Junior Brathwaite
This looks like a part of The Story of Jamaican Music". Good documentary.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcKXhMgBC-k
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzOgoy_lzUU"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
This is Ska
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MY0LIlcN_2I
I watched this in parts over the years but never the whole program until a few weeks ago.
Growing up we saw very little live footage of the Ska and Rocksteady greats performing. Thank God for youtube bwoy."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I need help on this, where was this recorded and was he a Jamaican?......https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zTDAExnKX4
Wow, never heard this before but you made me do some googling on it. Apparently its a cover of a traditional Taiwanese song. I suspect it must have been recorded in Jamaica if it was done in the 60s.
Here is a short write-up
https://blogthehum.wordpress.com/201...ways-together/
Perhaps it should not be too much of a surprise that such a recording was done when you consider how many Jamaican Chinese were involved in the recording industry in those days."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
the song is by Stephen Cheng, who was from Shanghai, but who moved to New York. Here's his obit from the NYT: http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/nytimes/obituary.aspx...
The song is sung in Mandarin, which is the official language of China. The song is called Alishan de Guniang 阿里山的姑娘,or The Girls of Alishan, and describes the beauty of the girls there. Alishan is a famous mountain in Taiwan. I've been there twice myself many years ago.
Stephen Chun Tao Cheng's Obituary on New York Times
Read the Obituary and view the Guest Book, leave condolences