Put robotics in curriculum

• Put robotics in curriculum

The principal of all-boys school Calabar High Albert Corcho is calling on the Ministry of Education and other education stakeholders to give serious consideration to adding robotics to the secondary school curriculum in line with a thrust to encourage more students to pursue Science, Technology Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)-based careers.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...rges-MoE_74212
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

This is like music to my ears because is nuff hills and valleys we trod fe spread that message.

He's well meaning but getting ahead of himself now. But fortunately he's addressing a MOE who's familiar with the matter

Robotics is a co-curricular after-school activity at the HS level mostly everywhere. It will remain so in JA unless the CXC introduces a robotics course and teachers are trained up in the field. That would be noice...but DEFINITELY not necessary. The thing doesn't need administrative baggage to work well.

Being co-curricular doesn't mean it's not in the "classroom" or that Cbar with its classroom approach is "first". Unless they plan some kind of industry-recognized robotics certification...which I doubt.

We've had kids from 1st thru 6th form building competitive robots in a 100% dedicated robotics laboratory for 8 years now. That works to get science as well regarded as sports... and kids super excited while learning fundamental science applications
      The thing that could/should be on the curriculum is basic software coding...That's fast becoming 21st century digital literacy...and very easy & cost-effective to scale nationwide.

Kids find robotics intuitive and self-engaging....so they self-educate by doing. Kids listening to someone yappin about robots is not particularly valuable imo.

They need to BUILD stuff & COMPETE. That will get them very EXCITED about science & technology. That's really the value proposition in HS robotics... it's not in training roboticists.

So what we really need is a Jamaica National Robotics Competition....not some robotics courses. Once that releases the tremendously competitive high school vibes...IT DUN!! Science would be up right there with Champs & Manning/DCup...Chuss mi
      Last edited by Don1; September 19, 2016, 04:28 PM.

I didn't read it as him saying we needed robotics courses as such, more like including robotics technology as part of the existing courses as a way to get the STEM concepts across and getting students more involved.

Most of the technical concepts used in robotics are covered in the standard CSEC courses, from physics to IT to electronical and mechanical technology, so I don't see a need for more courses. Robotics-based projects certainly allows the students to see STEM come alive and thats the real value.

I agree that it should be easier to manage as a co-curricular activity though, and some form of competition would be ideal.
        Last edited by Islandman; September 19, 2016, 04:43 PM.

I didn't read it as him saying we needed robotics courses as such, more like including robotics technology as part of the existing courses as a way to get the STEM concepts across and getting students more involved.

Most of the technical concepts used in robotics are covered in the standard CSEC courses, from physics to IT to electronical and mechanical technology, so I don't see a need for more courses. Robotics-based projects certainly allows the students to see STEM come alive and thats the real value.

I agree that it should be easier to manage as a co-curricular activity though, and some form of competition would be ideal.
          If ah suh....ah suh. My yute fi careful how im use the word "curriculum" doh

But mi glad fi si di Digital Yard fiya stick ah ketch

How my Siemens lady when las yuh hear?

yep. Good. at least most of the school who can afford it should consider starting it.

It's been a while since we spoke. Don't think she has been up to much on the JA scene recently. Might haffe try link her one of these days

I must say that I did whisper this robotics thing to an important player on the COBA who is tight with JCOB after you introduced it on the forum. So yuh can big up yuhself.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I must say that I did whisper this robotics thing to an important player on the COBA who is tight with JCOB after you introduced it on the forum. So yuh can big up yuhself.
                  At least mi good fi suppen

Banned: 2nd time

Ask what rules and guidelines will protect your freedom of speech if you join the F.B forum, I say that in stating.

I was banned yesterday for asking a question from the moderator Mosiah, the questioned I asked pertained to the rules and guidelines for posting on the site and his perception that it was somehow violated .In his quest to justify his stand of my violation , he stated nothing in a positive light should be posted on Mr. Butler because of his character flaws, if you have noticed negative post have been posted by me, I brought this to his attention and I have not been banned for such, of which he basically states he is comfortable with. He then cited another forum on F.B rules and guidelines and so called approval from other moderators on the RBSC to sanction my freedom of expression or anyone who post on Mr Butler .

I replied not verbatim, that this is the RBSC and we follow our rules, 2nd I have reached out to other moderators and I have no knowledge of them approving his actions, so you actions are arbitrary and against the consent of the governed rules of the RBSC.

Again I ask what rules have I violated.

Feel free to post your ideas, comments, suggestions and messages for friends, and fanz around the world. Here are the rules: 1. No profane language 2. No threatening language 3. No abusive language 4. Do not be disrespectful. By using this forum, you are giving REGGAEBOYZSC.COM permission to publish your posting on any part of the REGGAEBOYZSC.COM website. 5. ARTICLES FROM THIRD PARTY ORGANISATIONS WILL BE REMOVED! Please do not add any advertising, whether overtly, or covertly to this board. We gladly exchange links

I will not be silenced.
                    • I demand to hear the position of the other moderators who are in collusion with you to violate the RBSC rules and guidelines , in fact I have privately emailed them for a response. In fact another response !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.