• Mouthing good words

Mouthing good words
    published: Friday | July 13, 2007

Heather Robinson
    The mouth is defined as the 'opening at which food is taken into the body with the cavity behind containing organs of mastication, insalivation and speech' (Cassell Concise English Dictionary). This part of our body is usually the part that can cause us great success or indeed great failure.

As children we were taught to engage brain before using mouth. Today in Jamaica, we are reminded 'Mout mek fe sey anyting', and in this six-week period before the general elections, voters will be given many opportunities to determine the value of this statement.

Politicians are often viewed as persons who use their mouths to make many promises, especially in this high-intensity campaign period. In fact some have, since the Prime Minister's announcement of the August 27 election date, began literally to shoot off their mouths. In fact some should consider if they will have to use their mouths, not for eating food, but for eating their words.

Education and its cost to the taxpayer and parents is one of the hot button issues of this campaign. Note how well this has been chosen. Housing is not the choice of the Opposition leader. Instead he has chosen to promise free tuition at the secondary level. This he has promised would be effective as of August 28, if the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) wins. Parents who pay their portion of the fees between now and August 27, will be refunded through the schools. This he said, he is "irrevocably committed" to doing.

Why should voters believe him?
    But why should voters believe him or trust him to keep this promise, if his party forms the next government?

One of the difficulties that the JLP faces after being in Opposition for 18 years, is that it has no concept of what is involved in running a government. There is only one member of the JLP, who happens to be its general secretary, Karl Samuda who has more current knowledge. He was a minister of state in the PNP administration between 1993 and 1995. He should use this little taste that he got, and warn his leader about making promises that they might not be able to keep.

Leaders should always try to live lives that prove that they are successful in their chosen occupation. So if you are a teacher, you should produce students who do well. If you are a lawyer, be a lawyer who not only wins cases, but also be a good advocate. If you are a trade unionist, seek always to make advances for your workers. And if you are a businessman, please be able to show us how your business has grown and prospered under your leadership.

Story of Juici Patties
    Do you know the success story of Juici Patties? My little research tells me that 27 years ago they began operating with their first store in May Pen.
    Today they have 50 stores with at least two being in each parish. Clearly the owners of Juici understood how important it was to develop and finance their expansion programme. They have the formula for successful business growth, and today if one needs to drive through Old Harbour, the store is right there on the main road. Next time you pass there, take time while in the traffic and you will see it and more.

Politicians who are unable to grow their own business, have no right to promise freeness. Their track record of building should be closely scrutinised, and we should ask, if it is free education today, when will it be free housing? But then if you are not a builder, one should not expect so much.

At this time we need more than a bag of mouth. We need those who have passed the test.

Heather Robinson is a life underwriter and former Member of Parliament.

Mouthing good words
    published: Friday | July 13, 2007

Heather Robinson
    The mouth is defined as the 'opening at which food is taken into the body with the cavity behind containing organs of mastication, insalivation and speech' (Cassell Concise English Dictionary). This part of our body is usually the part that can cause us great success or indeed great failure.

As children we were taught to engage brain before using mouth. Today in Jamaica, we are reminded 'Mout mek fe sey anyting', and in this six-week period before the general elections, voters will be given many opportunities to determine the value of this statement.

Politicians are often viewed as persons who use their mouths to make many promises, especially in this high-intensity campaign period. In fact some have, since the Prime Minister's announcement of the August 27 election date, began literally to shoot off their mouths. In fact some should consider if they will have to use their mouths, not for eating food, but for eating their words.

Education and its cost to the taxpayer and parents is one of the hot button issues of this campaign. Note how well this has been chosen. Housing is not the choice of the Opposition leader. Instead he has chosen to promise free tuition at the secondary level. This he has promised would be effective as of August 28, if the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) wins. Parents who pay their portion of the fees between now and August 27, will be refunded through the schools. This he said, he is "irrevocably committed" to doing.

Why should voters believe him?
    But why should voters believe him or trust him to keep this promise, if his party forms the next government?

One of the difficulties that the JLP faces after being in Opposition for 18 years, is that it has no concept of what is involved in running a government. There is only one member of the JLP, who happens to be its general secretary, Karl Samuda who has more current knowledge. He was a minister of state in the PNP administration between 1993 and 1995. He should use this little taste that he got, and warn his leader about making promises that they might not be able to keep.

Leaders should always try to live lives that prove that they are successful in their chosen occupation. So if you are a teacher, you should produce students who do well. If you are a lawyer, be a lawyer who not only wins cases, but also be a good advocate. If you are a trade unionist, seek always to make advances for your workers. And if you are a businessman, please be able to show us how your business has grown and prospered under your leadership.

Story of Juici Patties
    Do you know the success story of Juici Patties? My little research tells me that 27 years ago they began operating with their first store in May Pen.
    Today they have 50 stores with at least two being in each parish. Clearly the owners of Juici understood how important it was to develop and finance their expansion programme. They have the formula for successful business growth, and today if one needs to drive through Old Harbour, the store is right there on the main road. Next time you pass there, take time while in the traffic and you will see it and more.

Politicians who are unable to grow their own business, have no right to promise freeness. Their track record of building should be closely scrutinised, and we should ask, if it is free education today, when will it be free housing? But then if you are not a builder, one should not expect so much.

At this time we need more than a bag of mouth. We need those who have passed the test.

Heather Robinson is a life underwriter and former Member of Parliament.
    She should know quite a bit about broken promises....

Hypocrites abound in the Silly Season.. but as mi seh.. wi not even gwine sorry fi dem.. who nuh arrange dem affairs fi 'nuh live inna Jamaica under JLP' have seven weeks..