Gov't Scraps Goat Island Project

• Gov't Scraps Goat Island Project

Prime Minister Andrew Holness says the Jamaican Government will not be going ahead with plans to develop a trans-shipment port and industrial park on Goat Islands in the Portland Bight Protected Area.

The development comes only days after the International Monetary Fund (IMF) published the Government's Memorandum of Economic and Financial Policies, which said that the administration was pressing ahead with the project.

Speaking in New York on Thursday night, Holness said that while a trans-shipment project is under consideration, it would not be on the Goat Islands.

He said the Government is keen on growth and development, but the potential environmental fallout makes the Goat Islands unsuitable.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...island-project

Sounds like we aren't getting the full story.

One wonders if any of these shipping/logistics projects will ever get off the ground. I haven't heard much that suggests they will.

Curiouser and curiouser ....

one is already "off the ground"...Kingston Wharves Limited is expanding now...& we don't have a choice on the Chinese one...it has been mandated by the IMF

Uncle Sam veto it?

Yuh nuh know how mi glad.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

JISCO wi seh !

no...IMF has mandated that we build one...so the Chinese logistics hub will be built...just not at goat islands...

The(undislosed) reason Goat Island was chosen is security,the reasons given against building it there are valid but that never stopped anything before.My gyess is he will do a 180 by merely drifting with the sea current heading to Goat Island.
                  They are all bought and paid for,and an example is the major disagreements with IMF stipulations that are routinely brushed aside..

I hear a little bit of Andrew speech at the UN and before and he is talking about debt swap for climate change. Could Goat Island be a part of that swap? I have no idea how it work but I would think that would be the first swap you make. Hope we get a good deal.