning I woke up my little 7 year old to get ready for school. I told her that Donald Trump was going to be our new president, and she began to list four of her classmates who he was going to send back to their country of birth, including one Mexican. She then hugged me. My heart broke. I voted for them.

Say goodbye to low gas prices and hello to more fossil fuel production. Fracking turn up. I'm "glad" that I don't live in Oklahoma... oh, they had two earthquakes this week. Trump winning may do much more damage than any earthquake to that state.

Hold on to your memories of THE G.O.A.T. - President Barrack Obama. We can wistfully tell our grandchildren of a better time when a black man became the President of the United States of America. Now we will have our own stories to tell. The Civil Rights Movement will be pushed back into our memories, abstractly like slavery.

Things that makes you go Hmmmm. Trump won in the battleground states by just enough of a margin that won't trigger an automatic recount.
    Jangle, many who benefited from the ACA either sat on their asses at home or switched to Trump. They get what they deserve. Wait.

3 million Democrats did not vote. Hillary only had 80% of black support and 67% of Hispanics and Latinos. Those numbers are startling.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Lots of overreaction going on, but understandably so.

We did not wake up today in a post-apocalyptic world. Trump did not wake up as the Emperor .

Predictions:

1) Obamacare/ACA as a law is history. Sad to say it was never a great success anyway. Good idea, poor execution. I expect substantial parts of it to be retained in whatever replaces it. No politician is going to take away millions of peoples medical insurance, just so. Trump is an ******* but he is not a fool.

2) There will be no reversal of Roe vs Wade, nor any reversal of all the new LGBT related laws and rights. LGBT rights will likely be Obamas most lasting legacy.

3) Illegal immigrants have a problem, the laws will be tougher. However there will be no mass deportation of millions of illegals simply because it is impossible to do so.

4) Fossil fuel production will certainly be on the rise in the USA. The environment will suffer but gas prices won't, in fact they may even benefit. Renewable energy industries will lose subsidies which is a shame as I think they are on the verge of competing.

5) Black lives Matter and other "radical" civil rights movements will be under pressure. Police will feel more emboldened to shoot minorities. Immigrant groups, legal and illegal, will feel less welcome. This is probably my greatest fear under a Trump presidency and a Guiliani Attorney generals office.

6) The economy is a tossup, it depends on how serious Trump is about NAFTA and TPP. He said he wants them gone but his Republican foes and their lobbyists dont' That is a battle to be fought as part of the GOP civil war.

7) Democrats have a lot of soul searching to do. They picked a horrible candidate for this cycle, probably one of the few who could have lost to Trump. As a whole they may be a less corrupt than the Republicans but not by much. Both are slaves to Wall Street and the lobbyists. They need to get over their attitude of superiority and figure out why this happened. Race and prejudice played a part but you don't go from a nation that elects a black man with a muslim name and who still is very popular, to a nation of majority racists in 4 years. That makes no sense. Other factors are at play and they need to look at them.

I am disappointed but not particularly scared.
        Last edited by Islandman; November 9, 2016, 01:30 PM.

3 million Democrats did not vote. Hillary only had 80% of black support and 67% of Hispanics and Latinos. Those numbers are startling.
          Well, dem nuh fi complain. Was looking at the Florida numbers and more dems voted for Trump than Repugnants that voted for Clinton. Stop and Frisk going nationwide with AG Gulliani.

We did not wake up today in a post-apocalyptic world. Trump did not wake up as the Emperor .

Predictions:

1) Obamacare/ACA as a law is history. Sad to say it was never a great success anyway. Good idea, poor execution. I expect substantial parts of it to be retained in whatever replaces it. No politician is going to take away millions of peoples medical insurance, just so. Trump is an ******* but he is not a fool.

2) There will be no reversal of Roe vs Wade, nor any reversal of all the new LGBT related laws and rights. LGBT rights will likely be Obamas most lasting legacy.

3) Illegal immigrants have a problem, the laws will be tougher. However there will be no mass deportation of millions of illegals simply because it is impossible to do so.

4) Fossil fuel production will certainly be on the rise in the USA. The environment will suffer but gas prices won't, in fact they may even benefit. Renewable energy industries will lose subsidies which is a shame as I think they are on the verge of competing.

5) Black lives Matter and other "radical" civil rights movements will be under pressure. Police will feel more emboldened to shoot minorities. Immigrant groups, legal and illegal, will feel less welcome. This is probably my greatest fear under a Trump presidency and a Guiliani Attorney generals office.

