There has been a lot of talk recently about entertainers

We still have some original songs, an example is "Tide is High" and then we have the Bob Andy Selection, A lot of the Wailers, Most Gregory Collection, "Isrealites" "Bam Bam" "Murder She Wrote" "one Blood ""Police and thieves to name a few that have all been used or sampled.

No doubt. The only problem our artistes are going to have in the sampling debate is squaring the circle when it comes to volume. They should just accept that music is a universal language. We sample much more frequently than we get sampled.

yeah that is true but if you they will all take the extra income from the sampling. The thing is though, a reasonable entertainer would accept this and give a small amount of royalty. I have also heard when the songs are sample the original sell more as the new audience open up to it. Junior Reid became know in Hip hop for a song he did and Barrington Levi because of Shyne they did in the 90s.

Again nuff generalization no specifics. Who did not get paid? Shaggy got paid... All the youth them got sampled by drake got paid. Wayne wonder got paid... So who got ripped off..

I don't know who got paid or who didn't. All I am saying is there is talk about our artistes and our country not getting the recognition they deserve. I don't agree with this grouse, generally, and those who believe they were robbed need to do the needful.

Whole heap a man nuh get paid, but did they own the song originally? and do they seek any legal redress? I listen carefully that people were saying Muma Nancy didn't get paid for the song used in the ad, but if you read carefully you would see the song was owned by the techniques label so there was no reason for her to give approval or at the discussion table, she was at the mercy of the label.

A lot of that gwaan and if don't own the rights to the song then somebody else get paid. If Sly and Robbie took royalties for all the sampling of songs they play on, the would have a lot of US millions sitting in the bank. Although they would have to pay out a lot. LOL!!!
              Last edited by Assasin; September 11, 2016, 10:36 AM.

I think there are two things at play here - one is copyright infringement, the other is recognizing that a certain song/music is reggae or dancehall and acknowledging that fact.

My post was really trying to address the latter.

you remember a few years ago Baddas was upset about Cayman using reggae and pretty much copying the Jamaican tourism theme? I see the Virgin Island doing the same thing, while I hate it, I don't think nothing can be done about it.

Mo it is alright for them to sample to an extent but how of of sampling is infringing on a next man work???? where do you start giving credit?

yeah that is true but if you they will all take the extra income from the sampling. The thing is though, a reasonable entertainer would accept this and give a small amount of royalty. I have also heard when the songs are sample the original sell more as the new audience open up to it. Junior Reid became know in Hip hop for a song he did and Barrington Levi because of Shyne they did in the 90s.
                    That's true Sass. Wailer's One Love is more popula than the Curtis Mayfield original and Blondie's cover of Tide is High is more popular than the Paragons original.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                      That's true Sass. Wailer's One Love is more popula than the Curtis Mayfield original and Blondie's cover of Tide is High is more popular than the Paragons original.
                      Locally, the Tamlin's Baltimore is way more popular than the original (Nina Simone?) And probably better!

No doubt. Guns of Navarone by the Skatalites is much more popular and much better than the original score for the movie of the same name. The ska version of Frank Lane's 1940 hit, Mule Train, is much more popular and much better than the original.