6) The economy is a tossup, it depends on how serious Trump is about NAFTA and TPP. He said he wants them gone but his Republican foes and their lobbyists dont' That is a battle to be fought as part of the GOP civil war.

7) Democrats have a lot of soul searching to do. They picked a horrible candidate for this cycle, probably one of the few who could have lost to Trump. As a whole they may be a less corrupt than the Republicans but not by much. Both are slaves to Wall Street and the lobbyists. They need to get over their attitude of superiority and figure out why this happened. Race and prejudice played a part but you don't go from a nation that elects a black man with a muslim name and who still is very popular, to a nation of majority racists in 4 years. That makes no sense. Other factors are at play and they need to look at them.

Based on number five I have scared stiff. There were some states that were trying to pass a law to make it a crime to record the police ... I anticipate this will get more support now.

You and Jangle hit the nail on the head about Clinton,she failed to energize and build on the Obama coalition,Why? The % she lost by could be a Victory is she at least matched it in the black vote,We let Prezi down screwed his legacy and wi caaan blame nuh bady but wi black ass.

As a Bernie man ,di Democrats deserve it,unnuh block di man from key races and seeit deh,young blacks and whites didn't feel Hillary.The anti establishment vibe was too strong,if she was having low numbers with a guy with such high negatives and needed the President himself to campaign like @ war for her victory,she and the Democrats deserve to lose,like it or not.Democracy won.Trump and the repugs are under as much scrutiny as Clinton would have been if she won.Lets see how he governs,looking for the 1st sexual assault in the whitehouse in his first year.
              Last edited by Sir X; November 9, 2016, 02:21 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

You and Jangle hit the nail on the head about Clinton,she failed to energize and build on the Obama coalition,Why? The % she lost by could be a Victory is she at least matched it in the black vote,We let Prezi down screwed his legacy and wi caaan blame nuh bady but wi black ass.

As a Bernie man ,di Democrats deserve it,unnuh block di man from key races and seeit deh,young blacks and whites didn't feel Hillary.The anti establishment vibe was too strong,if she was having low numbers with a guy with such high negatives and needed the President himself to campaign like @ war for her victory,she and the Democrats deserve to lose,like it or not.Democracy won.Trump and the repugs are under as much scrutiny as Clinton would have been if she won.Lets see how he governs,looking for the 1st sexual assault in the whitehouse in his first year.
                She beat Bernie ... secondly, when Trump thought Bernie may be a threat he started trying out stuff like ...Communist Bernie .... Crazy Bernie ... Socialist Bernie ...but Bernie faded away so he didn't bother with him.

After the Wikileaks showing that the DNC sabotaged Bernie, I think his people either stayed home or voted Trump.

I am not sure he would have won either though. I guess we will never know.

@ Lazie.

Of course she beat Bernie - read the post again was it a fair beating or sabotage as Wiki has suggested (Certain states would not put him on the ballot )? ....Trump calling Bernie names like commie is nothing but a question sign (if ) he got the nomination over Clinton as much as Trumps transgressions,the question would come done to, which negatives the voters can live with.

I felt Bernie had a good shot ,if he got the nomination.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Very reasonable (and possible) take on things

A friend of mine who's was just 1000% rabidly against Trump ...wrote this piece in his blog today:

THE SURPRISE PRESIDENT; DONALD J. TRUMP
                      POSTED BY BARKINGINTHEDARK ⋅ NOVEMBER 9, 2016 ⋅

In his victory speech last night, after thanking all those who stood by him and helped him to victory and, then after graciously praising Hillary Clinton saying “Hillary has worked very long and very hard over a long period of time, and we owe her a major debt of gratitude for her service to our country. I mean that very sincerely.” After that opening, the very first thing he then said was this:

“We are going to fix our inner cities and rebuild our highways, bridges, tunnels, airports, schools, hospitals. We’re going to rebuild our infrastructure, which will become, by the way, second to none. And we will put millions of our people to work as we rebuild it.”

This statement of purpose – and mind you, I reiterate, was the very first thing he said after the obligatory expressions of gratitude and, I believe, sincere praise for Hillary Clinton.

This is straight out of FDR’s New Deal.

I have been waiting for someone with the reins of power to say this as succinctly as the new President-elect said it.

Based on the knowledge that Donald Trump will say anything, do anything in order to win, I have the sneaking suspicion that now, having done so, he will govern from the center. Call me crazy, but based on that simple declaration of intent regarding the re-building of our infrastructure, I am willing to bet that a President Trump will confound us all – including the Republican Party.

In fact, I am far more fearful of the Republican Party than I am of a President Trump. Remember, he was a Democrat a few short years ago. His stubborn refusal to lose may, in fact, be the thing that can overcome the Republican unwillingness to compromise for the good of this country.

Yep, this man is a total wild card and a con artiste. Any number can play.

He could even repeal ObamaCare and replace it with a more "socialist" Single Payer type system, and his fan base would salute him as a hero.

Loathe his tactics but don't underestimate his three card tricks.

1st of all this is the B.S what will make my blood boil and its the sh*t I have been crying about since Obama, lost his legacy ,nothing against you but your friend need to do some research as it pertains to the infrastructure bill,OBAMA has been lobying for it for 2 bloody terms.

http://www.thefiscaltimes.com/2015/0...ked-Senate-GOP

2nd ,it will pass in this senate,and yes he TRUMP ,will get the credit,reminds me for post Dinkins , Guiliani getting credit for Dinkins work on decreasing crime in NY .Trump is a realtor-developer ,that is his expertise ,I have no doubt the senate will let him enrich himself attached to any development bill that he will push.

It will be an Industrial Realtor Presidency,corrupted up to his neck with his cronies.I only hope his projects are cost effective and mek sense.

Kissteeth.

Predictions:

Well said I-man. I think that it is highly unlikely that we will see a wall, mass deportation, police running riot over black people, insurance companies running amok, or reversal of Roe v. Wade. I also believe that the bigger fear is not Trump, but the Republican demagogues who were against him. At the first sign of any weakness, people like that slimeball Ted Cruz will try to undermine the man, as they did with Obama. This is uncharted territory, but I don't for a second believe that Trump is any worse than Hillary. They are two sides of the same coin. Corrupt. Untrustworthy. Liars. Both of them.

As for Obama, his BIGGEST MISTAKE was ramming through ObamaCare with NOT ONE SINGLE REPUBLICAN VOTE...you can't have consensus government when you take such a stand against your rivals. If I were Trump, I would figure out a way to put BOTH of the Obamas in charge of SOME KIND OF minority outreach program. It would quell fears, be untouchable, and would calm everybody down.

Lastly. My wife is Mexican. Her brother (who is an engineer living in Mexico) has been waiting to get a green card for almost 10 years. He has called the immigration office every few months. Each time they tell him which year they are processing. For him, (even though he is not American) he sees Americas "tolerance" of illegal immigrants as a slap in the face. Why should he continue to "do the right thing" when so many people have jumped the line? So it is not as one-sided as the media makes it out to be. We have all seen interviews of the Mexican family where the mother is crying, and the kid is translating that she is sad if she has to go back to Mexico - blah blah blah. But have we seen the interviews of the people in Mexico who are waiting? The ones observing the rule of law. Say what you will, the illegal aliens are breaking the law, and it is flatly unfair to those who are doing it the right way.

Fi mi tuppance.

1st of all this is the B.S what will make my blood boil and its the sh*t I have been crying about since Obama, lost his legacy ,nothing against you but your friend need to do some research as it pertains to the infrastructure bill,OBAMA has been lobying for it for 2 bloody terms.

http://www.thefiscaltimes.com/2015/0...ked-Senate-GOP

2nd ,it will pass in this senate,and yes he TRUMP ,will get the credit,reminds me for post Dinkins , Guiliani getting credit for Dinkins work on decreasing crime in NY .Trump is a realtor-developer ,that is his expertise ,I have no doubt the senate will let him enrich himself attached to any development bill that he will push.

It will be an Industrial Realtor Presidency,corrupted up to his neck with his cronies.I only hope his projects are cost effective and mek sense.

Kissteeth.
                              Obama is now an irrelevance. It's a new Trump era. People can only speculate what the guy will do as he has no political track record. Just as you speculated that he would lose bigly. ....and were bigly wrong

Obama tried to do infrastructure and failed....not his fault. If Trump does it...that's cool for the country because much of the infrastructure is decrepit.

No need for the emotionalism tho. Stand firm for the next term
                              Last edited by Don1; November 9, 2016, 05:29 PM.